We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coming home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antrim Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Antrim Villa to your Saves list
Antrim Villa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Antrim Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Vasteras, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Coming home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Yes it's true, I've been to Antrim Villa again and I loved it. It's like coming home. The staff even remembered my name and little things like that makes a huge difference. Maureen even said she missed me and that made me realize I missed her, the rest of the staff and the tranquillity of this very beautiful and relaxed guest house in the middle of Green Point. Around the corner is everything I love about Cape Town and yet it feels like being away from the city once I'm inside the gate. It's close to the V&A Waterfront, the bustling Sea Point with the marvellous restaurant La Boheme, the promenade along the Atlantic, the Stadium, the gym etc etc. I've been to a lot of places in South Africa but when I travel I always look for new places to stay. Except for when I'm coming back to Cape Town, then I just have to go back to Antrim. That's how great it is :-) If you haven't been there, try it.

Room Tip: I love the ones by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntrimVillaOffice, General Manager at Antrim Villa, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for the wonderful review. That is exactly the experience the owner wanted to create at Antrim Villa, that homely feeling. We are delighted that we could make you feel that way and looking forward to having you back again very soon.

Best Regards
Joy Daniels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    62
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
39
103
35
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Antrim Villa is a lovely base in Capetown. Beautifully decorated, warm and helpful staff, comfortable beds and a very relaxing little garden. I especially appriciated the closeness to the sea, taking morning walks before breakfast, what a treat! And then after, a coffee and a chat with locals at Giovanni´s...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntrimVillaOffice, General Manager at Antrim Villa, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the kind words. We take pride in making sure that our guests are happy and well looked after. Looking forward to having you with us again very soon.

Best Regards
Joy Daniels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunzburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The Antrim made an all round positive impression. The location (Green Point) is convenient, not in the bustling centre but not in the touristic ghetto either. It is within walking distance to the V&A waterfront and the centre (15 / 20min), but if you feel unsafe (e.g. at night) it's only a short taxi ride away (from the waterfront less than 20ZAR).
The rooms are spotless, well furbished and spacious. The same goes for the bathroom, which is furthermore good equipped.
The staff is very friendly and helpful and will answer your questions with a smile - from the manager to the cleaning lady and night guard.
The breakfast choices are good and wide, served in a pleasant common room. Beverages and food are also available for purchase 24/7 at a very reasonable price.
The room rates are a notch above average, but worth every cent of it.
This is definitely a good choice when staying in Cape Town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntrimVillaOffice, General Manager at Antrim Villa, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

It makes us very happy to read such a wonderful review and we are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you very much once again for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards
Joy Daniels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My wife and I spent a couple of nights at the villa in January 2014 and were delighted by the atmosphere and location. Not too far from the Waterfront but in a very quiet and restful area. Our room was rather small but charming and very well planned. The staff at Antrim was extremely friendly and helpful and you really feel at home with them and the other guests. Like in some other guesthouses that we visited in the Cape province the pool area is a bit cramped but still very nice. Altogether a delightful place!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntrimVillaOffice, General Manager at Antrim Villa, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you very much for the wonderful feedback. Hoping to welcome you back at Antrim Villa very soon.

Best Regards
Joy Daniels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I decided to surprise my husband with a trip to Cape Town. We dicided to stay at Antrim as one of my friends had stayed there. We were more than pleased after the 5 nights at Antrim. It flet like a second home with the great team looking after us when needed.
An excellent service that we didint expect: When we hired a car, the company came to Antrim and delivered the car on the spot..That has never happened to me before, so convinient..
I will be back..

Room Tip: We had the oportunity to stay at the lower part of the Guesthouse facing the pool and the little gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntrimVillaOffice, Manager at Antrim Villa, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely review. Glad we could be part of that special trip for your husband and very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time staying at Antrim Villa.
We hope to see you again very soon.

Best Regards
Joy Daniels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Idyllic guest house with a warm spirit. An atmosphere that gives you the feeling that you are at home, nothing less than high service. Some days I even wanted to stay ”at home” by the salt water pool all day although I was in amazing Cape Town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntrimVillaOffice, Manager at Antrim Villa, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the kind words. Glad that we could create that homely feeling for you.
So happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you back at Antrim Villa again very soon.

Best Regards
Joy Daniels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Comfortable and homely B&B with a personal touch and handy location. Secure parking for our hire car behind electric gate. Honesty box arrangement for snacks and drinks which comes in handy if you fancy sharing a bottle of wine in the evening.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntrimVillaOffice, Manager at Antrim Villa, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for the kinds words. We are delighted that you had a good stay with us.
Glad that we could make you feel at home. Hope to see you soon again.

Best Regards
Joy Daniels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antrim Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antrim Villa

Address: 12 Antrim Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#51 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Antrim Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antrim Villa is a wonderful old house built in the late 1800s. Its charm comes from the Victorian style with high ceilings, well kept stuccos, and the original pine flooring. The Villa’s style is Afro Scandinavian accentuated with materials like sisal, bamboo and linen. Therefore the interior has a neutral organic colour palette. The serene garden with sun beds, citrus trees holds a large blue saltwater pool.The house is located in Green Point, a 5 minute walk to the beach promenade and a 15 minute walk to the new stadium. The Villa has two types of rooms; standard rooms and luxury rooms. Each room has en-suite bathrooms, safes, fans and heaters. The luxury rooms have iPod docking stations and mini-fridges as well.Among the guesthouse amenities guests will find free Internet access at a working station with a laptop and printer and a honesty bar. Wireless internet is free. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate and fresh fruit are complimentary and can be enjoyed at all times. Antrim Villa is certified with Fairtrade in Tourism South Africa and a member of Cape Town Tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Antrim Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antrim Villa Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antrim Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.