We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to go back to Antrim Villa!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antrim Villa

Save Saved
You added Antrim Villa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antrim Villa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Antrim Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 101 hotels in Cape Town Central
Robertson, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great to go back to Antrim Villa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I travel regularly to Cape Town on business and it was great to return to my 'home away from home' recently. Always a warm and friendly welcome, comfortable room, free Wi-Fi and a great breakfast! A new touch is the option of a full hot breakfast - the perfect way to start the day. Thank you everyone at Antrim Villa for making me feel so special - look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Room 2 in Winter is great because you have the option of a bath or shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    47
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
34
74
28
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East London, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My daughter and I wanted to be close to the Stadium for the Justin Bieber show, found Antrim Villa on on internet and are very pleased we did, what a central place to stay and very well run accommodation. We will be back again... Everything is well though of. Thank you!

Room Tip: Our room was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We needed central guesthouse for a weekend in Cape Town. Antrim Villa in convenient in location and you can even park your car securely behind a gate! Friendly welcoming service. We will definately be back.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Perfect locationb, very clean, nice environment, very professional staff...the perfect adress in Cape Town...a big YES !
The decoaration is tastefull, and the poolhas a very exotic ambiance that is good to feel on holiday...

Room Tip: Check their personal website
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Bedroom very small, bathroom even smaller, bed side lights didn't work, no kettle, no aircon, limited tv, extra charge for wifi. Breakfast is termed 'Scandinavian '...was offered an egg that was boiled one hour previously..had to extricate toast from toaster using a long knife., while sitting on a cane chair without a cushion! We felt it was a rip off..for the same price you can get a really nice room at the Protea, with all the frills that were lacking at Antrim Villa. On top of it all when we decided to move out early we were charged 500 Rands when Booking.com said there would only be a R200 cancellation fee...when I pointed this out I was rudely told I should take it up with Booking.com!! Don't go is my advice!
.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyDaniels, General Manager at Antrim Villa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very sad to hear that you were unhappy with your stay at Antrim Villa. You booked a standard room and we upgraded you to a luxury room at no extra cost, as an effort to make your experience better. We do this on a regular basis for our guests if there is a luxury room available.

When you were checked in to your room you asked about DSTV. Management informed you that we did not have it and you said it was fine, you would make a plan.
We then recommended one of the bars on Sea Point main road.

The house is designed with a homely atmosphere, so we do not have tea and coffee facilities in the room but this is accessible directly from the kitchen as shown when you checked in. The bed lamps in the rooms were in working order and if you would have asked for assistance from the staff, they would have helped you with that.

Antrim Villa is eco-friendly and we only deal with things that are friendly to people’s health and the environment. That’s why we have no air-conditioning on our premises.
We do have fans for summer and heaters for winter.

Our cancellation policy is clearly stated on the Booking.com website. You booked for three nights but only stayed one night. You appear to have misread the policy as the R200 cancellation fee only applies to bookings cancelled more than 45 days prior to arrival. In your case it was an advance departure so you were liable to 100%, in accordance with the conditions.

We were very surprised at your hostile attitude the next morning when you came out for breakfast on the Saturday morning. Being Fair Trade certified means that all staff are being treated fairly irrespective of their race or skin colour and in this incident they were not.

I cannot remedy the experience you already had but hope that in future you would come visit us again with an open mind.

Best regards,

Joy Daniels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The staff is very friendly and always ready to assist their guests. The house is nicely located and simply lovely: roomy, clean, comfortable, fully equipped and very stylish. We absolutely loved our stay at Antrim Villa!
We particularly appreciated the decor and the many services offered by the guesthouse (nice pool, fresh and healthy breakfast, self service bar, airport shuttle, ...).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

we stayed 3 weeks in south africa and this guesthouse was the most beautyful during our holiday! the staff was so friendly and helpful! in the morning you get a great breakfast with fresh fruits:-)! the pool area is great to relax!!! really nothing bad to say!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Antrim Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antrim Villa

Address: 12 Antrim Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Antrim Villa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antrim Villa is a wonderful old house built in the late 1800s. Its charm comes from the Victorian style with high ceilings, well kept stuccos, and the original pine flooring. The Villa’s style is Afro Scandinavian accentuated with materials like sisal, bamboo and linen. Therefore the interior has a neutral organic colour palette. The serene garden with sun beds, citrus trees holds a large blue saltwater pool.The house is located in Green Point, a 5 minute walk to the beach promenade and a 15 minute walk to the new stadium. The Villa has two types of rooms; standard rooms and luxury rooms. Each room has en-suite bathrooms, safes, fans and heaters. The luxury rooms have iPod docking stations and mini-fridges as well.Among the guesthouse amenities guests will find free Internet access at a working station with a laptop and printer and a honesty bar. Wireless internet is free. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate and fresh fruit are complimentary and can be enjoyed at all times. Antrim Villa is certified with Fairtrade in Tourism South Africa and a member of Cape Town Tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Antrim Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antrim Villa Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antrim Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.