We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for first-time visitors to Cape Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Kings Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added New Kings Hotel to your Saves list
New Kings Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Da Luz | 94 Regent Road, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location for first-time visitors to Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

My wife and I visited Cape Town for the first time and we weren't sure
whether to book a hotel in the centre or a little further out in Sea
Point. We ended up staying 5 nights in the New Kings Hotel and didn't regret it.
Staff at reception appeared to have cocked up my taxi from the airport but I was picked up within 15 minutes following a call to the hotel. Staff were very friendly throughout my stay and gave me vouchers for free wifi access and car parking.
The hotel is new, modern and clean. We were allocated a room on the 5th floor with beautiful views of Lion's Head. The room was open plan and it felt a little weird stepping out of the shower cubicle straight into the room. Rooms are equipped with a large LCD TV (plenty of footy on satellite channels) and a sound system to hook up your ipod.
Breakfast could have been better as food was limited but it was free so I can't complain. You can sit out on the terrace overlooking the ocean your toast, cerial and coffee.
The best thing about the hotel is it's surroundings: two large supermarkets, a great noodle bar (Simply Asia), cafes, a spa and various other small shops are located in the complex. There is a great vibe within the building with a mix of young, old folks, families, tourists and local residents.
There are plenty of transport options to get into the centre / V&A with buses running along the sea front and the bus stop for the red & blue city tours is only a few steps away. However the cheapest and most convenient way of traveling is to flag down one of the minibuses which pass the hotel every 2-3 minutes and will cost you less than R5 (40p). Clifton Beaches and Camps Bay are only 10 minutes drive away and are well worth a visit.
I would definetely recommend this hotel to people like us who headed out in the morning, bought drinks & snacks from the supermarket downstairs, jumped into a minibus and went sightseeing all day, returned for some noodles at Simply Asia, back in to the room, hooked up our ipod to the tv, watched a movie... - we were more than happy!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    51
    20
    3
    4
See reviews for
15
71
20
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Stayed here for 6 nights whilst on holiday with my wife. If you are looking for a hotel that provides excellent accomodatiom without the frills this is the one. Don't expect porters to attend to your every whim as I don't think there are any. It's clean & comfortable with helpful staff. The breakfast is fairly basic (buffet style) but meets most peoples' need. It's located half way between The Waterfront and Camps Bay so I would suggest you would need a car. This can be parked free of chage in good undeground parking below the holel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for a week durin the world cup, we had a great time!! Room is very nice, modern and clean. The fornt desk service is amazing. Always ask for a cab with them is the safest way. The concierge is very helpfull and they booked us the best tours in town. We went to cape point and it was wonderfull, the tour guide JP was smart and funny, took us to eat the best lobster and prawns ever!!! They have a supermarket right downstairs, where you can buy everything and even change money, very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

we stayed at this hotel in feb 2010. i have a little baby and was given a lovly comfy cot for him as well. the finishings from the decor to the linen is luxurious. really enjoyed it and would definately go back there. views of the ocean from the room was lovely. the breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. the selection was very sparse and 2 of the 3 days we were there, there was no clean table available for us.we had to wait a while for a table to get cleared although the guests had left a while before that. otherwise everything else was super.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Stayed here one night on a friend's recommendation and weren't disappointed. Mentioned we were on honeymoon and were given a complimentary upgrade to a suite. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Room was very clean and spacious, well equipped (3 LCD TVs!). Great views of the bay, great location. Supermarkets, coffee shop etc in the same building. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

Would definitely recommend this if visiting Cape Town. I think it must have opened recently as it has a very modern, trendy feel. The staff were really friendly and flexible, giving us a great value deal and letting us easily extend our booking on the morning we were meant to check out. The hotel is above a small shopping centre with supermarket and couple of nice places to eat (the staff even went down to one of these to get us some food to eat in the hotel bar). The bar has a nice terrace with sea views. One thing to watch out for is some of the bedrooms have a shower in the actual room which is a bit awkward if you're not sharing the room with a partner!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Kings Hotel

Address: Piazza Da Luz | 94 Regent Road, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Kings Hotel is centrally located in cosmopolitan Sea Point with panoramic views of Lions Head and the Atlantic Ocean.Situated within walking distance of the Sea Point Promenade and close to the world renowned V&A Waterfront, Camps Bay and Clifton beaches famous for their Blue Flag status.The New Kings Hotel is a chic boutique property, offering 42 designer rooms and a well appointed restaurant, cocktail bar terrace with sea views and attention to detail to meet all the international travelers’ requirements.In the Piazza da Luz below enjoy the vibrant lifestyle of the Cape with various eateries, food stores, beauty, health, hairdresser, clothing, art, business services and a wellness spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your New Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Kings Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Kings Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.