We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Kings Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added New Kings Hotel to your Saves list
New Kings Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Da Luz | 94 Regent Road, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Average Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Safe hotel within the city with amenities all easily accessible within the vicinity.. Short distance to beach and the hotel has views both mountain and sea facing. Breakfast is a fair spread. Disappointing however is administration. Having booked 3 months in advance for 4 rooms sea facing on arrival they could accommodate us with 2 such rooms, and the rooms were not ready despite checking in late, and key access cards refused to work and had to be reset each time we left the room which became frustrating for a stay of 8 days. Also poor system was having your parking ticket stamped everytime you could Exit the hotel... After the 4th day of stay, we were requested to move rooms which I refused.. Confirming that their administration system are poorly lacking... Else pleasant stay..

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    51
    20
    3
    4
See reviews for
15
71
20
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lusaka, Zambia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I was very disappointed with my stay. Firstly I had specifically asked for a king bed and was instead given 2 twin beds. The room had no safe and no sitting area which was the main reason for my choosing that particular room. The TV was only showing 2 channels. When I requested that these be corrected I was told it could only be done the following day! I arrived at the hotel at 2pm so waiting for the next day was unreasonable. The 3rd day i moved to another room which again had twin beds instead of a king bed and additionally the aircon was not working. Was told by Naomi at reception that again it could only be fixed the next day. They knew the aircon was not working but put me there anyway. Suffice to say that the aircon was never fixed up to the end of my stay. Resorted to sleeping with the windows open. During all this time not a word of apology from the duty manager. I really felt like I had been singled out for this exceptionally bad service. Their attitude completely ruined my holiday mood. I however should say that Naomi at reception and Dennis really tried to do their best to make up for the shortcomings of management. Hotel may not be the best way to describe the establishment. The location however is great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I spent three nights here for vacations in Cape Town and it was just fantastic. Great location, great room, great view, friendly and helpful staff, yummy breakfast. The location in Sea Point is really convenient. If you come here, do not miss it.

Room Tip: The Piazza closes by 9 pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for the second time and despite my continuous request to have certain TV channels (free to air if I may add that), my request have been met with less than satisfactory responses. TV is one of the few basics that can keep you entertained away from home and the inflexibility and choice of channels chosen made me wonder of people of color are taken seriously in this hotel. Channels available excluded SABC 1 (until I insisted on my second trip), SABC 2, 3 & eTV; Supersport 4 which caters for local soccer). It seems as if they are just happy to receive your pay and don’t care about your stay. I will never set foot here. Not recommended at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This hotel treated us very well for our honeymoon. They gave us a top floor room with a view of the ocean. The location is great and the breakfast is as well. The staff is helpful and very nice. We stayed there to save money so that we could spend it seeing all the beautiful sights. Most of our Taxi's to the waterfront were about 10 rand each way- so be sure to budget this in. Also, the few shops and restaurant that are located below the hotel close early - so you have to use the garage entrance when spending a late night in town. Some of the rooms have the shower/bath area right off the bedroom, with no dividing wall- which made for a fun honeymoon, but might not be for everyone.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I just came from Cape Town for a business trip. I stayed at the boutique Hotel for 4 days. The rooms are clean, and functional. The location was ideal as it is on sea point. the included breakfast is good, albeit being the same one every morning. The spa located in the same building was great to have and it was a great experience. The convenience of the location coupled with the price that was paid for the stay makes it an A+ experience for me. I will surely stay there for my next trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Although the hotel describes itself as 'boutique', I'm not sure that's a description I'd agree with - partly because it's located within a shopping centre and partly due to its size and feel, which is more 'chain' than 'boutique'. The room was spacious and well equipped but I was located directly over the terrace leading out from the bar and was somewhat noisy. Breakfast was perhaps repetitive and, again, something I'd associate with a 'chain' hotel. Food didn't seem to be replenished so once the croissants had run out that was that! Other than the giant cockroach in my room it was very clean and offered value for money especially as it was so conveniently located in Sea Point.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Kings Hotel

Address: Piazza Da Luz | 94 Regent Road, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Kings Hotel is centrally located in cosmopolitan Sea Point with panoramic views of Lions Head and the Atlantic Ocean.Situated within walking distance of the Sea Point Promenade and close to the world renowned V&A Waterfront, Camps Bay and Clifton beaches famous for their Blue Flag status.The New Kings Hotel is a chic boutique property, offering 42 designer rooms and a well appointed restaurant, cocktail bar terrace with sea views and attention to detail to meet all the international travelers’ requirements.In the Piazza da Luz below enjoy the vibrant lifestyle of the Cape with various eateries, food stores, beauty, health, hairdresser, clothing, art, business services and a wellness spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your New Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Kings Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Kings Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.