We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Colony

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Colony
Save
You added The Colony to your Saves list
12 Brownlow Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
Hotel amenities
Shawnee, Kansas, United States
1 review
“Wonderful Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and I went to a wedding in Zimbabwe last year and decided to spend some time in Cape Town before the wedding. I did a lot of research on Cape Town and could not decide what area would be best to stay. We finally decided to just make a choice and be happy with it. After looking at prices and location we decided on The Colony. We didn't really know what to expect, but when we arrived we knew we had lucked out by making a GREAT choice. The location is great in a residential neighborhood. The outside is very attractive and it only gets better when you get inside. We were upgraded to the Lions Head suite and when we stepped out on the balcony we didn't want to leave. The view day and night is amazing. The room was clean, great size and had all the amenities you would hope for. In the morning we were given a wonderful breakfast with made to order eggs and fruit. The Colony is within walking distance to several restaurants and a longer walk to V&A Waterfront. I would highly reccomend The Colony!

Room Tip: The rooms on the uppper floor in the front of the house have amazing balconies that overlook Cape To...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the Terrace Room in January. The building itself is very beautiful and the entrance area with the pool and sundeck is superb. The room itself was standard but not very unique. The location was very safe and quiet. We walked into town from here and although a steep walk back we didnt mind too much. The price is competetive but not cheap. The staff were amiable and friendly and the breakfast was lovely especially sat outside looking up at Table Mountain! When we return to Cape Town we would consider staying there again.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room then choose the Terrace Room. It is furthest from the entrance and no one s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We sent four days recently at The Colony in Capetown. This is a very charming bed and breakfast, in a lovely old home, and I thought the breakfasts were delicious. However, we did find it odd that there was no one on site after 4:00 pm every day. As most visitors are generally out sightseeing all day, it did make it difficult to communicate any questions or issues.
The area surrounding the hotel felt very safe and quiet, but be aware that the B & B is up on a hill, and quite a walk from town center (we quite liked this .. walking off all the good food we were eating). Our room (the terrace room) was at the back, and I would not recommend this room. It was cold, and had a portable heater we plugged in when taking a shower, and the bathroom and bedroom were on separate levels .. the room felt like it was once a storage space. However, I did get a chance to peek into another of the rooms, in the front, and it was lovely. I would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast .. just not the Terrace room ...

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Beach
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

An older but comfortable guest house in an excellent location, it is up the hill about 3 blocks above the city streets. Good views from the rooms. 5 minute walk to very good restaurants, 15 minutes to SA Museum and start of central city attractions. A good value. Although it was indicated staff would be available to advise on and book local tours that was not the case. So make your plans in advance, but don't book tours and activities until you arrive as weather is the deciding factor.
We stayed 6 nights and five full days and felt that was the right amount of time to explore the cape area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in The Colony and had a room with a fantastic view over Table Mountain. We enjoyed sitting on our balcony with our early morning coffee (Make sure to book one of the two rooms with a view). The service was friendly and the rooms very beautifull with everything we needed. The only thing that dampened our experience was the state of their bath towels. It is time to replace them as they do not fit the profile of a four star establishment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We planned our trip rather last minute, and got lucky with The Colony. Great place, good price, fantastic location.

Pros:
* Excellent views of table mountain
* Friendly ladies who work there
* Beautiful renovated house
* Free internet (slow, but not too bad)

Cons:
* Old, wooden house (you can hear every step (and moan!) of every person in the house)

Some suggestions:
I would suggest not picking the honeymoon suite if table mountain suite is open. The house is quite loud, and the honeymoon suite is on the ground floor by the front entrance and breakfast room. You'll hear everyone coming and going, and if anyone is above you - every step is crazy loud. Honeymoon suite is much bigger, but not worth it given the noise.

I also suggest that no matter what room you stay in, keep in mind that *sound travels* in that old house. One couple that was upstairs while we were there would probably be a bit embarrassed to know how well we could hear each moan and "oh yes!" - 3 times in 15 hours (nice going guys!)

Know that there are steep steps to get into the house, that the women who work in the kitchen can also handle your bill (we didn't realize that, and kept wondering when someone would show up that could help us pay & extend our stay), and that there are basically no staff around at any time other than breakfast. Parking is on the street, but nice neighborhood so no worries there.

Not much else to say. We booked 2 nights and stayed an extra 2 (upstairs!) because we liked it so much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed there on two occasions in July. We'd booked it first on internet and when we found out we needed another 2 days after returning from Franschhoek they accommodated us by adding a mattress for our daughter. It is often a problem when traveling with a grown up daughter to find hotel without spending money for another room.

Both rooms was very nice and clean. Problem in winter is heating in the bathroom, and we wished we had our own heated bathroom flooring! But it's a minor issue.

What's nice about The Colony is the decoration. Most hotels have kind of "standard" decoration, but The Colony is indeed very nicely decorated.

The breakfast is good, and also social because everybody sits around the same table exchanging tips etc. Service is as good as on any big hotel, but with a personal touch.

I would definitely choose The Colony if returning to Cape Town.

Room Tip: The two rooms we had was equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony

Address: 12 Brownlow Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious, luxurious guesthouse is situated in a quiet street in the much looked-for suburb of Tamboerskloof, surrounded by old Victorian villas, with a breathtaking view over the harbour and Table Mountain. Let yourself be captivated by the creative trendy metropolis of Cape Town. Discover the special atmosphere of the neighbourhood by foot, with its tiny delicacy shops, cafes, restaurants, designer and fashion retail businesses. Relax at the pool with a glass of good wine and enjoy the sunsets over Table Mountain. The house offers six spacious bedrooms with en suite bathrooms and access to a balcony. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Colony Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.