We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go here again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miller's Thumb, Fine Fish Fare

Miller's Thumb, Fine Fish Fare
10b Kloofnek Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
0214243838
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Cape Town
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go here again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Top marks for everything. We were a really big group (which is normally a nightmare for the serving staff I am sure), and the service was excellent and the kitchen was very efficient indeed. The food is really delicious. Fish is the speciality but there are enough non-fish options too. The owner makes sure everything is running smoothly and I think that makes all the difference. The restaurant is very full and busy so don't forget to book!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    607
    189
    45
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kutchan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What a great night.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Went to Millers with some friends who lived in Cape Town based upon TA reviews.

To be honest, the first impression I had was of concern that we were in the wrong place. It is super colourful inside and so busy that we had to just check with bar tender that we were in the right place.

The owner actually waited our table and she knew everything on the menu back to front so we just asked her to recommend food for us.

WOW......, Cajun Dorado, squid tentacles, fresh oysters, plus more. This was exactly what we were hoping for and we tried to go back but as is always the case, the good restaurants are always booked out well on advance and we couldn't get back in.

Well worth the visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was a lovely family run restaurant. The atmosphere was really friendly and relaxed. The owner came over to read the specials to us. The fish can be cooked in many different ways to meet your tastebuds. We had a tikka kingklip fish of the specials board which was gorgeous. This was our best restaurant in Cape Town although do note it is not open on Sundays. It is a short taxi ride from the waterfront.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tremendous, relaxed, homely restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My girlfriend is a massive fan of sefaood and she rated this one of the best meals she had ever had.

Prices were reasonable, food was tremendous, service very good. The restaurant itself is fairly small, relaxed and homely

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A must dine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great choices of how you want you line fish to be prepared. Wonderful ambience. We could have return several nights in a row.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miller's Thumb, Fine Fish Fare also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Woodstock, Cape Town
 

Been to Miller's Thumb, Fine Fish Fare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miller's Thumb, Fine Fish Fare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.