We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum yum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miller's Thumb, Fine Fish Fare

Miller's Thumb, Fine Fish Fare
10b Kloofnek Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
0214243838
Website
Update restaurant details
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yum yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great service, and great atmostphere. Despite the fact that the place was packed we never waited and the waitress was very attentive. The food is great and would definitely come again. Mmmm cajun calamari!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    499
    141
    37
    17
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Terrigal, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great food, great service and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

recommended by our motel for its seafood. We had great seafood soup, calamari pasta and salad. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was very colourful and inviting on a wet and cold winter's night. Wine list had a good selection at reasonable price. Unfortunately no crayfish dishes on menu which disappointed my friend who was looking forward to some

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, relaxed atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I read about this place on trip advisor. Great food! I had miso and wasabi glazed kingklip and I was amazing. The calamari with peri peri butter was a favorite at the table. We thought it was the best calamari we have ever had. Desserts were delicious as well. I highly recommend a trip to this restaurant if you are in Cape Town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great sea food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This place was recommended by our hotel and we we not disappointed. Its a small eatery run by a couple and they offer fresh sea food cooked in 5 or 6 different ways. I had an amazing mushroom topped with crab and Dorado fish on a bed of couscous. It might seem a little pricey, but its totally worth it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best Dorado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant certainly lived up to its reputation. It was the best Dorado I have had with the exception when I caught it myself.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miller's Thumb, Fine Fish Fare also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Miller's Thumb, Fine Fish Fare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miller's Thumb, Fine Fish Fare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.