We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum yum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miller's Thumb

Miller's Thumb
10b Kloofnek Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
0214243838
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Soups, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yum yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great service, and great atmostphere. Despite the fact that the place was packed we never waited and the waitress was very attentive. The food is great and would definitely come again. Mmmm cajun calamari!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoHudson84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“great food, great service and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

recommended by our motel for its seafood. We had great seafood soup, calamari pasta and salad. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was very colourful and inviting on a wet and cold winter's night. Wine list had a good selection at reasonable price. Unfortunately no crayfish dishes on menu which disappointed my friend who was looking forward to some

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn_traveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, relaxed atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I read about this place on trip advisor. Great food! I had miso and wasabi glazed kingklip and I was amazing. The calamari with peri peri butter was a favorite at the table. We thought it was the best calamari we have ever had. Desserts were delicious as well. I highly recommend a trip to this restaurant if you are in Cape Town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank colin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great sea food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This place was recommended by our hotel and we we not disappointed. Its a small eatery run by a couple and they offer fresh sea food cooked in 5 or 6 different ways. I had an amazing mushroom topped with crab and Dorado fish on a bed of couscous. It might seem a little pricey, but its totally worth it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellernamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Dorado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant certainly lived up to its reputation. It was the best Dorado I have had with the exception when I caught it myself.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank André M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miller's Thumb also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Miller's Thumb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing