We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sea food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miller's Thumb, Fine Fish Fare

Miller's Thumb, Fine Fish Fare
10b Kloofnek Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
0214243838
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great sea food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This place was recommended by our hotel and we we not disappointed. Its a small eatery run by a couple and they offer fresh sea food cooked in 5 or 6 different ways. I had an amazing mushroom topped with crab and Dorado fish on a bed of couscous. It might seem a little pricey, but its totally worth it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    730
    238
    56
    21
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Dorado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant certainly lived up to its reputation. It was the best Dorado I have had with the exception when I caught it myself.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A great locals place to discover in Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Outstanding food, outstanding wines, outstanding customer service. Please try to make a reservation as this place is small and fills up fast...not to be missed while in Cape Town!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pukka neighbourhood restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

very well reviewed on TA and we were staying close by so we gave it a go. Very nice neighbourhood restaurant with excellent service and food which is more sophisticated than the place looks. I would have preferred a slightly more sophisticated setting which the food easily merits but a really good meal for very little money so what's not to like?

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coxim, MS
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excelent food, good price and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

I went to Millers, unfortunately on my last day in Cape Town. Staff is very good, and the owner comes to your table to tell you which are the dishes of the day. Food is absolutely perfect. I ate a fish with a lichee sauce, and my wife a fish soup and calamari with Moroccan Sauce. If I could, I would eat more times at Millers Thumb. You must go there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miller's Thumb, Fine Fish Fare also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Miller's Thumb, Fine Fish Fare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miller's Thumb, Fine Fish Fare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.