We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is hit and miss” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ferrymans Tavern

Ferrymans Tavern
East Pier Road, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27(0)21 4197748
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Service is hit and miss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

we used this establishment a few times on holiday. The food and drink is good value and there was a lot of good live music. It is in a good central but sheltered location.
However getting service can be dreadfully slow. Sometimes it's ok, and it should be, there is a very large staff in proportion to customers. But after finishing a drink you can sometimes wait and wait and wait before being waited on again. it would be easier just to go to the bar and ask but once you have a table I think you need to stick with your waiter otherwise I could forsee confusion and disaster.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    80
    44
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The end of the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Spent many a nigt here with big plans of walking past to explore others but never managed to make it. Fun place with lots of friendly people

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a large pub, well located on the V & A. Food is decent "pub grub " and like Mitchell's next door it is good place to watch the world go past. Red wine sangria is particularly nice on a warm day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cala'n Porter, Spain
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“English Style Pub with Grub nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Just slightly on the edge of the V & A Waterfront are some pubs & bars offering local & traditional pub grub if thats your thing.
Most plates of food that I saw were fried foods ,salads & really looked un-appetising but some people like this fodder.

Nice selection of drinks served by busy staff ..would stop by again for drinks but definately not the food

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Was expecting more for the food but loved the jam jars!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had spent many days into nights at this place and decided to try their food. There is a lot more to choose from than next door. But the food took a long while to come and the food got cold very quickly as the plates were not hot. But everything else is great. I really liked the jam jars ESP sitting in front of the fire. To make things better I watched the film Invictus and now I can say I have been there when I see the film.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ferrymans Tavern also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Ferrymans Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferrymans Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.