We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality food and wine!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durbanville Hills

Durbanville Hills
Durbanville, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 558 1300
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $10
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Top quality food and wine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

The dining room is large and spacious but without being cavernous. Bright and airy. Strong menu focusing on 5-6 starters and same with main course. Beef Fillet was very good. Nice wine decently priced. Delicious cheeseboard to finish off! Attentive service.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    36
    12
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Pleasant Sunday Business Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Booked a table for 12 people, phoned next day to change time but the gentleman who answered the phone said we are busy with a function cannot talk now but he assured me he will change the booking. The day of the luncheon we received a call to ask if we were late the time was not changed. Upon arrival we were advised that we must be out by 15h00 due to a wedding later the afternoon. That was not communicated when the booking was made.
Some of the guests arrived late their plane only landed 11h00 from the UK. Bongani was our waiter he was very professional and knowledgeable about the wine and food and made sure our glasses are full. All the guests were impressed with the exceptional quality of the food. One of the guests said it was the best meal he ever had a winery. After we had dessert we moved outside for coffee so that the venue could be set up for the wedding.
Apart from the communication problem we had a most enjoyable day and left at 16h30

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great views and great wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Durbanville Hills has a great location for a chilled lunch. Their wine selection from their estate is well priced. I was pleasantly surprised that they had fresh Saldahna oysters on offer - which is a firm favourite of mine. Cannot wait to go back for a 2nd visit!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely view, good meal but could have been better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The site is a short drive from Cape town CBD. We drop by for lunch. The restaurant is spacious with great view over the vineyard. My wife had the beef dish which was excellent but my fish was ordinary.
The ambience is really good with well design interior. We went to the wine tasting room below the restaurant after our meals but nobody seem to want to serve us.
So we left with the beautiful site with some disappointment...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cool place for kids and romantics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Went here for a wine tasting ended up sitting on the lawn relaxing and having a cheese board - very nice time

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durbanville Hills also viewed

Durbanville, Cape Town
 
Cape Town, Western Cape
Panorama, Cape Town
 

Been to Durbanville Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durbanville Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.