We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different (Best of 2 Worlds)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madame Zingara's

Madame Zingara's
Orphan Street 7, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
+27 86 162 3263
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Different (Best of 2 Worlds)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Simply put, theatre dining! But very very well pulled off. The atmosphere was warm & relaxed & acts performed were awesome! There's caberet singing while you dine, a nice touch, reminds me of 60's movies. Between acts & singing there's also comedy, what more could you ask for? The food was good, a 4 course meal of NOTE especially the dessert, i call it death by chocolate. Plenty of wine available but for the caffeine freaks, unfortunately no hot stuff. Service was an experience as your waiters like to keep you entertained. Even the amazing looking venue keeps you busy & in awe, but i'm not going to let out any more...., go and see it for yourself!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    21
    10
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is one of those Cape Town experiences that cannot be missed. What an extravaganza!
The entertainment was spectacular. The blend of caberet singing, comedy and incredible acrobatics was perfect. Brilliant fun.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Fantastic night out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I had the pleasure of attending the Theatre of Dreams in Cape Town last week. WOW! Everything was just incredible; the friendly and fun filled staff, the delicious food and the show just blew me away. The ticket price is very reasonable for such an explosive package; highly recommend to anyone wanting a great night out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Hill South, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An entertaining fun night out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We enjoyed every wacky minute of our night with Madame Zingara and her team at the Speigeltent! Food was good and the wait staff did a fab job! A terrific energy about the place, and true entertainment.

I think I still have sparkles on my face!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Culinary disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I would rate this place not in the restaurant section - Food is awful and the wine list poor. The show is great as is the service and the vibe. I would be surprised if a (real) 'chef' has tasted the ingredients before going out to the guests.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madame Zingara's also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Madame Zingara's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madame Zingara's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.