We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit disorganised” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blowfish Restaurant

Blowfish Restaurant
Dolphin Beach Complex 1 Marine Drive | Bloubergstrand, Cape Town Central 7441, South Africa
(0) 21 556 5464
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Bit disorganised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

I'm a fan of this place as often go when in Capetown however on 22 December I went for a birthday meal with my wife and friends. I booked the table months before our trip and asked for her pudding to have a candle in. It was agreed that was an easy request to fulfill. On the night I personally spoke to the waitress away from our table and reminded her about the candle. Deserts came out plonked down and no candle !! Sloppy from a restaurant that is usually very good. Waitress also seemed unsure of how to serve during the meal passing plates across other diners ?!
First time for a long time I didn't leave a tip - it really wasn't worth it this time. I emailed my disappointment to the restaurant and never heard back .........

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G, Manager at Blowfish Restaurant, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Mr. Garner,

Greetings from a summer’s day in Cape Town.

We would like to sincerely apologise for the misfortunate incident regarding the candle that was not on the dessert as arranged and for not living up to our standards in this regard. Please be rest assured that this is not the level of service we pride ourselves in.

We hope to welcome you back to Blowfish when next you are in South Africa so that we can have the opportunity to host you again.

Kind Regards
Blowfish Restaurant Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    49
    60
    24
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bobby' Birthday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were there for my friends birthday.Inspite a booking mishap the hostess was able to move table around to accomodate 3 more people.We had the half price sushi and nice mains.There was nothing thta was to fault with even though my thai curry was not extraordinay but good.The place was busy and i guess almost every cape town restaurant is so for the x-mas hols. It was very good.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G, Manager at Blowfish Restaurant, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks so much for chosing our restaurant to host your friend's birthday. So glad we the hostess was able to sort out the seating situation for you. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the sushi and our main courses.

We hope that you will visit us again when you are back in South Africa.

All the best for the new year.

Warm regards from a beautiful day in Cape Town,
Blowfish Restaurant Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great food & stylish interior.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We celebrated our engagement in this restaurant. It was my fiancé choice and I was very happy with it. The interior is very nice, not overloaded by details and colors. The food they served us was very delicious and fresh, and we were very grateful to our waiter for a advices what to choose and try. I was also quite surprised by the prices, they are not too charged and that's very nice. And, oh, by the way, all tables in the restaurant have a fantastic sunset view.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G, Manager at Blowfish Restaurant, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Karina,

Many thanks for the kind comments on our restaurant. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our delicious, fresh and well priced menu. We are very lucky to have such an incredible backdrop such as Table Mountain!

We hope that you will come and visit us again when you are in South Africa.

Warm regards from a sunny Cape Town,
Blowfish Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The hague
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Very friendly and great restaurant! Eat your sushi while watching the kite surfers in front of the table mountain!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G, Manager at Blowfish Restaurant, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Ingeborg,

Thanks so much for the great feedback regarding our sushi and restaurant. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our amazing view and "free entertainement" (kite surfers)!

We really hope that you will come and visit us again when next you are in South Africa.

All the best.

Warm regards from a summers day in Cape Town,
Blowfish Restaurant Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best sushi restaurant in Blouberg.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Great location. You sit and eat the best and freshest sushi while staring at the kite surfers, table mountain and the ocean. Always go here and enjoy the food.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G, Manager at Blowfish Restaurant, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Elaine,

Thanks so much for your amazing review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our sushi, spectacular view of the majestic Table Mountain and our "free entertainment" (kite surfers)!

We hope you will pop in for our fresh sushi and good views again when you are in Cape Town.

Warm regards from a sunny Cape Town,
Blowfish Restaurant Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blowfish Restaurant also viewed

Milnerton, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Blowfish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blowfish Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.