We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10/10, Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Head South Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Head South Lodge to your Saves list
Head South Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   215 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8051, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“10/10, Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with work for 3 weeks. I have never been more comfortable or so well looked after in any other hotel. The staff are exceptional, decor is quirky and cool, the hospitality is second to none. This is the place to stay and I hope to get back there one day

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    18
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
39
1
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I stayed in Head South Over summer and it was perfect. a wonderful location so close to everything, gorgeous boutique rooms, amazing staff who help with everything and nothing is ever too much trouble, walking distance to so much - highly recommended
Jeff the owner is a wealth of knowledge and Ramona helped with so much - a little gem she is !!
Felt like family.

Room Tip: Rooms are not large but considering I am rarely in the room it does not bother me
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

After a 11-hour flight, we arrived past midnight to find a written note welcoming us. The next morning I was greeted with, "you must be Janna... welcome." My husband and I travel 1-2 times per month and have stayed at all sorts of accommodations, though we have never experienced such authentic hospitality as we did at Head South Lodge. Jeff, Meggan and Ramona have a lot they could teach to so many hotels out there. They don't talk about the premier experience, they live it with their guests. I've been sharing our time there with friends and family, telling them that they have no other choice than to stay at Hotel South Lodge :). We are already planning another trip next February... we can't wait to go back to a place that feels like home.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room upstairs with a mountain view - very peaceful with great sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I booked Head South based on a recommendation of friends of ours who had stayed there about five years ago. This was one of my best pre-trip moves. The staff are knowledgeable about what to see, what not to miss, and how to get there concerning not just Cape Town, but much of the Western Cape. Jeff, the owner/manager, offers detailed, excellent recommendations of things you won't find in guidebooks; all of his recommendations were spot on. He is an outstanding host, and all of the staff members are up to the same standard. The hotel itself is lovely and impeccably clean. We had a spacious room overlooking the road, which was noisy, but the windows closed out most of the noise, and it had a view of the ocean, which was lovely. Breakfast offers choices to suit anyone. I have already recommended Head South to friends planning a trip in November!

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side facing the noisy road do have a view of the ocean and park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

The Inn is on Main Road, Greenpoint. Easy access to the beaches and to waterfront/city center. Great staff: they know everything about Cape Town - where to go, what to do. They go out of their way to arrange tours and make you feel home. The rooms, however, are claustrophobic. No external windows, about 10 - 12 sq. meters. It's ok if you don't mind about staying in your room. Loved the "Honesty Bar" - just take whatever you want from the bar and write it down, make you feel like home. Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011 via mobile

Nothing is to much ! Service how it is supost to be .

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We loved our stay at Head South. The staff were incredibly pleasant and helpful. I went walking with the owner's wife nearly every morning - a highlight of the trip! I'm not sure if I've ever slept in a more comfortable bed, a particularly glowing comment given that I was pregnant at the time. We also found the location great for walking along the coast and for a longish jaunt to V & A. Parking was easy, right outside the lodge. We would definitely stay with Jeff and crew again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Head South Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Head South Lodge

Address: 215 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8051, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Head South Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Head South Lodge has become one of Cape Town's leading boutique hotels. The combination of its sophisticated style and funky atmosphere over 18 years, has proven to be an attractive mix for all guests. Position and service are the strong points of Head South. Guests are offered recommendations, and assisted with directions to sites within and outside of Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Head South Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Head South Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Head South Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.