We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added One&Only Cape Town to your Saves list
One&Only Cape Town
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 4 Nights & Save 25%
Ranked #18 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I don't usually take the time to do reviews but I have to for this hotel. We stayed here for 3 days in May 2014. Had the marina & mountain view king room. You open the draperies and there is a beautiful view of Table Mountain in the background with the marina in the foreground. Rooms were large and well appointed. Breakfast buffet was really fresh and had a great variety. The staff was top notch, especially the concierges. Imagine chipping your front tooth on the flight to Capetown, telling the front desk about it at 9:00 p.m. upon check-in. Then, being advised the next morning at 8:30 that your appointment to get it fixed was at 9:30 with a taxi arranged to take you there at 9:15! That's what I call service.

Also, have to mention that Jarat Tours which runs out of this hotel was terrific. We did the Best of the Cape Tour with our extra-special guide Saleigh. If you have limited time and want to really see Cape Town, this is the ideal way to go. Reasonably priced, too. They also pick up and drop off at the airport. Jarat's service was a recommendation of the concierges. Not only was the concierge staff simply great but also very appreciative!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    109
    29
    12
    18
See reviews for
177
404
19
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Having just come back from Cape Town, I have the memories of a truly beautiful hotel, The One & Only.
It has one of the biggest swimming pools around, ut it's standard of rooms and location make it the perfect choice.
With the water front one side and table mountain to the rear, what more could you ask for !

Room Tip: Ask for a table mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Ok, this is a beautiful hotel with a perfect location in one of the most beautiful cities of the world but something was definitely broken when we arrived. First, the check-in process was a mess. The place was crowded, the reception desk person didn't have our info nor the fact we were celebrating our 10-year anniversary. When we got to our room, surprise surprise, our "marina view" was 1/5 of our view as all we could see was the street and a construction site right next to us. My husband called to ask for a change and they said the only other room available would cost us another $500/night. He wasted another hour on the phone until finally they found us a room without the extra charge with the table mountain view. The manager was lost and without any power to make a decision. The rest of our stay had a few incidents here and there which just proved to us this hotel has been poorly managed. At check-out they tried to compensate without charging us for some of our drinks but our experience had been ruined already... What a shame for such a beautiful place!

Room Tip: Make sure you get the full marina view, not just the corner side some of the rooms have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in may, 2014. This hotel is great. Staff are very attentive, and rooms are luxurious. 2 great restaurants, and a short walk to the V&A waterfront. Room sevice is excellent and well-priced. Great bar and excellent views of table mountain. Highly recommend.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We loved the One & Only Cape Town, the view of Table Mountain from the room was awesome. My partner and I both made use of the spa and enjoyed the treatments very much.

We loved the shopping centre near by and did some damage in the shops there! There are some great restaurants there also, I enjoyed the most amazing plate of massive garlic prawns one particular lunch time.

We made use of the hotels chauffer service and had the good fortune of meeting a local driver who was lovely and took us to some really lovely places & local restaurants that were on the hip list in Cape Town at that moment, we had lunch out at the Graff Diamond Estate in Stellenbosch and La Petite Ferme in Franschhoek both in stunning locations and awesome dining experiences that are saved in the memory bank.

One word of warning is to make sure you use the correct sun protection, as I was quite badly burnt. We were sitting by the pool on one of the first days and it was cloudy and I have to be honest I didn't take the correct precautions and suffered the consequences as a result, if I were to go back to Cape Town (which we would love to do) I would factor 30 - 50 all day long.

The One & Only is home to the restaurant Nobu; we ate there one night but we found it a bit pretentious to be honest, but other than that we had no complaints about anything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Went here on an incentive trip with a close friend. You are within walking distance to amazing art and craft booths, street music, top restaurants, boat and helicopter tours, and more. Afternoon tea is AMAZING. Breakfast as well. The service and staff were delightful. Our room had views of Table Top Mountain, the pool and Western Cape Town. Bed was super comfy and we fought over who got to enjoy the giant tub and shower first - I will definitely be back!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Great hotel with a fantastic view. The staff are friendly and eager, the rooms large and comes with everything you can expect from a classy hotel. Short distance walk to the waterfront mall. Definitely worth a stay in Cape Town.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Splendia, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One&Only Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.