We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury with elegant style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added One&Only Cape Town to your Saves list
One&Only Cape Town
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 4 Nights & Save 25%
Ranked #18 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Luxury with elegant style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is the last hotel on our South African Tour, so we picked (actually a very knowledgable lady from Kuoni did) a very special hotel known for it's location on it's own island on the V&A waterfront in Cape Town, it's also famous for modern opulent architecture, high end luxury and fine dining.
Ok this is not a budget hotel but when you want to push the boat out ,it's wonderful to not only get what you dream of but much more.
As soon as you pull up the long curved driveway into the entrance, your experience starts, a lovely doorman in tophat greets you , says leave every thing to him just go through to reception and check in. The car is parked for you and when you get to the room the luggage appears, no hassle.
As soon as the hotel realised that this was a 25 year anniversary celebration champagne was offered and an upgrade to one of the hotels famous Island Suites organised, even though the hotel was very full.
A wonderful lady called Diana Romburgh made us feel so welcome and when we got to our room she had arranged champagne and gorgeous choclates , plus a very nice card with best wishes from the hotel.
I cannot begin to say how fantastic the rooms are in the One and Only , suffice to say they are regal in size and designed with comfort and luxury to the highest degree. The facilities would take forever to list but a infinity swimming pool which is naturally oxygenated, Spa, fitness rooms, just to name a few offerings, oh and two world class restaurants.
We will always remember the One and Only Cape Town for all the right reasons.

Room Tip: Main hotel corner rooms enjoy harbour and mountain views, the Island rooms are to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We are so pleased that you chose to celebrate this momentous occasion with us! Through living our brand value of sincere and genuine hospitality we have assisted you to created everlasting memories and we cannot wait for your next visit.

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    110
    29
    12
    18
See reviews for
177
407
20
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was hoping not to write this as I have waited two days for a response to a letter to One&Only's management. We spoke many times with Dianne and Robyn while my husband and I were staying there but the two kind women were nowhere to be seen when we checked out. And now no one has answered our letter. I am sure there will be a creative response to this review. Upon checkout we were given the wrong bill at first, then paid thousands of dollars for the worst "high end" hotel experience of our lives.

If you are looking for a five star boutique design hotel do not book here. The spa meets the criteria (aside from flooding showers and squeaking doors) but the rest of the hotel is dated, scuffed, feels corporate and worn down for the high prices.

First - credit to Dianne and Robyn plus concierges Madnee, Linda, Nigel, so many more, who tried to make things right. It simply wasn't enough given the hotel's advertised class. They are five star people working in a crazy place. After a string of mishaps and then having been given the wrong bill, I left in tears! Unbelievable. My husband and I spent much of our vacation feeling stressed over mistakes made and what would be yet to come. The mistakes always arrived just after we would begin to feel calm.

We paid about $700 USD/night average (7 nights) for an Island King Superior room. If superior means a flooded shower, broken appliances and a tranquil view of circling red tour line boats, a terrace facing a portable toilet and nearby construction, then it was indeed superior. When we voiced concern regarding the shower and noise level the friendly and warm staff instantly responded - there were no comparable rooms, just a suite in the main building. After a 12 hour flight we saw the suite with views of the mountain. In some sort of insane state we were talked into paying an extra supplement, a huge amount, to have the suite. It was my fault for agreeing. The hotel graciously worked with us on that, waiving the fee in the end due to constant mix-ups and blunders. Never in my life have I been asked to pay for an unsolicited upgrade. And like many of us here on TripAdvisor I have had the pleasure in staying in some of the world's top hotels (but I'm really bad about remembering to review! I'll do my best from now on)

Here are the only reasons to stay with this hotel: free stays, weddings, conferences, strong desire to spend most of your time at the V&A Waterfront. If you get $100 USD room facing the mountain, go for it. Otherwise I strongly disagree with the glowing reviews - so much in fact I've wondered if they're fake.

Rather than go through all the daily drama I will add some photos from our room. This was a huge one bedroom suite with sitting room - this category may cost around $1200 USD or more. The mountain was beautiful. The view was kind of like Orlando but with the stunning Table Mountain over it. Inside we had squeaky doors, scratches everywhere, stained curtains, housekeepers leaving the front door open to the hallways with our belongings on the dining table while they were in the back room, etc. The list is just too long to share. And I hate to say it because the staff is well-meaning, efficient with many tasks and they were always friendly to us.

I believe the hotel's upper management and especially owners need to look closely at their pricing and advertising. It simply isn't right. So the restaurants are good and the pool is pretty? Not enough. The best thing about the hotel was their alliance with Jarat tours - who got us OUT of that room for a couple of days.

The photos I'm adding tell some of our tale. I do thank the people who tried to help us at the One&Only. But I can't believe I'm regretful enough of a hotel stay that I cringe when I think of it's name. A sad trip...but one we will certainly not forget.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Naturally we were very disappointed to read of your comments above, particularly as we receive so much positive feedback and we are very sorry that you did not experience the usual high service standards that we pride ourselves in.

On receipt of your e-mail received on the 14th of October 2013, we had attempted to reach you personally to take the opportunity to thank you for your comments and photographs received from your e-mail and to personally assure you that all of the issues highlighted are being regarded in the most serious light and that each issue had been raised with the relevant head of department for review in the particular areas in order to ensure that your experience is never repeated.

Again, we so appreciate the time you have taken to make us aware of the raised issues, it is through such feedback that we are able to rectify, improve and maintain the standards we have set.

We are sorry that we have not been able to reach you and will continue to try and reach out to you so that we are able to give you our personal assurances.

Bridgit Pautz
Executive Manager – Human Resources
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The place is no doubt lovely and at a great location, however I didn't find it worth all the money I paid to stay there for a night. Thankfully it was a Google conference that I needed to attend and the company paid for the hotel, otherwise I would rather stay at other hotels with same amenities (if not better) at a much lower price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We appreciate your honest review and thank you for your constructive feedback. We do hope to that you will be back in the not too distant future to enjoy all that our beautiful resort has to offer.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed for 4nights on our honeymoon and was without a doubt the best service we have ever experienced in any hotel! Great afternoon tea, great breakfast, the staff were great and really welcoming and professional! Would recommend to
anyone and would like certainty go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Our team is thrilled that they played a part in making this momentous holiday a trip filled with everlasting memories. We are definitely the hot spot for the perfect romantic getaway with your loved one. Our tranquil private islands, oversized heated pool, award winning spa and dynamic dining options makes for the ideal setting to celebrate your special moments!

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our trip to South Africa and stayed in some marvelous places, but our final destination the One&Only in Cape Town beat them all. It is a great location, excellent rooms, the most amazing helpful and friendly staff. It is discreet and at the same time very elegant. Not to be missed for whatever reason you travel to Cape Town be it on honeymoon, family travel of a business trip.

Room Tip: If you like a view book a room with a view to the Table Mountain, if you like your privacy and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
How fitting that we could spoil you as the grand finale of you visit to Cape Town! Our commitment to barefoot luxury has ensured that you had an amazing experience and as you mentioned we are the perfect destination for a family vacation, special celebration or business trip. We hope to see you visit us again for any one of these occasions.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I came for a Business School program, a great location. It is right at the center of the Water Front in Cape Town. Excellent bedrooms good size with a good bathroom a terrace over the garden and canal, a good SPA and also a Nobu restauranta plus incredible breakfast included. The service is outstanding. Absolutely recommendable.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the garden and canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We are so pleased with your review and thank you for recommending us so highly. Our fantastic location in the V&A Waterfront, world class facilities and dining options seems to have been the perfect choice for your visit. Hopefully you will visit us for a well-deserved break the next time, no work allowed!

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We recently spent a week at the One&Only in Capetown. Overall, the property is spectacular, especially compared to other hotels in the area. What really stood out was the extremely friendly and professional staff. The bar makes amazing cocktails and both restaurants are very good. The room service menu needs expanded, but the food was good. The spa was also lovely and the treatment top-notch. We stayed in an Island room which is very private and gives you a view of the lagoon. It was large and well appointed although there was no view of Table Mountain. If a view is what you are looking for I would recommend staying in Marina rise. The only thing negative thing I would mention is that even though the pool is heated it definitely was not when we were there. None of the lounge furniture around the pool was out either, which would have been nice to sit in on a sunny day. Overall though, if I went back to Capetown I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Island Rooms on the lagoon are large and secluded, great for a couple looking for rest and relaxatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for writing about the sincere and warm hospitality that you experienced during your stay. The peaceful surroundings of our rooms on one of our private islands was the perfect setting for your holiday as a couple. It is perfectly located next to the pool and near our award winning spa. We appreciate for your suggestion regarding the pool area; this has been noted and forwarded to the relevant management.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Splendia, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One&Only Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.