We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added One&Only Cape Town to your Saves list
One&Only Cape Town
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 4 Nights & Save 25%
Ranked #18 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

this is THE best hotel in cape town in my view. Family get awayand the attention to detail, safety and service is by far the best. I cannot stay anywhere else besides here, value for money and the kids loved it too. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for writing about your true One&Only experience, our team is delighted with your feedback and cannot wait to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    110
    29
    12
    18
See reviews for
177
406
20
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is now rated the best we have been to!And once again,we enjoy only the best in South Africa!From my reservations,to our arrival and departure,this was a wonderful experience.Champagne & snack tray on arrival in our room,kiddies bubbly and macaroons in the girls inter leading room.At turn down petals in the bath & candles as it was our anniversary and our daughter's birthday treat.

The spa was relaxing.Peaceful and tranquil!
The setting sun and the view of Table Mountain certainly make this a one special place to spend time with family or friends!

Room Tip: Mountain facing!Room 111 and 112.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are thrilled that we are now your destination of choice in Cape Town! We are very pleased that we were able to be part of your special celebration and that our gestures enhanced your experience. Being geared towards families with our oversized rooms and connecting options, as well as our culinary choices and specialized KidsOnly Club, it is very pleasing to see that you enjoyed all the luxury and unique features that our resort has to offer.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a very nice boutique hotel located near water, next to the aquarium and shopping/restaurant district. It is a facility that deserves noteworthy recognition for food, service, amenities, and decor.

Room Tip: One can not go wrong in choosing a good room. One side gives an ocean view and the other the Table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
You have certainly chosen the best possible location in the Waterfront and Cape Town for your stay. Our close vicinity to the Waterfront, all the popular local attractions and the airport assists our guests to have the best of Cape Town on their door step.
We cannot wait to see you again at your address of choice in Cape Town!

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntly, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in Aug 2013 for 4 nights and had a perfect experience from the minute we stepped out the car. Check In was prompt and we were delighted to find out that both rooms had been upgraded to suites which were huge with a perfect view of Table Mountain a great surprise and a perfect start to our stay in Cape Town. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Only slight negative I would say was that the breakfast service which is served in Reuben's was a bit hit or a miss if you ordered items rather than take from the buffet it could take some time to come which was disappointing. However we dined in Reuben's at night and the service was excellent special mention to Victor and Agnes who were just fantastic. If you get a chance you should definitely experience the afternoon tea which is served daily from 2.30 to 5 and is a 5 star experience. The resort on a whole is very well maintained and a great location for a visit to Cape Town.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We are very pleased that you had so many delightful experiences during your visit. Our culinary offerings, sense of place with direct views of Table Mountain and convenient location are only a few of the reasons why we are the address of choice for discerning guests like you. We apologize that we did not deliver a consistent, efficient service to you during breakfast and your comment has been addressed by the relevant management. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you in the not too distant future!

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a really good hotel. Of you are going to Cape Town and you can afford it, stay here. The service is sensational - as good as or better than any thing we have experienced in Asia. The location is fantastic- right near the waterfront with great views of Table Mountain. The rooms are lovely, spacious and modern.
I only have 3 -ves.
1. We went in winter and the pool isn't heated
2. The bath towels are disappointing- I like big fluffy towels that you can wrap your self in, and the ones there fall way short of the mark
3. Room service menu is uninspiring and the food was average - but given the restaurants on your door step, you don't need room service.
When we return to Cpe Town, we will stay there, no question about it

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your sensational experience! We appreciate your suggestions and these have been communicated to the relevant management. We look forward to blowing you away on your next visit to Cape Town!

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

It was my honeymoon and It was my first time in South Africa. I stayed at the Superior King Room - Island and it was simply a piece of perfection. the island is located near the spa and the pool. and if you're a Sushi eater you'd definitly like the Japanese restaurant at the One & Only Resort.

Room Tip: Don't settle for anything less than an Island Room if you're looking for a romantic stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We are delighted that you and your new wife found our secluded and tranquil island rooms, surrounded by waterways and landscaped gardening to be your secret romantic hideaway for your stay in beautiful Cape Town. May we see you very soon again, hopefully on your anniversary every year!

Warn regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Tremendous hotel in the waterfront.Rooms impeccable and with great views of table mountain.Staff AWESOME Diana i believe a service manager was everywhere and could not have been nicer.The location is great.All in this hotel would help you with a smile and an "it is a plasure" every time.Restaurants EXCELLENT.Nothing left to be said.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
And it certainly is our pleasure to host you in true One&Only fashion – with warmth and genuine hospitality. We are delighted with your review and thank you for taking the time to write about your experience.

Yours in hospitality,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Splendia, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One&Only Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.