We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added One&Only Cape Town to your Saves list
One&Only Cape Town
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Washington, D.C.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Exceptional Hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were very lucky to be upgraded to the Table Mountain Suite. Words can not describe this suite. We had a gigantic balcony with a tremendous view of Table Mountain. The master had a his and hers bathroom. The "hers" bathroom that had a circular floating bathtub that could have accommodated our family of 6. We had 2 toilets in the master. There is a gym, office, and full kitchen. The family room was extremely spacious with a very comfortable sectional. Great dining room for entertaining. We also had an adjoining bedroom. The food was amazing. They were able to provide gluten free options. The breakfast was great for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
What a treat you had surrounded by 316 square meters of luxury and indulgence! Our Table Mountain Suite is the perfect choice for a very comfortable family stay, an indulgent getaway for two or your next serious business trip to impress and entertain clients. Catering to our guest's special requests is what we do best and we look forward to do so again on your next visit.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    93
    22
    11
    16
See reviews for
156
358
16
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at the One & Only Cape Town Hotel for 4 nights at the end of a two week safari tour throughout southern Africa. Our corner room facing the marina on one side and Table Mountain on the other was spectacular: spacious, excellent amenities, including an expresso machine, gorgeous bathroom with numerous closets and shelves, double vanities, rain shower and separate oval bathtub, perfect wireless internet connection, great views from the wide balcony. Everything, from the bathrobes, slippers, towels, linens, lotions and soaps was top of the line, with many special touches - meeting the standards of a Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons.

We were also celebrating a special occasion and the hotel staff went out of their way to make our stay a memorable experience for us. The service was consistent, personalized and accommodating. The staff were gracious, paid attention to details and literally treated us and others in our group as if we were royalty. Rooms were spotless; in fact each day a staff person cleaned the windows and the balcony. Service continued throughout each day, including wonderful nightly turn down service. The hotel provides complimentary limo service to nearby sites.

The concierge and front desk staff were friendly, personable and consistently helpful (thank you, Matt!). The quality and sincerity of the service and the attention to details was five star all the way ... and the best we have experienced, compared to other fine hotels and lodges we have stayed at in the United States and Europe. The level of service truly sets the One & Only Cape Town apart from other similar high-quality hotels. Also, the breakfast buffet that came with our room was simply amazing. We had an excellent dinner and a lunch at the hotel restaurant, Reubens - would highly recommend.

We could see why the Only & Only Cape Town is rated as one of the top hotels in the world. Wonderful and truly memorable experience!

Room Tip: Even the standard rooms are very spacious, perfectly updated and have numerous amenities; most seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We look forward to your next stay, but maybe this time in one of our super spacious, well-appointed suites! We are pleased that we could be part of your special celebration during your visit and our team is thrilled that the personal touches during your stay created a stand out experience for you. Thank you for paying tribute to the team member whom you felt stood out amongst the rest. We are looking forward to many more visits from you at all our beautiful One&Only resorts around the globe, where you will find even more unique and amazing experiences.

Regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uberaba, MG
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I wish I could say some bad things about this place, but sorry... no drawbacks! Location? Perfect
Amazing views from Tabla Mountain.
Service? Discreet and efficient, just as a five star should be!
Rooms? Standard Rooms are huge, but I didn't get the chance to see one as I was double-upgraded to a Grand Luxury Suite (oh well...)
The One&Only is the place to stay while in Cape Town, I just felt I could live there forever!

(One single complaint: The bathtube is more stylishly than it is comfortable, but, what the heck?)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Our spacious, well equipped suites are definitely one of our main features at the resort. It was our pleasure to spoil you and we are pleased that you had an amazing experience. We look forward to creating more everlasting memories with you!

Regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed twice at the one and only capetown during our trip to South Africa .on our first visit of two nights we stayed in a marina mountain room ...which was fairly nice but for the price you pay nothing to write home about .cant compare to any of the other luxury chains like four seasons etc
On our return we called two days before check in to cancel one night of of our two nights but the hotel was very firm with their 7 day cancellation .i tried my best to explain as my children were very tired and not feeling exactly in wonderful form so we thought we would come in for the last night as this would easier with the constant moves and allow them to rest .i did ask the hotel for help with the cancellation ...but in vain .there was absolutely no understanding among the staff spite this.we arrived at the hotel on the 2nd night at in the evening and spoke to them again to reconsider but our efforts were in vain.they gave us our rooms which were on the island and these rooms though more expensive than the ones in the main block were worse.the 12 hours we had in the hotel were terrible ...there was constant noise and people movement above our rooms at 2 and 3 in the morning making it hard to get a good nights sleep as we had a 6 am wake up .also the shower in one of the bathrooms was flooding and the rooms were generally very cold and not warm enough for Cape Town winter
We were glad to leave the next morning and things only were worse as we were slapped with a whole 2 night charge for both rooms despite only staying for 12 hours.i do understand that they have a cancellation policy but a little understanding could be shown.
Not wanting to argue we settled the large bill and left with a distaste ...certainly not wanting to return.we have stayed in many wonderful hotels all over the world but the service and understanding is much greater.would definitely not be looking at one and only anywhere again.however our trip to South Africa was still wonderful with stays in singita le bombo and Delairegraff lodge where the service was fantastic and rooms exceptional

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the hotel and the issues pertaining to the cancelation charges and your final night of stay.

The hotel was able to assist with a waiver of cancelation fees when you contacted our reservations department on the 20th June for your initial booking as the extenuating circumstances of your Visa application for Victoria Falls was noted.
Your reservations confirmation had you booked in 2 different room categories for each stay due to the availability of room types for your chosen dates.

The second request to amend your final arrival date was received by phone from on the 28th June. You requested a waiver of cancelation fees which the hotel was unfortunately unable to accommodate. This was discussed again on the morning of the 29th with you and you further indicated that you accepted the cancelation fees and noted your 17:00 expected arrival time. A further courtesy call was made after your check-in where you indicated that you understood the reasons for the applicable charge.

The report of your faulty aircon was addressed and rectified immediately by our maintenance team and we sincerely apologize for this inconvenience. We were unaware of the other issues mentioned namely the noisy room and the flooding shower, but would have endeavored to respond immediately to these too.

Thank you once again, we appreciate the time taken to highlight your areas of concern which assist us to continuously improve our guest experience.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The One&Only Cape Town touts itself as "urban chic resort" and I would have to agree. We stayed there three days before heading to Sabi Sabi Game Reserve in Kruger and it was a very confortable stay and the service was adequate. The best thing about the hotel was it's location. 25 minutes from the airport and within the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with it's shopping, great dining, and some nightlife. Relaxing on our balcony in the early evening we had a great view of Table Mountain.

Room Tip: Request a "Mountain View".
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
The beauty of our resort, other than the superb location, is the fact that each of our rooms has a spacious balcony. You certainly made the most of your commanding view of Table Mountain and we are so pleased that you left us relaxed and rejuvenated to tackle the rest of your journey.

Regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Bit disappointing for a five star bar. I found the clientele a bit down market and the vibe not great. The best thing about the hotel is the spa which is superb. World class with the Bastien pedicure in the most fabulous setting

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We appreciate your honest feedback. Your comments have been taken up with the relevant management and we look forward to you returning to our One&Only Spa and Vista Bar.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

we missed our late night flight from johannesburg to cape town .. so we took the early morning and we've been only for 15 mins in the hotel .. and the receptionist says " its good that you missed your flight .. we forgot to send you a car last night " ........ i was like : " OK. please take extra care of us we're on our HONEYMOON "

then later that day I cut my toe .. why ??? because there there were broken pieces of glass inside the HOTEL'S SLIPPERS .. we're still in day one by the way.

they didn't clean our balcony for 4 consecutive days .. they ONLY cleaned it ONCE after we asked them. maybe they should change their name to once & only.

3 days in a row ... no complimentary water.


NOW !! WAIT FOR THE BOMB ! being "honeymooners" .. we waited for them to clean our room then we wanted to have a "PRIVATE" moment .. so we did, then suddenly the bell rings .. ok .. we're busy now so we ignored that .. then the supervisor "NORMA" rings the bell again .. we ignored because you know we're kinda busy .. so she enters !!!! we yelled !!! " oh sorry sorry sorry " ... later "NORMA" , GM , her assistant , resort manager said that it's part of their policy to make sure things are ok after cleaning rooms ........ hmmmmmm ... why didn't they mentioned that earlier ?

conclusion :

we didn't feel like we were on a honeymoon .. thank God we've been to four seasons Mauritius b4 that mess.

and by the way .. after all whats mentioned above ... they haven't shown any sort of compensation, just a " we're really sorry " and a fake sad face

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor and for the email that you sent on directly to the Hotel, to which we have responded to you directly in detail.

Our correspondence refers that your travel agent had not pre-arranged airport transfers or notified us of your Honeymoon celebration in advance, but that we were able to arrange these subsequent to you contacting the hotel and on your arrival, and that the appropriate honeymoon amenities were extended to yourself and your wife.

The incident of the broken glass in your slippers and the subsequent injury received is most regrettable and we sincerely apologise for this. It has been addressed with the relevant Heads of Department and flagged with the service staff.

We thank you for raising with our Resort Manager the embarrassing event of the interruption in your room. As noted, the hotel most certainly heeds guest’s requests for privacy and would respect all such requests, specifically in the event of a customary “Do Not Disturb” sign being in place, staff are not permitted to even knock on your door.
Our Housekeeping Supervisory Service prides itself on their attention to detail and the quality assurance that takes place in order to deliver the expected standards to our guests. In terms of the full service provided to your room, which encompasses the housekeeping, mini bar and balcony upkeep, these were overlooked subsequent to the incident as a result of the staff being made aware of your request for privacy. We do apologise for this oversight.

We regret that you did not take up our offer made by the Resort Manager of complimentary couples spa treatments and dinner for 2 in Nobu, but grateful that you did accept the late departure and the complimentary transfer to the airport.

We do appreciate your comments and again offer our most sincere apologies. If any impression of being somewhat dismissive of your concerns was created, this was certainly not intended.

Kind regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One&Only Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.