We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added One&Only Cape Town to your Saves list
One&Only Cape Town
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 4 Nights & Save 25%
Ranked #20 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Belo Horizonte
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excelent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

It is really a five star hotel! Our room was huge, roughly 220 m2: two rooms, two bathroom, living-room, dinner-room, kitchen and a terrace with a view to V&A Waterfront! The service is excelente, the meals - specially the amazing breakfast. All of these for an incredible price! We definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgit P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic feedback! Our friendly, service driven team eagerly awaits your return to the best location in the Mother City
Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    128
    32
    15
    20
See reviews for
199
434
22
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vannes, France
Level Contributor
122 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here on the front end of a 2 week custom designed safari. We LOVE Cape Town and even more we LOVE the One & Only Cape Town. We stayed in a superior island room which was perfectly situated near the pool, the lunch restaurant and the spa. Had a pedicure at the spa and it was fabulous. Our room had a slight view of Table Mountain which was a perk but not that important to us. We loved the access to the pool, since it was snowing at home. All the staff we encountered was incredibly welcoming and kind. The guest relations manager checked in on us to ensure we were having a nice stay. We ate Reubens once and then ordered from there to dine on the terrace of our room one evening. Also ate at Nobu and loved it. The proximity of the hotel to the V&A Waterfront is wonderful. We hired a driver for a half-day to take us to see Boulders Penguin colony and to Hout Bay to see the seals offshore. We also took the "hop-on, hop-off" bus one day (picks up near the hotel) to see the highlights of the city and visit Table Mountain. Next time back, we'll explore Camps Bay area more, as it looked beautiful. All in all, this hotel delivered on everything. It was luxurious, peaceful and very customer service oriented. We will definitely return and recommend it highly to other travelers.

The only reason I didn't give the hotel a 5 out of 5 stars is because the air conditioning in our room broke down on 2 separate occasions and the wifi router had to be changed. The staff did however handle all issues very well and resolved them as quickly as possible.

Room Tip: Island rooms are exceptional and near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgit P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
It is such a pleasure to read your review and to see how you were able to experience only the best that our world class resort and beautiful city has to offer. We are very pleased that the difficulties you encountered did not cloud your experience as it was dealt with swiftly and we are so looking forward to welcome you back and creating more One&Only moments with you.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Thank you One & Only for a wonderful stay. My husband and I treated ourselves to five nights away on our own without the children - it was everything that we needed or wanted. The hotel is of course fabulous and in a perfect location for those who want to explore or get out and about easily. From popping out for a run to shopping or wanting drinks or a meal everything is within easy reach.

We stayed in a Marina Grant suite, quite frankly it was enormous with the luxury of his and hers bathrooms - always helpful! I also noticed that there was a connecting door so if you were staying with children that would make a fabulous arrangement. Service and curtesy of staff was of the highest order in the main. The rooms were immaculate and well serviced twice a day. The gym was fabulously equipped but suffered from the inconsistent level of service from the Personal Trainers. There are no classes and several times that I went into the gym it was unattended. One PT, Ruldoph could not have been more helpful and encouraging but on the other hand the lady in there ignored me on every single occasion that I went in there - we gave off a 'can't be bothered' aura. The spa is calm and treatments good. The big downside with the hotel is that it is probably a pool short. We arrived on a Sunday and it was absolutely packed and difficult to get sunbeds. During the week it was much quieter there was no race to get a sun bed. It would seem, however, that the hotel have an unofficial policy of allowing non guests in to use the facilities if they are quiet which would account for the packed pool over the weekend. When we stayed the hotel was not at full capacity but I heard nightmares about people queuing for beds over Christmas. I am not sure what the full capacity of the hotel is but there is only provision for around say 50 sun beds.

I have only pointed out the downsides though in order to prepare you. I loved my stay and we will be sure to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgit P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your positive and insightful review on your stay with us. We are delighted that we could meet all of your needs as a couple and that our spacious suites with interconnecting rooms have encouraged you to bring your family the next time that you visit. The inconsistency in service that you have experienced from our team in the gym has been taken up and addressed by management to ensure that all our guests receive the same attention that they deserve and that you experienced throughout our resort. With respect to the swimming pool, as it was busy when you were there we apologize that it took time to get the sun beds you needed. We do have 110 loungers available as our standard for this time of year to ensure that we can accommodate the needs of every guest in-house.
Your valuable input will assist us to serve you even better on your next visit and we look forward to welcoming you back with you family in the near future.

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the One & Only. The rooms are very spacious and the views are lovely. I found the food to be slightly expensive and there was not a huge selection. Not a very innovative hotel but real quality and old school luxury hotel. Not sure if I would stay at the hotel for pleasure though. i also had a spa treatment, the spa is very relaxing and the therapists are very good.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgit P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We are thrilled that you had such a positive experience at our resort! With two world class restaurants in-house and our poolside dining area, we pride ourselves in offering and array of cuisine and we hope you will afford us the opportunity to introduce you to them when you return. What a pleasure to know that our spa therapists could create true One&Only moments for you.

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was our first trip to South Africa and so having stayed in a One and Only in Dubai decided to chose the Cape Town O&O and we are pleased that we did.
The service, rooms,food and facilities are all that you expect from a O&O. Great views of Table mountain and the harbour. The food at the pool and Ruebens restaurant was excellent. We agree with the earlier comment about sun bed comfort but got around the problem by having 2 cushions
no problem for the staff.
The closeness of the V&A waterfront is a bonus. A five minute walk and you are among all of the bars restaurant and shopping. In the evening there is always live outdoor entertainment and wherever we went we felt quite safe.
We will definitely be returning to South Africa and certainly stay ant the one and Only. Whenever we think of the holiday we remember the smiles and friendliness of the staff

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 15 are on the corner and you then get a view of the harbour and Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgit P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We are thrilled with your positive review and thank you for choosing the One&Only Cape Town as your destination of choice. Our facilities and our location is unparalleled to anything you will find in Cape Town and our smiling team members look forward to see you soon.

Warm and friendly regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We arrived last Wednesday after a fabulous 2 week Garden Route Experience where we stayed in some supposedly 5 star hotels (they were far from it) Our expectations were slightly tainted by our previous encounters....we needn't have had any such concerns....... This hotel is a proper 5/6 star establishment.....staff who bent over backwards to make our CT experience that bit better ( Chris the concierge to name but one was so good) The main difference between this hotel and the others was MANGEMENT !!!! It was clear who was in charge of every department and it showed. All in all if you're in Cape Town stay here, it's worth it!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgit P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for acknowledging the effort of our dedicated team of managers and colleagues who are absolutely thrilled that they could blow you away and exceed your expectations. We pride ourselves in touching every guest at every level of our organization and we would love to have the opportunity to spoil you again!

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week at The One&Only, staff are great, very friendly, helpful but professional at the same time. Great accommodation and the pool area with pool side restaurant is relaxing with plenty of sun loungers and excellent service. Rubens restaurant is outstanding super food reasonably priced. Only negative is the cushions on the sun loungers, they could be more comfortable and tend to sink south gradually so you end up moving down the lounger. Small issue but needs sorting. This must be the best hotel in Cape Town,,second time we have stayed and we will be back !

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgit P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Our team is thrilled that you returned to One&Only Cape Town as your destination of choice! Our culinary team sets out to treat and delight our guests from the pool side through to our two dynamic restaurants in the resort. Thank you for sharing your positive experiences and suggestions. We will make work of them to ensure your utmost comfort at the pool side on your next visit.

Regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#8 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,336 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#23 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,124 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#29 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,080 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#25 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 973 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Splendia, Agoda, South African Hotels and Jetsetter so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One&Only Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.