We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a stunning hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added One&Only Cape Town to your Saves list
One&Only Cape Town
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 4 Nights & Save 25%
Ranked #20 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Krugersdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a stunning hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

This was one of the most beautiful hotels that I have ever stayed in. The location is brilliant, close to the V&A Waterfront. Spaceous, clean, friendly staff and the food is first class. The bathroom is heavenly! The view on the one side of the hotel faces Table Mountain and the other side of the hotel faces the spa area and the most beautiful, tranquil garden. You can also see Cape Town Harbour from this side. Can recommend this any day!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    128
    32
    15
    20
See reviews for
199
434
22
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
202 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I attended a wedding here in February and the hotel was beautiful - it's gorgeously decorated and in a truly impressive spot with views of Table Mountain the background.

The menus were great - the cocktails were delicious and the food at the wedding was really well presented and very good! I highly recommend the rose mojito...

The bedrooms are large and well decorated - very modern with really nice and large bathrooms. I'm not sure that all rooms have this view, but some certainly have gorgeous views over Table Mountain and I'd definitely recommend asking for this! We also got a sneak peak at the honeymoon suite (where the bride and groom stayed) and it was beyond impressive!

The pool area is gorgeous - it's a huge free-form pool which you could easily spend an entire day relaxing in/around.

It's a gorgeous hotel in a great area, walking distance to lots of greats restaurants and bars at the waterfront.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

What a fantastic hotel, and as 5 star prices go, what excellent value for money.

It was our first trip to South Africa and we didn't really know what to expect. We'd chosen Cape Town as there was plenty to do and also because of it's relative safety. We'd been unsure which of a few hotels to pick but without doubt we made the right choice.

The hotel is at the V&A Waterfront and is a 5 minute walk from the restaurants and shops. It means a walk along the road that leads into the V&A but this is a very safe walk in what is a controlled area and it is as central as pretty much any hotel if you are going to be spending a bit of time at the waterfront.

The staff at the hotel were all excellent. Service around the pool could have been a bit better, but I think that is probably being overly picky.

We had a standard room but it was very large and the views over Table Mountain were simply stunning. These rooms are in the main building which is only a couple of minutes walk from the pool and spa.

Breakfast at Reubans was top notch and again, the service in there was everything you would want it to be. We also had a meal at Nobu one night. The food in there was also superb and although expensive by SA standards, it is probably the cheapest Nobu you could visit. I'd highly recommend it.

Getting around is easy enough either by taxi or using the open top bus which departs from right outside the hotel.

If you are going to Cape Town, either as a holiday or on business, I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: All standard rooms have wonderful views overlooking Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Arrived on 11 February after an overnight flight from Heathrow, from the time we arrived by car to the time we left 2 days later we had excellent service from all members of staff involved. Our first floor corner room was very spacious, loved the shower. Thank you for making my birthday special and for a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We loved our stay at this One & Only. It was a beautiful hotel that was in a great location across the street from the V & A Waterfront shopping area, yet it was a little oasis in the center of Cape Town. The room was comfortable and immaculate with a large bathroom and terrace overlooking the back of the hotel with a stunning view of Table Mountain. The breakfast buffet was sumptuous and the staff was always courteous and helpful. I had to terminate my reservation unexpectedly and the manager was kind enough not to penalize me in any way. That was something we valued and appreciated. For a large hotel you felt that you always received personal attention and that counts for a lot.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Stayed Feb2012 for 3 nights at the One&Only in Capetown.
The hotel is located directly in the newly shaped Cape Town Marina at the foot of the famous table montain.
Large building complex with additional island rooms surrounding the back side of the hotel.

Arrival:
was a bit hectic, a lot going on at the receptions. But very friendly staff to help you out.
Stay:
we stayed on the island itself with a heated pool and a very nice Spa facility.
The roam was very spacious, modern african style furniture, an individual balcony and a very large bathroom. Espresso Machine, Flatscreen, iPod Radio and large cupboards.
Dining:
Only Nobu restaurant in Africa is located at the ground floor of the main building, aswell as a Reuben's restaurant (SA top chef with another restaurant in Franschoek).
My tip for good quality food is the Isola restaurant next to the pool at the islands. Lighter dishes with a very nice interior to enjoy a resort style stay.

In a nutshell: pricy, but a suberb location which allows you to enjoy a relaxing stay although you are in the midst of the busy city of Cape Town. (Therefore "only" 4 points in the category Value).
A lot of places are in walking distance and I highly recommend the Aquarium next door, a trip up to the table mountain and a ride along the coast line up to Cape Of Good Hope.

Room Tip: If you want to wake up and see the table mountain in the morning, do not stay on the island! Your vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#8 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,337 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#23 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,125 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#29 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,080 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#25 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Splendia, South African Hotels and Jetsetter so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One&Only Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.