We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is what I call 5*” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added One&Only Cape Town to your Saves list
One&Only Cape Town
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Hermanus, South Africa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“this is what I call 5*”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Had my doubts about staying there again after last years flop but got a truly positive surprise.
It seems as if the hotel got a mental make over - the whole atmosphere has changed to the better, to the much better.

Starting with reception, over to the rooms. The fantastic pool is a one of a kind. Th ebreakfast buffet!!! I love a good breakfast and this one here is 'the one to marry'.

The kids club. Gosh, they even remembered my son's name from previous times.

The staff: really, really nice and caring. Everything at this hotel is absolutely perfect!!!

Room Tip: Island, its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    93
    22
    11
    16
See reviews for
156
358
16
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

First, the good points. The rooms in the main building (where we stayed) are very well designed, have good views up to Table Mountain, and are spacious. We stayed for a week over Christmas and New Year and so we had plenty of time to spot any problems and there really werent any. The gym (and its staff) are excellent. Service is (generally) very good (though occasionally it is very poor indeed). Isola, the restaurant by the bar (and its staff), are excellent. Kids Club was reported by our niece to be brilliant.
The problems are when the hotel doesnt get it right it gets it wrong badly. The spa which is generally very good (excellent massages) was really let down when on two occasions there were no towels or robes in the men's changing rooms (and no-one around to ask for them). Restuarant Reservations staff are unreliable (we had endless conversations trying to establish whether or not we had a table at Nobu on New Year's Eve after we were given contradictory information) although the two Concierge staff are superb. Nobu itself is the poorest of all the Nobus we have eaten it: the staff didn't know or understand the menu and the food itself was disappointing (even though it was by far the most expensive we ate in S Africa). Reuben's also suffers from its location (both Nobu and Reubens are in double volumes sections of the hotel next to the bar and suffer from feeling lofty). The location of the hotel itself is good in some respects (close to the waterfront) but you do feel quite hemmed in and overlooked by the apartments in the basin.
All in all: not as goodd as it could (and should) be: and certainly not a Six Star Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

This is our third Xmas/New Year at the One&Only, it nearly did not happen!. In 2010 the property was not worthy of calling itself a 6 star hotel..........Wow what a difference a year makes. We cannot say enough positive things about the hotel . Let us start with the most gracious welcome from the moment you enter through those magnificent front doors. There were cool towels and a refreshing drink waiting for us whilst the check - in was quick,efficient and effortless.

We asked for the same room we had last year on the 4th floor which again was given to us without any problem. The rooms are bright,airy and have all the ammenties you would expect from a de-luxe hotel. The housekeeping department were so helpful when we asked for an Iron and Ironing board they told us to keep it for the duration of our stay incase we needed it again.

The Breakfast has improved greatly from last year. The selection of food is superb, the service is outstanding and nothing is too much trouble for the many staff on hand to ensure everyone is catered for.
Generally the food throughout the hotel has gone up a level, especially around the pool (more of that further on).
The Vista Lounge for drinks/cocktails really has livened up with decent music ... not that monontous droaning stuff!. The staff smile and are so helpful. One negative I hated the spicy snacks that were served with the drinks! however, the Olives were fabulous.

Now we come to the Pool area which in 2010 was a disaster, not enough loungers, no staff by the pool,dreadful service even when you did find someone to assit you. I am now delighted to say that our comments were taken on board last year and this year is just NOT comparable.
The hotel has extended the Sun bathing area and added at least 50 extra loungers, which are most comfortable... there are staff stations all around the pool area with plenty of staff who will spray your Sunglasses,turn your lounger around mid-day so you get the sun all day, they offer complimentary smoothies in the morning and fruit skewers in the afternoon. The pool menu is just right with light snacks i.e. sandwiches,pizzas and fruit platters... excellent. The Isola pool restaurant offers the same but with some welcome additions Burgers, catch of the day and the most amazing Tuna Nicoise... .

We used the Business Centre and Linda who runs the centre is truly personable and so helpful.

The staff at Concierge were very good and well informed of what to do and what not to do in Cape Town. They managed to get us into Restaurants that we had no chance of getting into although we tried from London to get reservations. The hotel car service is really very good with uniformed drivers and top of the range Mercedes cars.
Before we end this thoughally derserving revue of the hotel we would like to thank the following personnel for looking after us so beautifully........... Nick,Devyn,Queeneth,Mary,Diana,Marcus,Gerhard,Linda,Nigel,Denzyl,Shirley and Fiorintina.
There are so many staff that we have not mentioned but without exception they were all wonderful.
Finally, Mr C Bennett you have done an outstanding job in the most difficult of circumstances.Your expectation of service levels are so high, we truly believe you have achieved them.
We look forward to our 4th Year this coming Xmas......... Bring it on.
Fiona/Sue

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed. Some people may want to stay on the Island villas by the pool area, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This is a very slickly run hotel with some of the best staff you'll experience in South Africa. From the moment you pull up the front door, the friendly yet efficient service is wonderful. Nothing is too much. We had a room on the Island. The two story buildings are handy for the pool. The rooms are a very good size and well planned out with plenty of storage space, good mini-bar, very comfy large bed. TV was standard size, but I thought a bit small for the size of the room (nightmare control unit - you need a degree to work it). Little balcony with table and chairs & nothingy type of view of hotel and trees. Excellent bathroom with wonderful shower, separate loo. Wife thought bath was uncomfortable to lie in. Twin basins and nice toiletries. We sat by the enormous pool with lots of large older men with their nubile lady friends, all very amusing. The pool service is top notch, even filling our wine glasses as we wallowed in the pool. The main lobby bar was a buzzy place in the evening and it has a bit of a view of table mountain in the distance. We didn't use the restaurants - Nobu and Reubens but they were busy too. The One & Only is a new(ish) hotel in a great location in the Waterfront and handy for the centre of town (we used the hotel limos to take us in), but the surrounding residential apartment blocks make you feel a bit hemmed in. I would definitely recommend a main hotel room on a high floor for a good view. Oh, but the service - it was perfect.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location and is large and impressive. Our Island Suite was large and impressive. The bar was large and impressive. The swimming pool was large and impressive, The breakfast buffet was large and impressive. We did not eat at either NoBu or Reubens but they looked to be in keeping with the hotel. Not much more to say really.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snoqualmie, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

My wife and I celebrated our wedding annivesary staying at the resort for 3 nights in Dec 2011. The reception and valet staff as mentioned by previous review was excellent. The island suite we stayed in was large, private and very well appointed. Rose petals and champagne and canapes greeted us in the evenings. Local birds chirped in the morning almost as if we still at the safari. Breakfast at Ruebens was great as was dinner at Nobu's. My wife and I had massages in the spa and it was heavenly. This is the best hotel we have stayed in AND WE HAVE STAYED AT SOME OF THE BEST IN THE WORLD.

Room Tip: Suite 710 in Island
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

My first visit back to Cape Town was in December 2011 and we stayed in this grat hotel for 5 nights. We booked an island suite and although foreign visitors may prefer a view of the mountain or the marina, we enjoyed the privacy offered by the room as well as the proximity to the pool.

The staff were always friendly and attentive, especially the front office and valet parking staff. It was quite cool to be picked up at the waterfront in a Bentley after a busy day of retail therapy as well.

I'll definitely stay here again when I go back to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Island suites are private and on the ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One&Only Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.