We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Visit Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added One&Only Cape Town to your Saves list
One&Only Cape Town
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Wales
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A Must Visit Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed here for 6 days on our honeymoon after getting married at the ST Geran in Mauritius. This hotel is outstanding from the time you arrive at the airport to the time you leave and far exceeds the St geran for quality and ambience.
Hotel rooms are spacious, modern and go for the Marina Rooms Table Mountain view as this is incredible. Service and food were very good, and the hotel is in one of the best locations you could ask for, walk to the Shops, Bars etc, all high quality and average prices not a rip off, the hotel prices are excelent no rip off bar charges and tis encourages people to stay at the hotel bar.
Pool is heated and several celebs stay at this hotel and mix with all.
We never go back to the same place twice as too many places in the world to see, but we both agreed this hotel is special and we would not hesitate to go back here as so easy to get around Cape Town from it.
The hotel made our honeymoon so special and we would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Chose a Marina Mountain view room, much better than the Island suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    93
    22
    11
    16
See reviews for
156
358
16
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UAE
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Someone recommended afternoon tea at the One & Only and unfortunately we took their advice.

Here are some comments about our afternoon tea at the One & Only. In a word, disappointing. We went on a Sunday afternoon in August.The choice of food was limited and my partner is a vegetarian, and had only one choice of sandwich. When we asked if the chef could make a cheese or salad sandwich they eventually brought us a small glass with some lettuce and a cherry tomato. We ordered two different types of tea and the waitress delivered the same tea for two. There was no atmosphere and few other guests. There is a view of Table Mountain but it's over some rather ugly blocks of apartments. Our experience at the One & Only was one of the low points of our trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

I would highly recommend the One & Only Capetown. Booked on Luxury Link and got an upgrade at check-in; the Marina view rooms are the best. Amazing views of Table Mountain! Excellent service from everyone at the concierge desk (Linda in particular) and the rest of the wonderful staff! We even split our 4 day reservation into two parts so we could visit the Winelands for one night. They were happy to oblige and even made some suggestions as to where to eat and visit on our trip to S. Africa's beautiful wine region. Would absolutely go back and recommend to anyone visiting Capetown. Great location as well.

Room Tip: Marina View. The suites are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This is a very nice hotel, rooms are spacious and the view of the clouds topping Table Mountain is beautiful. Breakfast buffet is OK, egg station a bit disappointing, only fried eggs.. The bar/lounge is very nice and staff is very attentive. We returned late one night and decided to order burgers, they came raw and the salad was not properly washed. The bar staff was very apologetic and it was taken off the bill. We had all our other meals out. Overall a very nice hotel at a good price as we were there for the boat show, which was right outside the hotel door.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We spent 2 nights at the One and Only hotel in Cape Town from 17th sep 11 and was very impressed with the service and quality of accommodation. On arrival we were told that we were to be upgraded to a deluxe suite for no apparent reason. It was a great start to our South African experience!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Only just got round to writing about how good this Hotel was when we stayed there in August.
We have now done most of the One and Only hotels around the world and this was one of the best. Outstanding service from start to end! From the maids to the waiter and waitress staff. This knocks spots of any hotel in the caribbean, and we have done most of the top ones. Fantastic food, Fantastic staff, and the best service you will ever get. We couldn't get our son out of the kids club it was so good. We definately would choose this hotel if ever we return to Cape Town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011 via mobile

It's a good hotel but it was meant to be a really fantastic hotel. Perhaps expectations were set too high, but for a chain with it's reputation I would have expected the attention to detail would have been present.

I arrived early and an early check in had been arranged ahead of time. The room was not ready and I had to sit in the bar area for an hour (I was given a complementary drink). I was told it would be a short time, but nobody informed me of the status and I had to keep asking. Everytime it was a new story for somebody.

Service in the bar area and at breakfast was not particularly responsive.

Japanese restaurant came highly recommended, but was not wonderful - guess I am spolied living in Asia.

So nothing really bad and all was up to an international hotel standard, but did not live up to the One and Only reputation.

I will go back to the Table Bay Hotel in the same Waterfront area next time.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Splendia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo, Jetsetter and South African Hotels so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One&Only Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.