We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“December in Cape Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Grill

City Grill
Shop 155, Victoria Wharf | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central, South Africa
+27 21 421 9820
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Barbecue, Hamburgers, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Doing business, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Established in 1999, the City Grill is the oldest steakhouse in the V&A Waterfront. We invite you to discover a truly South African experience… so gather family and friends for a feast of flavour at the City Grill! A place where food has substance, big appetites are essential and South Africa is the flavour of the month, every month!
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“December in Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Finally somewhere that can cook a wonderful fillet. Absolutely perfect. Good service too. If you order meat it should be good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Hi

Thank you for the wonderful feedback.
We appreciate the support.

Regards
Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    170
    54
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland
Top Contributor
351 reviews 351 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 184 cities Reviews in 184 cities
389 helpful votes 389 helpful votes
“A terrific dinner at the V&A Wharf!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We four (two couples) had docked at Cape Town earlier in the day, and after 3 weeks eating mainly cruise ship food (except for restaurants in the occasional port), we found ourselves at the Victoria & Alfred Wharf (being the tourist Mecca in Cape Town), surrounded by a myriad of great restaurants ... and no booking on a busy Saturday night. We wanted - needed - to eat indoors, as the wind was not only quite cold, but also very strong, blowing even crockery off the al fresco tables. Belthazar (another meat restaurant in the V&A) had been highly recommended to us, but we had no chance of getting in there. However, City Grill was happy to take us in out of the wind and seat us in their waiting area, even though there wasn't a table immediately available. The doorman assured us that, contrary to assertions as regards Belthazar's pre-eminance in the steak department, City Grill was the best meat restaurant on the V&A Wharf.
And he was right!
We 4 had a great meal there - springbok carpaccio, calamari, chicken wings, soup, spare ribs, beef steak and ostrich steak. My choice was the springbok carpaccio and the (orange-flavoured) ostrich steak - both of which were brilliant. My wife thought her beef steak was excellent, and our friends raved about the ribs, and continue to claim that the nougat ice cream was the best ever tasted.
The wait for a table for four was really quite short - not even enough time to go through the whole menu properly before we were escorted to our table. Darlington was our waiter, and he did a wonderful job. And, compared to prices we pay in Brisbane, Australia, this was tremendous value - AUD$183 (plus tip), including drinks, for 4 people with 2-3 courses each.
A highly recommended venue!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Hi

Thank you for the wonderful feedback.
We appreciate the support and amazing review.

Regards
Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great ice cream [and everything else]”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Four of us tried several restaurants one evening and couldn't get in anywhere due to evryone wanting to eat inside due to strong winds outside that were blowing plates, cutlery off tables with force.
Finally City Grill invited us in and after a 5 minute wait we were allocated a table.
Even though the place was crowded the service was excellent and hats off to Darlington our waiter who attended us beautifully.
The wines were excellent, the food exceptional and the desert was a nougat icecream which I have to say was the best icecream I've ever eaten in my whole life..

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Hi

Thank you for the wonderful review.
We appreciate the positive feedback.

Regards
Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Meat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is a great place to eat meat, and what a variety. Great service, great wine list and very good value, even at Tourist Rates!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Hi

Thank you for the wonderful review.
We appreciate the great feedback.

Regards
Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Thank you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I just want to compliment Precious on her service last night. She had a warm smile and was very proffesional but yet charming. We brought a German guest with us and he tried the ostrich steak that was cooked to perfection. We had steak which was very tender and tasty. We have brought tourist to you previously and they always come back to "City Grill" Your management was also very friendly and helpful. The wine steward was also friendly and knew what he was talking about. Well done for good service!!!!!!! We will be back with more tourists!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hi

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the evening with us and that Precious looked after all your needs on the night.

Hope to see you back at City Grill Steakhouse in the near future.

Kind Regards
Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Grill also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.