We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rouge on Rose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rouge on Rose to your Saves list
Rouge on Rose
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   25 Rose Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Town
1 review
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

What an experience! Rouge on Rose was truly a very pleasurable weekend stay and I will definitely go back there again for a relaxing breakaway! What was most impressing to me was the rooms, I felt like I came home after a night out. The rooms have a very warm and cozy feeling to it, welcoming you in! To the staff I would like to say thank you for a very,very nice weekend! I would definitely recommend Rouge on Rose to anybody who wishes to visit the Mother City! I wish I could stay forever..

Thank you very much!

Jean

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    73
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
61
306
83
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
windhoek
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

On arrival, the street was quiet, the exterior was subtle, I had seen the pictures on the website and thought "Why not, looks worth a try". As I entered I felt somewhat relieved, a great atmosphere and what a great surprise it was, Ursula the host was FAB !! , friendly & helpful, the rooms were inviting and very comfortable. A home from home with a boutique twist ! And as a bonus - The breakfast in the Cafe was a great spot to meet the locals and hear all the gossip :-)
I'll be back to the "gem in the city" soon :-)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

Friendly, personal service that still respect my personal space. Lovely surprise to find something different that the normal guest house/hotel. Rooms are a good mix between hotel and self-catering! Large and all the facilities I required. I did find parking a bit problematic but after chatting to management, resolved!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloubergrant
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

Rouge on Rose is the perfect getaway for international and local visitors. We spent a night there for my birthday and it was an amazing experience! It really made it a special day for us! The location is absolutely stunning and the hospitality amazing...perfect for a party night in Cape Town city or a relaxing weekend away relaxing in the beautiful luxury rooms. We loved the breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

This hotel is situated in a part of cape town that is very close by to everything, which makes it a safe. We loved our visit to Cape Town and this hotel was fabulous in all ways.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

I like to stay in small , different, beautiful hotels and was not dissapointed with this newly opened ' bijou' Situated in the pituresque Bookaap, and run by a mother and son team. Rooms are big , like a studio and different from the usual planning. Very modern with good taste.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

The Rouge on Rose is a new property and is well appointed with superb details.

Ursula & Michel are impeccable hosts and the property location ( in the Malay quarter) makes it a special place.

Highly recommend it and we intend to return on our next trip.

  • Liked — The room amenities and decor
  • Disliked — Being in the city and lower floor: road noise
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rouge on Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rouge on Rose

Address: 25 Rose Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rouge on Rose 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel is the latest addition in up market Cape Town boutique hotels offering 9 suites in the Mother City. Painstakingly remodeled and redesigned with the sussed world traveler in mind, Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel offers an unsurpassed home from home feeling being there for the weary business traveler or the tourist exploring Cape Town.Taking cues from the eclectic nature of the Bo Kaap itself, its "shabby chic" ambiance combines opulence with restraint, bohemia with practicality and above all tranquility in the midst of the bustling cityscape, with South African charm and hospitality coupled with contemporary "found styles" a chic haven in the heart of the city.Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel in Cape Town offers a choice between en-suite Deluxe Suites or en-suite Self-Catering Suties with flat screen TV with DVD player, satellite TV, wireless internet, bar fridge, complimentary tea/coffee, hairdryers, air conditioning, safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rouge on Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rouge On Rose Hotel Cape Town Central
Rouge On Rose Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rouge on Rose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.