We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rouge on Rose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rouge on Rose to your Saves list
Rouge on Rose
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   25 Rose Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 152 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Campinas, SP
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“What a stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Everything is perfect. Location is very central, easy to go everywhere. The lady who run the place and her son are so nice and, with the staff, will do everything they can to make your stay better. The decoration of the place is fantastic, both in the reception/breakfast room and inside the rooms. Going down for breakfast was the same thing as going to a very good restaurant, they make recipes from some chefs and everything is made to perfection. Free wireless worked very well. The only thing to complain is that we couldn’t stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    73
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
61
306
83
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a fantastic stay in Rouge on Rose. The hotel is located in the nice, central area of Bo Kaap with a spectacular view of the colourful houses and the mountain. The room was spacious and fabulous in every aspect and the service and hospitality beyond compare. Ursula and Michel (the owners) showed real proof of service excellence and made us fell very much at home. The home made breakfasts were absolutely delicious!

We could easily find safe parking for our rental car right outside the hotel. Good restaurants were within walking distance.

The only thing I found a bit odd, was that there was no door to the bath room section. To have the shower and the generous bathtub in a doorless room is fine by me, but I would have preferred to have the toilet in a more private setting.

I will definitely stay there next time in Cape Town!
Annicka
Sweden

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Rouge on Rose was the ideal place for my business trip. I spent five days here (May 2013), which included a weekend. Ursula made me feel right at home when I arrived.

The room included a living room that was uniquely decorated with modern furniture and cultural pieces. I also had a great view of the colorful Bo Kaap homes. The bedroom was separated from the living room and included a king sized bed. The room also has a shower in the corner of the room whilst the toilet is in a separate space with a door. It was funny to have the shower in the room, but since I was staying by myself it wasn't an issue. It was a bit funny when my friend came to stay for the weekend, but we decided to just take turns using the showering/bedroom space ;)

The breakfasts are also masterfully made. I tended to go for the "Brekkie", which wasn't just eggs, bacon, bread, and tomatoes. It was artfully plated and delicious every time!

Michel gave great advice on how to maximize my two free days (we went to Franschoek and Cape Pointe).

Both Ursula and Michel were very hospitable and just made the entire stay really comfortable! I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

A lovely and expansive room with panoramic views of the colourful Bokaap houses and the mountain beyond and a luxurious bathroom with a shower and glorious free standing bath. I stayed in room 302 and I had a lovely king bed with fabulous linen and a table to work or eat dinner at and plenty of space to do the tango should I fancy. Friends stayed in 301 and 201 and they had a lounge, with a small area to prepare dinner but a much smaller bathroom with only a shower (no bath). The breakfasts were delicious. As the staff told me - the omelets baked and served in a ceramic dish with crispy bacon, cream chesse and mushrooms suits the French; the French toast appeals to the Americans (it is deliciously sweet, dripping in maple syrup, walnuts and cream cheese) and the standard bacon and eggs is generally chosen by the British and South Africans - there is also a healthy option. I decided to try them all and they shouldn’t be missed no matter what your nationality. The staff are all incredibly friendly and helpful, the hotel is immaculate. My only very small suggestion is the addition of a good latte although they are on offer next door in either direction. A superb stay I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: For a very good view and a bath choose a room that last number is 2 For a lounge choose a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Rouge on Rose and we are looking forward to stay there again. The hotel is ideally located; the staff was very friendly and always available to help and give tips for restaurants and places to visit in town. Ursula, the owner, was serving excellent breakfast and made our mornings special. The room was spacious, clean and with artistic touch and with exceptional view to Bo Kaap.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IJsselstein, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is ideally located close to the city centre and within walking distance of the restaurants on Long Street. You can also walk to the waterfront although in that case, you'll need to take a taxi home. That is no problem because Ursula has an agreement with a taxi-company that comes to pick you up and drives you home for 20 rand.
The rooms are very spacious and give you the feeling as if you have your own appartement in Cape Town.
The breakfast is restaurant-worthy and freshly prepared for you exactly the way you like it. Talking about food : in the six days we stayed here, Ursula got us into the finest restaurants in town. Because of her connections, she even got us into Test Kitchen on really short notice !
If we return to Cape Town, we will definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Simply the best is the only way to describe my three week stay at Rouge on Rose.
The bright, airy, spacious, beautifully appointed suites have that extra special touch of someone who cares. The large beds with crisp white linen are very comfortable, the bathroom with its large walk in rain shower is luxurious and very different, the small kitchen equipped with a fridge, microwave, utensils and a sink is perfect for whipping up a snack if you don't feel like going out.
Super-fast Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and the free use of a computer in the reception area is very convenient.
The beautifully presented breakfasts, expertly prepared by Mr. T or Ritesh, are delicious especially the French Toast and Omelettes so very different to the usual hotel fare.
From my arrival to my departure nothing was too much trouble for Ursula and Michel whether it was booking tours, calling for a taxi, recommending restaurants, things to do or just taking a moment to ask how I was doing, this warm, caring mother and son team along with Angie and the rest of the staff are certainly what makes Rouge on Rose a cut above the rest.
This small, intimate Boutique Hotel conveniently located in the heart of the city amongst the colourful houses in the historic Bo-Kaap must be the best value in Cape Town and I cannot recommend it highly enough I will definitely return on my next visit to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 203 and 302 both excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rouge on Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rouge on Rose

Address: 25 Rose Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rouge on Rose 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel is the latest addition in up market Cape Town boutique hotels offering 9 suites in the Mother City. Painstakingly remodeled and redesigned with the sussed world traveler in mind, Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel offers an unsurpassed home from home feeling being there for the weary business traveler or the tourist exploring Cape Town.Taking cues from the eclectic nature of the Bo Kaap itself, its "shabby chic" ambiance combines opulence with restraint, bohemia with practicality and above all tranquility in the midst of the bustling cityscape, with South African charm and hospitality coupled with contemporary "found styles" a chic haven in the heart of the city.Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel in Cape Town offers a choice between en-suite Deluxe Suites or en-suite Self-Catering Suties with flat screen TV with DVD player, satellite TV, wireless internet, bar fridge, complimentary tea/coffee, hairdryers, air conditioning, safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rouge on Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rouge On Rose Hotel Cape Town Central
Rouge On Rose Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rouge on Rose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.