We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional rooms, great breakfast till 12pm!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Upperbloem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Upperbloem to your Saves list
Upperbloem
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Upper Bloem Street, Cape Town Central 1700, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Functional rooms, great breakfast till 12pm!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Upperbloem offers functional rooms with simple furniture. I think this is something where a bit more love into detail could be put. We had the balcony room with a wonderful view on Cape Town, that i would definitely recommend to book. However, the room is next to the shared breakfast area / kitchen, which gets very noisy after 8 o'clock in the morning. Please also be aware of the muezzin at about 6 o'clock in the morning which will wake you up with a lound noise every morning. The breakfast is really great, from little baked sweets to cheese, ham, eggs, fruit etc...all you can eat without having the owners around you and watching you all the time...relaxted! :-)
I think this is a great option for backpackers and people who are looking for value-for-money options in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Balcony with view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    45
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
121
21
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Considering the rate, Upperbloem is a steal! Our room was clean & spacious. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was small but had many options! My only complaints would be the location and Internet. The place itself is very secure and safe. The surrounding area is sketchy. Don't go out at night. We had to take a cab or bus anywhere because restaurants and attractions were not near by. But the cab fare was only about $5 so it wasn't too bad. Upperbloem has Internet but only in the dining area. We stayed outside of the main building and had to go between locations to get online. Overall though we ad a wonderful experience and woud not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

A great place. Katrin is lovely and will ensure your stay is perfect. she also perfectly advises on whatever you want. The guest house is really friendly and perfectly located with a great view over the ocean, the city as well as Table mountain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Owner was extremely helpful & hospitable, which made our stay very enjoyable! View from balcony is superb, cant get anything better than that. Rooms are very clean and pleasant.
If ur driving, don't leave anything in the car when parked along the road outside.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rural Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were very happy here--our room was comfortable, breakfast was delicious (quite a spread!), and we enjoyed having access to the kitchen in the afternoons and evenings. Green Market Square was about a 10 minute walk, and it took us a little less than 45 minutes to walk to V&A Waterfront. The view was fantastic (though it wasn't always fun driving up the big hill on the narrow road without good visibility). The only thing that was less than desirable was that the doors were very loud and slammed a lot. I think that could be solved by replacing the doors or hanging signs reminding people to shut doors quietly rather than letting them slam closed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The biggest plus of this place is definitely the view. Location is also great, walking distance within most attractions in Cape Town city center. But even as local South Africans we did not walk to the city center after dark. But taxis are cheap so that should not stop you.
Breakfast was lovely and Katrin very helpful. The shared kitchen has everything you need (couldn't find a microwave though), but if others cook you will smell it in your bedroom. Only minus was the on-street parking in a small, slightly dodgy, street.
Would definitely recommend Upperbloem, good value for money

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I really can't rate this place highly enough. I arrived late at night so couldn't really get a feel of the area but the next morning when I stepped out on the balcony and had Table Mountain right in front of me I was gob smacked. Katrin couldn't be any friendlier or helpful if she tried!!! Table Mountain's 15 mins away, the waterfront's about the same distance and Long Street's a 5 min walk.......you couldn't ask for a better location. I need to back to Cape Town and I know this is the place I'll be staying.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Upperbloem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upperbloem

Address: 8 Upper Bloem Street, Cape Town Central 1700, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#50 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Upperbloem 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Upperbloem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upperbloem Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upperbloem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.