We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dock House Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Dock House Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Dock House Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I spent 5 amazing days at this hotel. The location is fabulous.The room was stunning really tastefully done. And I had a beautiful view of the waterfront. Their breakfast was delicious. I loved their turndown service. Plus the staff is very helpful. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Mariam

Thank you very much for the kind words, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Dock House and we hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    9
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
80
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I was disappointed by my experience at the Cape Town Hotel. We chose it because it was very safe (a five-minute walk from the V&A Waterfront). It was good from that regard, and the rooms are beautifully appointed. However, there were a number of drawbacks. Because it is an old building, there is little soundproofing. We were staying over a public holiday and weekend and the music playing every night at the Waterfront was very loud in our room. Also, the water tanks (there is a separate one for each room) are ridiculously small. The hot water in our shower ran out partway through one shower, let alone having enough water for another shower. They weren't particularly long showers, either - we got a note of apology from the manager which mentioned that they had had problems if someone had a full bath and a shower, but we didn't have a bath at all, let alone a full one! There were also other non-five star touches, such as the amenities (like soap) not being replaced when used.

We were also unhappy with some aspects of the service. Checkin and out are done in your room - when we checked out it required a total of five phone calls to get someone to come and do the checkout process and to pick up our luggage. At 4.30 am and anxious to get to the airport, this was an aggravation we did not need.

Had this been a three-star hotel, I wouldn't have expected anything different. But the Dock House is listed as five star and is certainly expensive enough to be one. It just wasn't up to this standard. On my stay I noticed plenty of other hotels a safe distance from the Waterfront. On my next trip one of those will be getting my business.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Good day

Thank you for having taken the time to write a review in respect of your stay at Dock House Boutique Hotel. This gives me the opportunity to monitor our service to you, the guest as we value your feedback.

I have taken note of your comments and appreciate your having drawn my attention
to these matters. The hot water problem has been fixed, but I do apologise that this impacted negatively on your stay. I will also look into the other shortcomings mentioned and take the necessary steps to rectify these problems.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Highly recommended. We spent 3 nights in room 501. Separate living room and bathroom. Close to all the shopping and restaurants. Very good service. Staff went out of their way to look after even the small details. Only one issue. Not enough hot water to have a bath that is more then 1/3 full. Water heater tanks are to small. Hope they can solve this.

Room Tip: We loved room 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Good day

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback on your stay at Dock House Boutique Hotel. Thanks for the kind words and constructive feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to Dock House on your next trip to South Africa!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

What a fabulous hotel this is, more like a private guest house. The rooms, especially those on the first floor, are superb. We had room 5 with a fantastic terrace overlooking the lawn and the sea beyond.
It's an easy three minute stroll down to the dock area which has a multitude of shops and is very safe.
Staff are knowledgeable and very friendly, I would eagerly come back again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have a balcony and are more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Paul

Thank you for having taken the time to write a review in respect of your stay at Dock House Boutique Hotel & Spa. This gives me the opportunity to monitor our service to you, the guest.

Your complimentary remarks regarding our staff and services are sincerely appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dock House when next you visit Cape Town.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at The Dock House immensely. Great hotel, wonderful location. Kelly was just fantastic, really friendly and helpful. Cape town is a great destination & The Dock House is handy to everything. Will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Good day

Thank you for your kind words and your great feedback on Dock House Boutique Hotel & Spa. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed in the Dock House for the final 3 days of our honeymoon in Capetown and were made very welcome from the start. Kelly and the remainder of the staff made our stay so very special, it rounded off our time in Capetown in style. Nothing was ever any problem when seeking advice, bookings for trips or restaurant recommendations, and certainly the recommendations we experienced were first class, one being the Baia seafood restaurant at the V & A waterfront. We were in room 502, on the ground floor next to the dining room, the room and ensuite itself being massive, and very elegant, the doors opened and led out into a wonderful garden overlooking the waterfront. This hotel is unique because it is both in the center but also has a secluded feel which was ideal for us.
We cannot recommend this hotel enough!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Good day

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely review on your stay at Dock House Boutique Hotel. I'm glad our staff and services could contribute to a wonderful end to your honeymoon.

Congratulations on your wedding, I hope you have many wonderful years together.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I were staying 3 nights in the V&A Waterfront area in Cape Town. When we checked into our original hotel we were told we were being given an upgrade to a sister property. Not knowing what to expect we went with the bellman in the car about 2 minutes down the street to our new hotel. What a great surprise we were in for! The Dock House is a beautiful luxury boutique hotel. There are only 6 rooms. Ours was on the first floor and had its own living room with a couch and big screen TV. There was a personal welcome note to us and a bottle of champagne waiting in the room. Across the hall was a huge marble bathroom with double sinks, large shower, tub and towel warming rack. Further down the hall were a luggage storage room and a master bedroom. The bedroom was beautiful. It had a king bed with a seating bench in front of the bed, large TV, dresser, as well as vanity to sit and do your make up and hair. This hotel was a dream. There was also a library if you wanted to use the internet. The staff was fantastic. We had a nice breakfast in the dining area in the morning. The hotel also has a spa and gym in case you are interested in those facilities. Every night when we got home from dinner there was turn down service with a nice "treat" on each of the night stands with a bottle of water. For not knowing what to expect from a "surprise" upgrade, the Dock House was unbelievable. The location was perfect walking distance to dinners and shopping. It was by far one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed at in my life. It was a wonderful, relaxing stay especially when we were so far away from home. We loved it and would definitely recommend and stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Patricia

Thanks for your wonderful review on Dock House Boutique Hotel & Spa, I'm very happy to hear that you had such a lovely stay. We hope to welcome you back to Dock House on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dock House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dock House Boutique Hotel

Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#44 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#45 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dock House Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Dock House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dock House Hotel Cape Town Central
Dock House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dock House Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.