We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dock House Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Dock House Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Dock House Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

You think about the Waterfront and wonder if it would be a good place to stay - the answer is yes if you stay at the Dock House. We loved or stay there and being 7 people between 2 and 75 there are many needs to satisfy but we all loved staying there. Kelly and her team are very sweet and because there are so few rooms its like staying at someones house but with all aminities of a hotel. Want pizza delivered in the room? No problem. Pedicure by the pool? All good. Driver to take you to Cape Good Hope? Of course. Errol our driver was so sweet and amazing. We first stayed at the Mount Nelson and whilst there are many good things about that hotel as well it is lacking what Dock House has, personality and care. There is a bit of noise from the Waterfront in the evenings but it didn't really bother us. There are plenty to do around (shopping, aquarium, ferry to Robben Island, Jolly Roger Pirateship for the kids, The Grand on the Beach, restaurants) and easy to get to City centre or the beaches in a taxi. We loved it and would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    9
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
80
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here for the last 5 days of our holiday in South Africa and I was absolutely blown away. We stayed in Room 3 and it was out of this world. Arriving to a card and champers from the manager Kelly was a gorgeous touch and throughout our stay she couldn't have done enough for us. She found out it was our anniversary during our stay and left a beautiful little surprise in our room with another lovely card. Thanks Kelly! The bathroom was enormous with great toiletries and the bed was incredibly comfortable, was hard to leave it in the morning! Overall, this hotel is absolutely beautiful with fantastic little touches everywhere and I did not want to leave!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We cannot talk highly enough of this gem of a hotel. It is a very private and elegant hotel that has wonderfully appointed rooms, superb location, excellent breakfast and very professional staff. An excellent feature is that you can use the facilities of it's sister hotels - V&A and Queen Victoria. Special thanks to Kelly and her team for making our new year stay such a special one. We hope to visit you again in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have found my base in Cape Town! It is the Dock House at the V&A Waterfront. What a fantastic boutique hotel with the luxury of large verandas and a large garden with an infinity splash pool and bar plus the added benefit and services of sister hotels and restaurants nearby (easy walks). And very few other guests and crowds - which I loved!

In mid-December 2012, our party five (5) checked into three (3) rooms at the Dock House. After a bit of a mix-up was quickly straightened out (we needed rooms on the ground floor and needed one room with two (2) beds) - there was never another glitch in our stay. The Staff was absolutely fantastic in their Service. The Property is well managed and cared for. The Staff truly cares about their guests which one doesn't see too often in larger hotels.

So if you're looking for a smaller, quieter, well managed, well appointed, safe oasis overlooking the V&A Waterfront and Wheel of Cape Town - the Dock House is your home away from home. I know that'll I'll be back one day soon.

Room Tip: There are only six rooms within the Dock House proper.... If you have difficulty with stairs, besure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Starting from the first booking request until last "bye-bye", that place always makes me feel good. Authentic interiors mixed with modern chic elements, great service and food from the restaurant nearby, served in your balcony with the view over the V&A waterfront.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Dock House is a beautiful boutique hotel set slightly back from the waterfront central, with panoramic views over the waterfront. It is private, stylish, and first class. Breakfast is always a joy with Reymond, the staff are super attentive, and Ashleen will make sure your stay is second to none. The location is extremely central.......an absolute jewel in the crown. Cape Town is such an inspiring city.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 nights in a first floor room with a balcony and it was exceptional in every way; the room was spacious and very well appointed, great location on a hill just across the road from the Waterfront, the breakfast classy and the housekeeping superb. The manager Kelly and her team made sure that we were very comfortable.

Room Tip: The first floor on this two level property
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dock House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dock House Boutique Hotel

Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#44 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#45 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dock House Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Dock House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dock House Hotel Cape Town Central
Dock House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dock House Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.