We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in Cape Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Zest Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Zest Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   2 Braemar Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem in Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

Stayed at Villa Zest for a night during my trip to Cape Town in late June and it was truly amazing!
The service was simply impeccable. The moment we arrive we're offered a hearty glass of South African wine (was nice! :) ). The room we stayed at is still likely new and tastefully decorated. Breakfast was nice too, simple but with a good collection, and the lounge area is also very lovely. There seems to be a really nice pool and poolside area too however while we're there Cape Town was in the middle of its winter season. Staff are all very friendly, and Owner Kevin and Host Desire has all try to give you the "personal touch" in the service right in the beginning before you have even arrived and throughout the stay.

Also worth to mention is the location, it's within walking distance to V&A waterfront, and also in proximity of the new greenpoint stadium - might be ideal for those who come in 2010 for the World Cup!

All in all, a lovely stay, and I'm sure will come back in the future, and I will highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    38
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
226
45
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

Before we travelled to Cape Town from Northern Ireland I was in touch with the hotel for help with a couple of things that i needed help with. They arranged an airport transfer for us and also located tickets for the British and Irish Lions rugby match against the emerging Springboks.

We arrived in Cape Town airport quite late in the evening and our pick up was waiting for us. He was very friendly, helped with our luggage and informative about the area.

When we arrived at the Hotel we were greeted by a very nice staff member who helped with our luggage, took us to our room and offered us drinks.

The next day at breakfast we met Des the General Manager. She was very helpful with our plans with what to do for our 2 days in Cape Town, she also booked us a tour around Cape Point which was very good.

The staff were all very friendly and went out of there way to chat to us and learn our names.

Highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

Great hotel, very friendly and helpful staff for who nothing was too much trouble and who make you feel like a guest and not just a customer. Comfy beds, great breakfast and everything brand new and sparkling. Very high standards of cleanliness. My only regret was being winter, we didn't get a chance to lounge in the garden or use the pool which I am sure would be very welcome in summer!

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

We stayed at the Villa Zest for four nights in June 2009.
The hotel is very well situated for most of Cape Towns attractions. The hotel is very modernist in style. The owner Kevin and the Manager Desire were excellent. Their advice and knowledge of the area were superb and they were very attentive to our needs. The high speed internet at the hotel was the fastest I've ever seen so business travellers that are working on the road would find this hotel perfect. We would thoroughly recommend Villa Zest to other travellers exploring Cape Town.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

Wow, what a hotel. From the moment you first arrive, you're treated like family. Better than family. This place sweeps you off your feet--welcome glass of wine in hand! Owner/ designer Kevin and Manager Desire and staff will bend over backwards to to provide the absolute apex in customer service. They'll even go as far as booking the best waiters at Cape Town's finest and hippest eateries to ensure that the top-notch service extends beyond the luxe haven that the Zest offers. The rooms are exquisitely designed and well-appointed, down to the delicious, retro-inspired wall paper. I had the pleasure of staying in the ultra-chic Barbarella suite, which overlooks the serene zen garden and swanky outdoor lounge area. Cool factor? Off the charts. Kevin will sit down with guests one on one to recommend the best places to shop and eat, the absolute must-see sights and must-do events and activities for a custom, one-of a-kind Cape Town experience. But, honestly, you may not even want to leave the posh and inviting comfort that the VZ offers!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

Spent 2 nights in late April, on arrival Kevin (Owner) sat down my wife and I and gave ( gratis) us a huge glass of wine and talked us through what we wanted to do, great advice and incredibly helpful, The room was immacualate and every day it was cleaned to the best standard I have seen. Continental breakfast fabulous. Kevin recommended a wonderful restaurant on one of the nights that exceeded our expectations. Transfers sorted. went the extra 10 miles to find a solution to airport bookings, shopping, etc. We totally recommend this boutique hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerrodMabry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

My 10 day trip to South Africa would have not been the same had I not stayed at the Villa Zest!

Zest is in a great location! A short walk to all Waterfront shopping and very close to the "Pink Mile."

The owner, Kevin, truly insists on making each guests' experience a special on. Whether it is making dinner and taxi arrangements for you or simply giving you the HONEST truth of your plans and then recommending alternatives. More than once, I planned something that he recommended I change. Each time I took his advice I quickly discovered that he was very, VERY right.

The manager, Desire, if FANTASTIC. She truly embraces the word "hospitality" and goes out of her way EVERY time to make sure you have a good time. She even offered to let me borrow her car!

The work staff is competent, polite, and very kind. I never had to ask for a single thing as it was already waiting there for me.

The rooms were BEAUTIFUL. Decked out in pop-mod retro that was more elegant, stylish and hip than campy or cheesy. The outdoor gardens, pool, water falls, and fireplace were all lovely touches. The pictures on the website do not truly express what a wonderful place this is.

I will go back again and again and could not more highly recommend the Villa Zest.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,437 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#4 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,098 reviews
Cape Grace
#9 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#29 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 985 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#23 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,080 reviews
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Zest Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Zest Boutique Hotel

Address: 2 Braemar Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Zest Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the bustling Green Point area and Cape Town's very own Soho - De Waterkant, Villa Zest Boutique Hotel offers designer luxury accommodation to the style-savvy visitor looking for a more personalized boutique hotel experience. The clean modern lines of Villa Zest's Bauhaus architecture are the inspiration for the interior of this boutique hotel hideaway, with each individually decorated en-suite room a seamless fusion of retro style and luxury detail; only the finest in bed linen, furnishings and fittings have been used. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Zest Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zest Boutique
Boutique Hotel Zest
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Zest Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.