We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Zest Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Villa Zest Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   2 Braemar Road, Green Point, Cape Town, 8001 | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 102 hotels in Cape Town Central
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic little gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was the first hotel we stayed at on our honeymoon. All the previous excellent reviews were spot on. We stayed here for 3 nights and the girls who ran the hotel could not do enough for us in the 3 days we were there. They gave us a complementary bottle of sparkling wine as it was our honeymoon and they were always on hand to help. Michelle advised us on some great restaurants to go to (Carne was a great one - go if you like your steak) and ordered all of our taxis and generally made sure we had a great time in Cape Town. She even gave us her mobile number to ring in case we needed her at any point or had questions while we were away from the hotel. You can get lots of nice hotels with nice rooms etc but this is going the extra mile for you guests. As for the hotel itself, the room was great. The first night they'd turned down the room and put candles everywhere. The lounge/dining area upstairs is great. A nice place to have breakfast as well as relax in the daytime or evening. The breakfasts are superb as well. Full English or pancakes, a host of cereals and fruit but done very nicely not like some of the big hotels. Outside is a small pool and garden area with loungers where you can sunbath. In terms of location Villa Zest is in Green Point so it is about 4-5 minutes in a taxi to the V & A Waterfront. The cost of the taxis are very little, literally £2-3 each way. Overall I think this is a great boutique hotel run by people who will look after you and make sure you enjoy your time in Cape Town. The larger hotels simply don't have the time to give you this amount of attention.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    274
    31
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
191
41
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We booked for Villa Zest, 2 days before landing and was a bit anxious.

I did not need to be. We found the hotel very easily from the airport, and parked outside. We rang the bell and Gilbert the concierge came out to help us. (Hence forth to be referred to as Gilbert the Great!).

Gilbert the Great helped us into our room, ordered us dinner,and organised us a bottle of wine. It was a perfect start to a weekend in the Cape.

The room was amazing, the most comfortable bed and amazing decor. We woke up and had a great breakfast in the lounge ranging from continental to omlettes.

When we checked out, we found our wine was complementary, well two glasses of it, and was deducted from our bill without asking.

Highly reccomend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

- Fantastic service, 24/7
- Cross between a guesthouse and a boutique hotel - 4/5*
- Very attentive, helpful, chatty staff
- Rooms furnished to a high standard
- Great beds
- Spacious bathrooms
- Parking spaces
- Very secure
- Brilliant breakfast
- Conveniently located for tourists
- Cool interior decor

Overall: would definitely go back. And it's rare I say that.

Room Tip: I had a view of the garden and pool, which was nice and quiet. The room was called 'Bullit'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The staff are excellent at Villa Zest (Michelle and Janice in particular) and the hotel itself is very conveniently located, has a very cool 70s mod feel - I'd definitely recommend staying here while in Cape Town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for our two year anniversary, and really enjoyed it. It was beautiful, the room was modern, tastefully designed, and comfortable. Breakfast was incredible, we couldn't get enough! And the staff were extremely helpful, really catering to all our questions. We felt like we were staying with friends. The location was also very good (I do recommend hiring a car in cape town, it's a very navigable city). Highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The Studio 54 room is very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellendam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just perfect we got an upgrade room without asking and have nothing to pay more,this hotel is a 5 star paradise ,for a very good price, we wish we had find this hotel at the beginning of our holiday than we had stay there all our vacation, the room was soooow good and clean the bed was so big we could sleep there with 4 persons more, it was very silent no crowdy other tourist because they have not many rooms so if you like to have a nice and quiet vacation than villa zest is the best you can get, Michelle thanks to you and your right hand (forget her name) for making our last day in capetown so very nice we had earn that after all the bad hotels . the best thing was that we could smoke in the garden just one step from our room with a nice corner with pillows and an table that has fire in it we feel like the king and the queen them selves and for sure we come back to you in villa zest no doubt about it love you girls xxxxx the people from the netherlands (we bet you know) ;-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Very hip hotel with wonderful rooms. Best breakfast i have ever had in any hotel (including the big names). The staff was awesome. Helped my new wife plan a little surprise for me too :-)

Please do not make the mistake of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Save money, eat their breakfast. Dont skip breakfast here expecting to see the typical hotel food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Zest Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Zest Boutique Hotel

Address: 2 Braemar Road, Green Point, Cape Town, 8001 | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Zest Boutique Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the bustling Green Point area and Cape Town's very own Soho - De Waterkant, Villa Zest Boutique Hotel offers designer luxury accommodation to the style-savvy visitor looking for a more personalized boutique hotel experience. The clean modern lines of Villa Zest’s Bauhaus architecture are the inspiration for the interior of this boutique hotel hideaway, with each individually decorated en-suite room a seamless fusion of retro style and luxury detail; only the finest in bed linen, furnishings and fittings have been used. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Villa Zest Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zest Boutique
Boutique Hotel Zest
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Zest Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.