We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I couldn't belive they made my bed for me every day even though i was staying in a dorm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Town Backpackers

Save Saved
You added Cape Town Backpackers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cape Town Backpackers
81 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
Hotel amenities
England
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I couldn't belive they made my bed for me every day even though i was staying in a dorm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

Cape Town Backerpackers is the perfect place to stay if you want to have a good nights sleep whilst saving money. Not only are the staff unbelievably helpful and able to arrange any activities you want to do in a matter of seconds, but they are also friendly and good fun. My bed was made for me everyday, happy hour lasts for four hours not just one and i was able to have a hot shower whenever i wanted - something you stop daring to expect when you have been in Africa for a while. The guest kitchen is clean and well stocked with various utensils and there is a large TV for those who wan't to stay home rather than explore the night life in Cape Town, the bulk of which is convenienltly located on Long Street; just a short walk away. With a beautiful view of Table Mountain, cheap accomadation (and slightly more expensive accomadation for those seeking luxury) guests you can trust and the most comfortable bed i'd slept in in months i definately wouldn't hesitate to go back, with the added bonus of knowing i'd already found the best backpackers in town.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    43
    9
    4
    10
See reviews for
7
34
45
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

It's been a while since we stayed here (a year and or so ago) and I still can't get over the disappointing experience.

The receptionist started out by asking us for our passports. I was taken aback as we didn't have ours and are South African residents in any case. When asked why they needed it in the first place and secondly why they hadn't asked me,on booking, to bring it along, the receptionist explained that their policy was not to allow locals to stay at the backpackers and breezed past my second question.

Getting increasingly puzzled, I asked why. The receptionist explained that local 'Whites' had been known to stay over and steal from foreign travellers. She said she was doing us a favour (yes, a favour?!!) to let us stay. And the only reason was because we had requested a private room rather than the shared bunks. So kind.

The room was a private double with en suite shower and loo. It was undergound with a single window that opened onto a rather busy and noisy underground courtyard - not quite as romantic as it may seem, trust me.

In addition, the room had no air conditioning and the extractor fan in the shower room did little to alleviate the dark and dreary atmosphere within the room.

The breakfast was average. Bar - worth avoiding if only to steer clear of the druggies and accompanying racket. Parking - a nightmare to get in and out of what with a single key that one had to borrow and return to the bar at every outing - a tiny parking lot that the 24h security guard had difficulty preventing people from parking in front of.

The backpackers is placed in a relatively residential area. A fair walk from the usual tourist fare: the V&A waterfront, cable car etc. Shopping and eateries are mercifully just a block away and provide a welcome escape from the backpackers.

Needless to say we were glad when we left Cape Town and the backpackers behind. A horrible experience.

On our return to Cape Town this year, I took my lesson from 2009 and opted instead to stay at a downtown hotel.A four star venue, that offered a full buffet breakfast and board for less than what the backpackers charged us for board alone. Moral of the story: look at other options in Cape Town and avoid this place - you can get better service and value in a better location for the same price.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afcpt, Owner at Cape Town Backpackers, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Over a year? wow..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

Cape Town expertly blends a relaxed laid-back experience with that of a party backpackers.

Clean and quiet where you want it to be (your dorm and bathrooms), administration is run from a welcoming and friendly bar, so that is where you check in and out. A master stroke as far as I am concerned, along with the staff it immediately making you feel part of the place.

I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

Perfect place for 20's - 30's, as well as oldtimers like us - 70's. We had a room with toilet, shower, and balcony. Location within blocks of city tour busses, happy hour fun, everyone quite friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

What a place! Great accommodation, helpful staff & excellent parties! Must mention the travel desk - very helpful; useful advice & booking information for our trip from Cape Town up the Garden Route & then West Coast & Winelands. Felt like home from home with lots of smiles & good value beer!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

I had a happy stay here in this hostel that has both dorms and private rooms mainly because it was a friendly social place with a good mix of travellers of all differents ages and nationalities. A good point to add is that while it is friendly and social, the common areas such as the bar are seperated from the rooms so it is still possible to get a nice quiet night's sleep.
Rooms are are reasonable. I stayed in both a tiny private and a dorm. My only complaint about the later is that the bunk bed was rather wobbly. I feel sorry for whoever was below me as whenever I moved, the whole thing shook. It also didn't have a saftey rail on the upper bunk.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

This place was fine. The rooms were clean and tidy, the staff friendly and helpful. We liked heading down to the reception / bar area for a beer before heading out. The location was great, near the fab choice of restaurants on Kloof Street - but you'll need a car to get into town or any further. Unfortunately the beds were really uncomfortable, and we were feeling every spring in the bed, plus it made an awful noise everytime we moved. Where we were (in the secondary house in a side street behind the main accomodation), the walls were paper-thin, we heard too much from our neighbours on the three nights we stayed. On the plus side, we had a great view of table mountain from our balcony.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cape Town Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Town Backpackers

Address: 81 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 100 Specialty lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Town Backpackers has a fantastic atmosphere and plenty of style. Its has all of the facilities you would expect from a top quality backpackers including WiFi, and internet access, café and a self-catering kitchen, a comprehensive travel desk, and a great bar to meet fellow travellers. Located in the City Bowl, close to all the main attractions, it offers affordable accommodation – from dorms to deluxe double en suite rooms – and a fun, friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Cape Town Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Backpackers South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Town Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.