We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Paradiso

Cafe Paradiso
110 Kloof St | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8008, South Africa
0214238653
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Tasty food, wonderful ambiance. Our waitress was knowledgable and welcoming and came across as genuinely wanting us to enjoy our time there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    119
    20
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a very good dinner here. 6 of us. 2 with food allergies which they accommodated with no issues. We ordered the Malva for dessert then (unheard of) ordered a second because everyone at the table loved it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Home made”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

pasta made the day for my wife and the lemon meringue pie made the great meal perfect for us. The service was excellent as was the wine.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Truly delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Cafe Paradiso is a must if you're in Cape Town. The menu is great and the food lives up to the time the owners took with the charming design of everything. Nice wine list. My only compaint would be that our waitress was not on top of things, but a friend who had been there before me had a great waitress. I guess it's a crap shoot.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening, great Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Went to this eatery with a local CapeTown friend and had a great time. The food is great, ambience lovely and they allow the kids in the kitchen to bake their own food! Thats a definite plus plus for families who want to have fun evening with kids around.

We went for dinner in winter and hence didnt sit outside. However, i am told the outdoors is really nice on a warm sunny day.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Paradiso also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cafe Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Paradiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.