We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint little gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fork

Fork
84 Long Street, Cape Town Central, South Africa
021 424 6334
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quaint little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

A quiet spot with comfortable couches. After making yourself comfortable, you encounter friendly and efficient service. There are always great specials to choose from varying from salads, steaks, tapas and a very good wine selection. Definitely worth a visit to rest tired feet after a long day's exploring the city.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    229
    44
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
“Good tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

When staying in Cape Town centre, we were in the mood for tapas. Based on reviews, and location, we decided to check it out. The food was good but not close to the best we had in CT. The portions were VERY small - very small portions for tapas.

The service was rather good and attentive.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Nice restaurant in city centre of capetown

Lovely tapas and very different than normal tapas restaurants

Service was great and super friendly

Moijitos are tasty and so are the wines and the meals

We would definitely come back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“If you like Tapas this is the place to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I love going to Fork. The food is delicious and the service good but it is all tapas so don't go expecting anything else. I have my favourites and keep going back to them! The only problem I have ever had is that you can't take your own wine. And they have a gluten free menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Lovely tapas place in funky Long Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Every time we come to Cape Twon, we have lunch in Fork, a lovely little restaurant in the hot and happening Long Street. The dishes are prepared fresh and taste delicious. Whether yiubtry the vegetarian dishes, the meat or fish, all are amazing. Lovely service too! We'll be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fork also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Fork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.