We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a quick lunch.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fork

Fork
84 Long Street, Cape Town Central, South Africa
021 424 6334
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good for a quick lunch.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

It's a good place for a quick lunch, if you order the lunch menu. If you dare to order extra tapas it's getting expensive. It's located in Long Street, therefore I don't think it's good to have dinner there. Personally I have found Long St. quite tacky...

However if you are in CT during the day, try their lunch menu!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    229
    44
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“unreal dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

such a amazing mixture of food... not too heavy, but amazing service, food and wine. One of my most memorable meals in Cape Town!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Casual with style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

So many delicious small dishes - especially go for the quail!
The red wine is well tempered.
The service is personal and very professional.
The location is central.
All in all - we're very happy!

Note: When sitting at ground floor, you might experience a little too much fumes from the kitchen. You could consider a reservation upstairs.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We ate here twice on our recent trip to cape town....we'd been in SA for over two weeks and ate is some top class restaurants but Fork was my absolute favourite, this should be no.1 in my book! The choice of tapas was so varied, you'd want to eat them all, even tapas desserts! The curry, goats cheese, meatballs, pork belly, kudu, beef and the quail were delicious, and we tried the mini pavlovas and white chocolate mousse desserts, everything was so delicious...I want to go back and try everything else! It's an absolute must!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Fork, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fun experience - Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were recommended this place by the hotel we stayed at, and we were glad we checked it out. We had not experienced a restaurant based on tapas before and so it was an unusual experience for us. We really enjoyed trying all the different plates and flavors! Our server was very helpful in guiding us in what to try. Great food, great service! Nice job!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fork also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Fork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.