We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful supper” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sevruga

Sevruga
V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 421 5134
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful supper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We ordered the red sushi platter - top class sushi at a reasonable price. Great wines on the menu (although they are very pricy). Staff were friendly and very attentive.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    199
    84
    40
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

I have to compliment the restaurant, we were a group of 8 (attending the conference) but we arrived at different times over an hour period. The staff accommodation to serve snacks and starters to the early arrivers while managing to accelerate the later arrivals was impressive.
We all enjoyed the various food options, from fresh fish and seafood to ostrich or beef ribs. It was all well presented, freshly cooked and no complaints from anyone. 4* for the adaptability of the service!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Yum yum yummy! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I love Beluga in Cape Town, so when someone told me they have a sister restaurant at the V&A Waterfront, I had to try it.

The service is great and the wait staff highly knowledgeable. Make sure you listen to the specials, and then battle to make a decision since they all sound amazing.

For starters we had the springbok carpaccio & baby calamari - yum! For mains I settled on the salmon Wellington which was really good. The rest of table had a sea food platter which was also delish. All this washed down with a lovely bottle of wine made for a lovely dinner.

I definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I had great service and food at this restaurant. Was recommended by the guest house and was not disappointed at all.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice but not quite what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Right on the harbour in The V & A Waterfront, somewhat pricy and intended to be exclusive, I ordered the baby lobster starter as a main for lunch. The ginger caramel sauce was very unexpected but I loved it & thought it complemented the lobster perfectly. What did disappoint a bit was the lobster was not firm as if it had been left in water after it was cooked. For a city that has many top 100 in the world restaurants, food this time around in Cape Town was disappointing with not many superb meals at any of the places we ate. Time for the food industry to take some stock & up its performance. Same for Johannesburg. Guys are getting slack. You can't afford to be less than perfect with all the competition out there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sevruga also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Sevruga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sevruga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.