We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sevruga

Sevruga
Shop 4 Quay 5 | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central, South Africa
+27 21 421 5134
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great seafood and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is right on the waterfront with both outdoor and indoor seating. We sat indoor as it was a bit chilly. I got the seaffod special and the prawns, langostine, and king fish were really good. My wife git sushi and dimsum and liked it. We both got a tom yum soup which hit the spot. Overall very nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    263
    174
    67
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“SUSHI WITH A WATER VIEW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Who could ask for more than divine sushi with a water view??
We have eaten here regularly when visiting the waterfront, the setting is really idyllic.
The service can be a little slow but only cos they get so busy

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great food and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely dinner here. The food was brought out promptly and was fresh and tasty. We had a squid starter followed by a selection of dim sum and the 26 piece sushi platter (great value at 140 rand). Our Irish waiter Alex was really friendly, however the welcome from the front desk staff was poor. We had no reservation and walked in at 6pm, only to be told that we could have a seat if we ate quickly. Hardly a warm friendly welcome you expect. Apart from this, we had a lovely experience here

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I had a fantastic long lunch at Sevruga in May, 2013. The staff were wonderful and very attentive. The food and wine was brilliant. The only problem was the table of 20 somethings behind me celebrating a birthday who were definitely lacking any real perspective about life and love and wanted to share every bit of their over indulged lifestyles with all the surrounding tables. Apart from that I would definitely go back when I am next in Cape Town.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Megq Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Simply loved the lunch my husband and I had today at Sevruga. Prawn dimsum, risotto balls, tandoori ostrich, Blue Plate sushi platter (all 26 pieces on special!!!) and the melting, oozing hot chocolate cake and ice cream dessert. Say no more. Friendly and warm hostesses, excellent service from many waiters and just a great experience. Thank you Sevruga.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sevruga also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Sevruga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sevruga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.