We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Sofia (Kloof)

Cafe Sofia (Kloof)
Kloof Street, Cape Town Central, South Africa (City Bowl)
+27 214260801
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Mediterranean, European, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: City Bowl
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Went here only because it was recommended and I'd seen a party of locals leaving earlier, too. Service nice but slow. Didn't have in stock the lamb dish I ordered. 4 tapas dishes I had were pretty awful. Meatballs and kebabs were overcooked and dry to the point of being inedible. One of the three hummus-type dips was shrimp or fish and was disgusting. I saw people at the next table trying to spit it out. There's so much good food in Cape Town. Don't go here.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    9
    3
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Sad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Dont bother going here. They do not have most of the menu items. We walked out.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

we had lunch there and the food was avarage and service was not friendly. Nice place but nothing special

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
“Eden on the Bay- Felt like we were on candid camera- a joke!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We come weekly as we were always pleased but this time was a joke.The mojito arrived with one sad mintleaf swimming in it, no lime, but lemon &no mint flavour.40 Min after placing our sushi order my boyfriend went to ask whats going on.we were infomed that the sushi chef had a motorbike accident &the stand in could not speak english,or make the sushi.A hour later the sushi came and the tempura prawn was absolutely freezing, as was the sushi, like it was refrigerated.It was sent back and microwaved.The manager came to apologize,offered us to order something from the menu to apologize for the delay&bad service.Kind gesture.We decided only then to find out it was out of stock.My boyfriend asked about the capers that accompanied the kinglikp and was told it was small salty fish like sardines.(actually edible flower buds)What?! We ordered the matured sirloin & kinglip.The meal arrived cold, med rare was well done, tough &with abutter knife. the side & salsa was missing- the 'kingklip'was a old fish that was probably lying around-salty and fishy fishy-NOT Kingklip.We couldnt even complain to the manager as he was sleeping with a blanket at a table next to us.It was a disaster.We even got sick.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Cafe Sofia Eden Big Bay - really not good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

The only positive thing I can say is that the waiter was friendly and tried his best - though in vain - to make up for the shortcomings of bar and kitchen. The sangria turned out as ice-chilled red wine with a few mashed blackberries - no sign of any other fruit. In reply to our query, the barmen let us know that this was how red wine sangria was made...
We ordered the 20-dish tappas sampler which was served after a long wait. Out of 20, 3 were ok, 10 were indifferent and 7 outright inedible, being either burned or excessively spiced. In desperation, we ordered cocktails to rescue the afternoon, which we then also left largely unfinished.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sofia (Kloof) also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cafe Sofia (Kloof)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Sofia (Kloof), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.