We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic (better than our) home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Beachside to your Saves list
Beachside
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   14 Central Drive, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 152 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
UK
1 review
“Fantastic (better than our) home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

After a long and tiring road trip from Pretoria down to Cape Town, we arrived in Camps Bay just as the sun was setting. We were shown around the entire guesthouse, which is actually more like a celebrity house you'd see on 'Cribs'. Everything was clearly explained to us and the communal kitchen, lounge and dinning rooms were all spotless, spacious and stunning. We were then shown to our room, which overlooked the ocean and mountains - fantastic!

The fact that we were planning to eat out every night and be out during the day doing the usual Cape Town tourist activities, meant that this self catering guesthouse was perfect for our needs. Unfortunately we only stayed for four nights and so we didn't make full use of the kitchen - but you could easily fill up the fridge and cook a big breakfast every morning if you wanted.

When we save up to visit Cape Town again, we will certainly try to get a room at Beachside again! I only wish the weather was warmer so we could have enjoyed the pool!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
8
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel really felt like a home away from home. With the comfortable, large room, big balcony overlooking both Table Mountain and the sea, and the shared full kit hen, you really could live there. The hotel is within easy driving distance of most of Cape Town's attractions and walking distance to many very nice restaurants. Gift, the manager, treated me like family and will help with anything you need. I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Where do I begin? from the moment i arrived , I was treated like a missed family member returning home. The check in was smooth, and the front desk agent - Gift (what a name), was a gem. Such a wealth of information. It was like I was talking to the head of the tourist board! Gift also gave great insight to some great local spots and secret "in the know" places.
I booked the standard room, which would have been absoutely fine, however I was upgraded to the Atlantic Ocean suite! The villa was spotless, and the room very spacy and well apointed. Bed was one of the best beds I've slept in! I live in hotels about 300 days a year, and this beachside villa is the most memorable. The location coulnt be more ideal. It was only a block from all of the best restaurants, and safest neighborhood in Africa! Its sits slightly uphil, providing grand vistas of camps bay and the atlantic ocean. They even did my laundry! If you are looking for a safe, clean, peaceful stay in one of the most beautiful settings in cape town- do not hesitate, ook now! I also stayed at the luxury pepperclub in the city and the Queen Victoria Hotel- both were double the price, yet failed in comparison to the warm hospitality of the beachside villa. Will be recommending it to those who I love, and hiding this gem from my enemies! Looking forward to next year's stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful place in a beautiful location. Incredibly serene and peaceful! Could be a home away from home... We weren't bothered the entire weekend, our time there was respected as we respected the place. I'd recommend it to any and everyone. The best part was the views from all the rooms, thebeauty of Cape Town properly captured. Everything you'd need on holiday especially those who enjoy their space as it was self catering. Even had a number of board games to choose from :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The villa is perfectly located for both the beach and night life of Camps Bay, two blocks up from the action yet quiet and wind sheltered.. The facilities are great, spacious, thoughtfully appointed, immaculately clean, best enjoyedif you fill it with your friends but perfect for a solitary traveller as well. The stand out are the people who keep things ticking over: take a well deserved bow, Phillip, Gift and owner!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We tremendously enjoyed our time at the Beachside Villa, all and sundry were quite helpful and cheerful: Gift, Philip and owner, who even gave us a ride when we needed it! The Villa is well-appointed and we had ample use of the spotless kitchen, including the microwave and stove. I was there with my son and his friend...In terms of location, just up the street from the Atlantic Ocean in Camps Bay, an up-scale neighborhood nestled beneath Table Mountain and the Twelve Apostles...i.e. twelve fantastic mountain peeks. The only thing we lacked, at times, was WIFI...beyond that, we enjoyed our stay and in particular lovely Cape Town. The Jewel of Africa I call it, the second Venice!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Just returned from a superb stay in South Africa ending in Camps Bay.

Beachside was the perfect place for us. There were six of us travellig together and this penthouse apartment had it all - 3 super ensuite bedrooms, huge living space opening up onto a large terrace complete with loungers and hot tub!! And a very well equipped kitchen (not that we needed to use it as the restaurants in Camps Bay are all brilliant!!)

The service was simply great - even the hot tub was cleaned, topped up and switched on every day for our return!!

As for the location - simply the best - an easy (flat - for those of you who know Camps Bay - that is a tremendous bonus!) walk to the bars, beach and restaurant, with a view of the beach and Lion's Head/Table mountain from the terrace and pretty much all the windows!!!
Elizabeth, the owner and Rob the manager could not do enough, and of anyone wanting to travel in a large party there also is the main villa sleeping 10!

We will definately go again.

Room Tip: Not ideal for a couple wanting just a room as the accomdation is very 'open' plan and is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside

Address: 14 Central Drive, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beachside 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Beachside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.