We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your earplugs to this inwardly directed yet characteristic, centrally located B&B” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   12 Bertram Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 149 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Bring your earplugs to this inwardly directed yet characteristic, centrally located B&B”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Sweet Lemon is 1 out of 4 related B&B’s at Seapoint, Capetown. The location is OK near the Ocean, not too far from the Waterfront, and a convenient starting point for a day-trip to Cape Point. The friendly breakfast / cleaning lady was present during office hours. The receptionist (a young German intern) was nomadic, as she served several of these B&B’s at the same time. She had her own program of movements between B&B’s and if you needed her in between, you should just call her and allow her some ten minutes to arrive.
The reviews of Sweet Lemon seem to vary with the rooms. Almost all rooms give on the patio. The patio has a huge picknick table (for the sociable breakfast experience) and a miniature swimming pool.
Our travel agent had booked us a standard double room. Initially we stayed in a light room, upstairs facing the street (the one with the toilet and shower behind the divider). This room is nicely decorated with old pictures in bric-a-brac frames. On Saturday night this street is quite noisy too, so you’d better bring your earplugs. We asked the receptionist to move us to another room, also in order to improve our feeling of security. This request was taken seriously and the management offered us a solution.
We then got the apartment at the back of the patio. The living room, small kitchenette and bathroom were at the ground floor. Although the interior designer did what she could by using colors, this remains a darkish area, with views into the patio and on a blind wall. A narrow winding staircase brought us to the corridor of the sleeping room immediately under the roof. The sleeping room floor is one step below the level of that corridor, which is dangerous upon a nightly return to bed from the bathroom below.
The beds were nice and soft. The breakfast average. Outside office hours this B&B is not staffed. Parking facilities are limited in the street.

Because of the noise, the lack of view from most of the rooms, and the nomadic receptionist in an area where there is plenty of alternatives I would not recommend this particular B&B.

Room Tip: Book the large room facing over the patio towards the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Public Relations Manager at Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
The Management of Sweetest Guesthouses is thankful for the open critics from the traveller and we would like to take the opportunity to reflect to issues the reviewer mention above.

In regards to the staff and attendance comment we schedule our staff as follows: The breakfast & housekeeping crew starts at 07H00 and at around 07h20 they prepare the breakfast table. All staff members are trained and are completely aware of the fact that the guest’s are still asleep at this time and therefore they work accordingly. During the breakfast service 08H00 – 11h00 a trained European employee is present at the property to assist with the service, guest request’s and check out’s. After 11h00 the employee goes over to the office, as most guest’s are out for day trips. In case of arrivals, the day shift staff member is at the house and welcomes the guest. They offer drinks and inform the office and the responsible employee is within a few minutes at Sweet Lemon, as the office is centrally located and in a close proximity to all our properties. The owners as well as the Operations Manager rotates constantly within the guesthouse group to make sure everything is taken care of.

We can not understand the comment of the noisiness as Sweet Lemon is located in a small Cul de Sac with only Family Houses. Due to the good business relationship with the travel agent we upgraded the guest to a superior room. This room offers a walk in closet and the bathroom is separated by a glass brick wall with an open walk through.
Upon request the guest was move to the Cottage, which is a separate cute little house located at the pool. As Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed &Breakfast was built more than 80 year ago and is considered by the Heritage Department of the City of Cape Town as Heritage and therefore we had obligations in regards to building plans and regulations. At the same time we focused on the original building structure and restored the wooden floors, Victorian wooden doors and features, which boost this old building and makes it unique and mirrors the characteristics of this house. Therefore we had to take reasonable compromises. As all our properties are yearly inspected by the South African Tourism Grading Council all room are equipped with sufficient lightning accordingly to the standards of the Grading Council.

The guest departed premature without any comments, which surprised us and we informed the travel agent immediately. It looks like the reviewer never complained with the travel agent nor was the request posted of a refund. It is our company policy to compensate travellers appropriate and for the Sweetest Guesthouses it is a matter of course to handle this issue accordingly to the policies of the travel agent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
6
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bruges
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This B&B is OK. Nothing more and nothing less. I expected a bit more of it but nevertheless I had a great time in Capetown and in South-Africa in general.
The breakfast was one of the best things in this B&B. Alot of variety, top!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Front Office Manager at Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear FlemishFreddy,

We want to say Thank you for spending your valuable time to review our Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast on Tripadvisor, and we are glad that you enjoyed our combined full continental & English breakfast with home made goods.

Kind regards,
Bridget
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were very disappointed with our visit to this b&b. The decor was nice enough and the honesty bar a convenient option but we had 2 issues during our stay.

The most significant issue was the layout of the property and sound proofing. We had the room at the front of the property downstairs (called the courtyard). The first issue was the door, this was an old wood door with no sound proofing and a huge key hole from when it had an old lock. This therefore meant we could hear everything going on in the hallway which wouldn't have been too problematic had the hallway not been set up as the breakfast room. At 7 on both days the maid came in and immediately started clattering round with dishes and cutlery (all the more frustrating as we had booked room only via Expedia so weren't even eating breakfast). At 7.30 the stereo would then be turned on so they could listen to music. Breakfast didn't start until 8am and was available until 11 which seemed a little pointless given you were always awake at 7. From 8 staff and people staying at the b&b would sit talking at the table. We heard every word, it was like beng sat in the same room.

The 2nd issue is general staffing of the property. We arrived at about 2pm, we rang the door twice and got no answer. We then saw a sign saying to call, which as someone travelling from the uk is not ideal due to mobile phone costs. We called and a young girl popped over. She then tried the doorbell still getting no answer, then announcing she would have to go somewhere else to get a key. She left again and came back 5 minutes later and let us in. She scrabbled around for paperwork but couldn't seem to find what she wanted. In the end she let us in just before the maid wandered round from the kitchen who had clearly been there the whole time!

Btw, for some you may want to be aware there are no staff guaranteed in the property from 5pm until 7am. Clearly fine in busy season but not perhaps if you are the only people on site.

By far our worst stay during our south African trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, General Manager at Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
We thank the traveler for her review and open critics and would like to take the opportunity to respond to it.

As the reviewer is right in her comment of the unusual layout of the property. The building of Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed &Breakfast was built more than 80 year ago and is considered by the Heritage Department of the City of Cape Town as Heritage and therefore we had obligations in regards to building plans and regulations. At the same time we focused on the original building structure and restored the wooden floors, Victorian wooden doors and features, which boost this old building and makes it unique and mirrors the characteristics of this house. Therefore we had to take reasonable compromises.

Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast offers in total 6 units, of which are 2 standard rooms (both on ground floor), 3 superior units (1 on ground floor, 1 on 1st floor & 1 situated at the pool in the garden). As the reviewer booked via Expedia a standard room and we took the liberty to upgrade her to a superior room, which is more spacious. Unfortunately we could not offer the superior room upstairs or the one at the pool, as we needed to make sure, bookings done for this specific rooms needs to be accommodated.

Our staff start’s their shift at 07H00 and at around 07h20 they prepare the breakfast table. All staff members are trained and are completely aware of the fact, that the guest’s are still asleep at this time and therefore they work accordingly. The breakfast is available for all guest’s and subject of a surcharge per person.

Our Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast, is as the name already states not a Hotel, it is a B&B. Therefore we consciously created the breakfast area right in the center of the house, in order to create a cozy atmosphere. The majority of our guest’s which stayed at Sweet Lemon commented positive on this as this offers the possibility to meet other travellers and exchange informations on what to do and see in Cape Town and surraoundings. The international traveller is aware of this and appreciates it.

We are terribly sorry to hear about the waiting period on arrival as well as the negative circumstances on her arrival. We would like to apologize for this. The young girl who popped up, is a new student of 19 years old and from Germany. She just started her practical internship with us, coming from a Tourism School in Germany and she simply forgot the keys to the property, which resulted in even a longer waiting period for the guest’s than intended.

We regret, that the reviewer never approached us with their concerns and dislikes, as it is our policy to accommodate all guest’s to our best and satisfied each request. Even with a fully booked Sweet Lemon Boutique B&B we would have upgraded the guest’s to our 4 Star Guesthouse for no further charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We booked Sweet Orange but had to move to Sweet Lemon, not sure of the reason. We
were given a cottage in the garden near the pool, sounds lovely but not so. It has a
spiral stair case that was very difficult to use without banging head or shoulder. Moved
the next day, to a better room, the problem with this, the toilet was behind a little divider.
All the staff where lovely and very helpful, and the position at Sea Point ideal. The breakfast
was overpriced and the cooked meats were on a large plate, unfortunately the cover was
smaller, so flies landed on the meats, the bread rolls were very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Arriving @ the Sweet Lemon was a very pleasant experience..
This place looks and feels very cosy, everything is present (good breakfast, tiny pool, selfservice-fridge etc etc) and we felt at ease immediatly.. It is nicely situated @ Sea Point and if you've got a car you can get anywhere very easily. We had the Balcony room and I never had a nicer room somewhere I think. We had to move to the Ocean View Guest House for the last night which we were very curious about as well. Too bad they overbooked it (or something..(?)) and we were moved to Sweet Olive.. This was the only letdown; I felt they were too easy in not informing me and I had to stand up for my right before I accepted the other room with discount and a free breakfast.. I mean, when you book a certain room in a certain house, you should get it, right? Don't tell me 1 second before I'm about to leave..
All houses are very cosy and differ a bit in price but overall all houses feel good and pleasant (if you prefer colourfull cosyness over a luxuryous white standard hotelroom that is, which I do obviously..).
So yes, defenitly a place I would go back to and that I would advise to friends.
But I will be aware of getting what we had agreed on :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

This little place was adorable. Great location, great service, great experience. Staff was very helpful. Decorated super cute and cozy. The one downside to our room, (not sure if all the rooms are this way) was the bathroom. The room was one big room with the toilet just behind a little divider. A little awkward. But that said, I would absolutely stay here again, thats how cute it was.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belp, Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

What a great place in a perfect location in Sea Point. We got an upgrate for free and stayed in the amazing suite with a great balcony overlooking the ocean. The suite has a fullyequipped kitchen, 4 beds on 2 floors and is creatively decorated as all the other rooms as well. There is a cozy pool in the middle, staff is super friendly and breakfast is simply the best in town - you get all you can eat and more! Owners give you great suggestions on where to eat in town. We planned to stay for 3 nights and ended there for a bit more than a week on our RTW trip.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Address: 12 Bertram Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast offers much more than just crisp sheets, cosy beds and comfortable rooms. Sweet Lemon guesthouse reflects the very same stylish but casual lifestyle that Sea Point has to offer. Immerse yourself in this chic setting complete with retro vintage furniture and design. Ambient lighting and splashes of colour adds to the harmony of this home, warming each of the 6 unique and tastefully decorated rooms.Whether you have decided to have a laid-back day or need the perfect spot to wind down from your many adventures in our beautiful city, the garden and spacious pool-area will bring you all that you need for pure relaxation and comfort.At Sweetest Guesthouses we give you more than money can buy. Not only will you be surrounded by a stylish and comfortable ambience but you will also be provided with the best of high quality service and specialized attention making your stay with us an event to remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.