We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cape Royale is home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Royale Luxury Hotel to your Saves list
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8051, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cape Royale is home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I wish I could live in Cape Royale - although I was on a trip I felt at home. Our room was HUGE. We had our own Kitchen, balcony view of the Newlands Stadium and water, two rooms, living room and a ten minute walk from VA Waterfront. Although we were near the water, I still felt as though we were very central. Front desk staff were more than accommodating when we arrived very late due to a missed flight and they offered many options for my friend and I, when it came to tours and sight seeing. I have traveled quite often but I will definitely go back to Cape Town and I would never stay anywhere other than Cape Royale.

Room Tip: Request a water view and pay for the upgrade - The view makes a difference and is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    193
    102
    22
    25
See reviews for
335
322
29
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our stay at the Cape Royale was a little disappointing considering that it is not the cheapest place to stay in Capetown. When we arrived in our room, the bed linen was dirty and there was hair and dust around the room as well. We called reception and asked this to be cleaned – despite two visits from house staff, the sheets remained unchanged. I’m usually not picky about stuff like this, however a hotel with this star rating and cost was disappointing. However, reception and travel desk staff were EXTREMELY helpful and friendly. The location is also pretty good with loads of restaurants within 100meters and the view from the rooftop bar is awesome. The spa at the hotel is also incredible – anyone staying at the Cape Royale must make sure to go to the spa.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The two of us had 5 nights here on arrival in Cape Town at the end of October staying in a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom suite which seemed to be cheaper than other rooms in nearby hotels at the time we booked. Despite arriving at 11am the suite was ready and we were warmly welcomed and the staff were helpful and friendly throughout.
We were on the 4th floor and chose the bedroom with windows to the outside and were not disturbed during the night. it was great to have a bathroom each for that quick shower before going out.
We enjoyed breakfast once we got the hang of ordering stuff in batches - order the fruit, meusli, cooked breakfast etc at once and it all comes at once so the cooked stuff gets cold while you tuck into the meusli (which incidentally was wonderful - all seeds so needs to be mixed with fruit or yoghurt)
Turn left out of the front door and you soon come to an excellent Italian restaurant
On the ground floor of the hotel - accessed from outside, is an excellent Thai restaurant
Turn right out of the front door and you soon come to Woolworths which is open to ?8pm and has boxed salads and other goodies to take back to eat in front of the TV in your suite.
The suite was always spotlessly clean - despite our efforts to mess it up and leave dishes unwashed - towels replaced even though not requested, and plenty of shower gel etc.
We had no problems with money going missing as throughout our stay it was well hidden in clothes pockets on the bottom of shelves.
Yes, we can definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

MY wife and I and my son and daughter in Law have just returned from a 9 night stay at this wonderful hotel.My wife celebrated her 70th birthday whilst we were there and I must say the management and staff helped to make this a special day for her. Which ever staff member we met at what ever time of day there was always a smile and a warm greeting which made one feel special.A special mention for the duty manager Jason who gave exceptional service.We had a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom suite on the 8th floor room 801 which was well decorated and furnished. The suite was cleaned to a high standard every day and the turn down at night always left a little treat on the pillows. The Banting restaurant is well worth a visit the quality of the food is fine dining.and pre drinks at the Monkey Bar were always a very pleasent time to spend before and after dinner.The location to the V and A waterfront is no more than 10 min walk and we felt very safe.I am so glad we picked this hotel we were so sorry to say goodbye. My wife and I will return to wonderful Cape Town and when we do we will certainly stay at the Cape Royale this would be like coming home.

Room Tip: The top floors have the best views of table mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This Hotel was really 5 star. The staff were polite and friendly. The 2 bedroom 2 bath apartment that I booked was Beautifully furnished and clean . evening Turn down service was nice with a bottle of water a robe , slippers and a nougat placed close to our beds. Good location close to many restaurants. free 1 gig wifi for the weekend.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the main Road, the rooms on the side do not have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, General Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review of our hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the services we have to offer. Please be assured that I have shared your feedback with all our team.

Wishing you a safe and pleasant journey back home and a very happy festive season.

Royal Regards
Terri Jabaar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Hotel has a reasonable location in Green point just out of the city centre with a good array of restaurants nearby. The Rooms in this all-suite hotel are spacious and comfortable, and the Juliette balconies are a nice touch to let in some fresh air. However what made The Cape Royal remarkable were two incidents, one trivial which was having loose change disappear from my bedside table when the room was cleaned- I average 60 different hotels every year and this is the first time this has ever occurred, and the experience was also shared by a travelling companion in a different room.
The somewhat less trivial was the response of the hotel staff during a black out which occurred at dusk. It was disturbing not to receive a call to the room or a have hotel staff member let us know what was happening. However even more worrying was the emergency lighting essential in evacuation was not working at all- no illuminated signs above the fire exits and no lighting what so ever in the internal and pitch black hallway- had the blackout been related to a fire or some reason making evacuation necessary it could have been a rather more serious outcome. (The emergency sings are there, but the battery back up is either flat or not connected and this was not isolated to our level and was a wide spread issue) I took the time to raise this with the duty manager who was obvious with her lack of interest

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, General Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We do appreciate the positive comments you have made but we are confused about the 2 'trivial' points that you noted. Here are our comments:

Point 1 - we have no record of any complaint whatsoever having been lodged by you to security or management regarding an alleged theft from your room. I would have thought that should such an incident have occurred (no matter what the monetary value) this would have been reported immediately. We consider complaints of this nature in a very serious manner and I would highly recommend you contact me directly in order to allow us to carry out a full investigation. my direct email address is: terri.jabaar@caperoyale.co.za

Point 2 - regarding the Country Wide Load Shedding that is affecting the entire country including the western cape. I can assure you that we do have a Generator which is fully operational. On the date that you stayed with us, we experience the 1st stage of the Load Shedding. On this occasion the generator did not kick in as per procedure. It took approx. 20 minutes for it to be up and running. I can assure you that we have not had a repeat of this and the generator has kicked in every time we have experienced a power out (which has been 3 times since your stay).

I can assure you that I have received wonderful feedback from hotel guests and residents who have complimented our team on how well we managed the situation's and deal with the power cuts. In such instances we have staff at each floor staircase to escort guests, we have additional torches and flashlights and we inform guests in advance now that we have the Load Shedding Schedule from the City of Cape Town. I can only apologise that all this was not communicated to you clearly in advance, but I assure you we do have the necessary procedures in place to manage such an incident in the future.

Kind Regards
Terri Jabaar

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unbelievable hotel. The people that work here are so kind. The rooms were very big and there was an awesome view of the world cup stadium. Not to far of a taxi to any where in the city and you can walk to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, General Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Royal Guest,

Wow - what an awesome review you have given us. Thank you kindly. Special thanks for your comment regarding our staff. We truly believe that our people is the biggest most important asset of any business and we are fortunate to have a team that truly enjoys what they do and a team who are inspired daily by our wonderful guests.

Royal Regards
Terri Jabaar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8051, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Green Point, just a 10-minute walk from Cape Town Stadium and the V&A Waterfront. It offers bright rooms with free capped Wi-Fi, a rooftop pool and gym. Cape Royale Luxury Hotel features spacious suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen, large living and entertainment areas. All rooms have a flat-screen satellite TV, a CD and DVD Player. Guests of the luxury Cape Royale have a choice between 5 dining options including The Banting Kitchen that offers an exceptional menu and a fresh alternative to modern day dining. There is also a pool bar offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain, as well as a modern gym featuring state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment. Cape Royale's concierge can offer suggestions on local activities and can arrange a complimentary shuttle service that can transport guests within a 5 km radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.