We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Hotel with Great Food and Great Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Royale Luxury Hotel to your Saves list
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8051, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
RICHMOND
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Hotel with Great Food and Great Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I traveled to Cape Town and stayed at the Cape Royale Hotel from October 3-13th. The stay was just as the name indicates...it was a royal experience! Upon exiting the taxi, I stepped onto a red carpet leading to the doors of the hotel. There I was met by a doorman wearing a top hat who greeted me as if I were a Royal. Upon entering the hotel, my arrival was noted by the striking a gong and the announcement that Lady W had arrived. Everyone in the lobby gave applause. I was totally surprised to say the least. There I found the staff to be very accommodating, the rooms were very well laid out and clean (I had a one bedroom suite that was like an apartment; kitchen included), taxi service was always available and personal shuttle service as well, if requested. The restaurant's menu is limited but the food is great and live entertainment is offered on the weekend. The Sky Bar is also another nice option (especially at night), as it overlooks the entire City. The hotel is situated in one of the best areas of Cape Town and is just a 5 minute drive to the Waterfront and its shops and restaurants. This place added so much to my stay in Cape Town. I'd definitely stay there again!! P.S. Be sure to take the Red Bus sightseeing tour. It's economical and takes you to most places that you'd like to visit. You can go to several venues for what a taxi would cost to go to just one of the sights. It's cheaper than round trip taxi fare to one stop and back to the hotel!!!

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    193
    102
    22
    25
See reviews for
335
322
29
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel was great for us! We were travelling with our 3 month old daughter and our one bedroom suite had enough room for all of us and our stuff. The staff are friendly and helpful. The restaurant was delicious! We would definitely stay again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with my husband and 2 daughters for 4 nights. Spacious, immaculately clean rooms, great restaurant food and service (ate breakfast 4 times, dinner once) and an overall really good experience. The location was great. 30 Rand in a taxi to the Waterfront, or a ten minute walk. The Sky bar was fab - wonderful atmosphere and stunning views. The niggles - the Sky bar being closed for a private party without any notice. Having to ask 3 times for a kettle to be replaced and used facecloths being taken for laundry but not replaced. Niggles, nothing major.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Spent one night here, we had a two bedroom apartment for my girlfriend and I. It was massive.

Service at the front desk was efficient, but saying that it wasn't really welcoming and friendly.

Our room was also disappointing, overlooking a building being refurbished, with painters and workmen looking right into our room. Our air conditioning also went up to 26 degrees during the night, but when we rang in the morning, we were told that someone would come up, but no-one ever arrived.

We went for a swim and a lie by the pool and while lying there some workmen started erecting a tarpaulin, and then some hotel staff began discussing and arranging a function. We found it a bit rude as we were actually paying guests but weren't really considered during all the going-ons

The hotel looks very luxurious. The location is ok but didn't feel too safe walking to the Waterfront after dark (about a 15 minute walk), so I would recommend you get a taxi, as there are plenty outside.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We just spent 5 days in the two bedroom suite, which was quite nice and clean, the location of the hotel was good for us, but that is considering we had a guide taking us around each day so we didn’t really have to worry about how to get around, although taxis were readily available outside the hotel.

A few weeks prior we contacted the hotel to book some restaurants for us and they were very helpful in that.

Living in Dubai, we are quite familiar with what a 5 star hotel should be and unfortunately the Cape Royale did not live up to expectation.

Upon check-in we asked for wireless internet and were only given one code for up to four devices with a maximum of 1 GB, we told them that we are two couples, had we booked two rooms and not one, we would have received two codes, only after asking the manager to intervene did we get two codes.

Over the 5 days we stayed there our towels were not changed one, despite putting them on floor we would come back and find them rolled up in the original place, thinking they were new we used them, until I noticed make up stains on them! Our toiletries were not changed once, despite clearly leaving them with the cap off and on the side to indicate they were empty. We just about had it by the fourth day, and after making a fuss we received fresh towels and refill of toiletries in addition to a bottle of wine.

Overall the hotel was good, not bad, but it is a stretched 4 star at the most.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I just returned from a great stay at the Cape Royale.
I cannot say enough about this place.
The room was HUGE! And so nice.
Add to that an EXCELLENT staff from Grace in the 1800 restaurant, to the woman who helped us with dinner reservations, to the nice valet out front.
I will definitely come back again.
What a great place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for this great review, especially your comments about Grace and the all of our staff. It is so good to receive such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you for your support.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We booked this hotel through British Airways along with flights from Johannesburg and car rental. We stayed here for 3 nights in a two bedroom suite. From the moment we arrived the staff made us feel extremely welcome and were very attentive. They even walked three blocks to go and collect my car and park it for me. The apartment was very large and very clean with modern finishings. There wasn't much in the line of cooking utensils but it seemed liked this could be requested from housekeeping. The roof top bar was a highlight for us and we spent a couple of evenings enjoying the view from up there. We would definitely return as it was fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for this superb review. It is so good to read your comments and share these with our team. This encourages us to keep on aiming to provide the very best of service in Cape Town.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for another excellent stay.
Until then...Keep well and Royal Regards from all of the team at Cape Royale.

Terri Jabaar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8051, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Green Point, just a 10-minute walk from Cape Town Stadium and the V&A Waterfront. It offers bright rooms with free capped Wi-Fi, a rooftop pool and gym. Cape Royale Luxury Hotel features spacious suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen, large living and entertainment areas. All rooms have a flat-screen satellite TV, a CD and DVD Player. Guests of the luxury Cape Royale have a choice between 5 dining options including The Banting Kitchen that offers an exceptional menu and a fresh alternative to modern day dining. There is also a pool bar offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain, as well as a modern gym featuring state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment. Cape Royale's concierge can offer suggestions on local activities and can arrange a complimentary shuttle service that can transport guests within a 5 km radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.