We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quirky!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Royale Luxury Hotel to your Saves list
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8051, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice and quirky!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Splendid hotel. Idea location for the waterfront, and the rooms are spacious and decorated to a high standard.

Our room would be considered a suite by other hotel's standards, and the appliances all looked brand new.

The staff are extremely friendly (although they may take the "Royal" theme a bit far - Lord this/Lord that, announcing your arrival), and are very knowledgable of the local area. For a tiny fee, they'll even whisk you to dinner in a nice new shiny Jaguar XF...

The stay was highly enjoyable and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for your review and great feedback. I am pleased you had such an enjoyable stay with us. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    222
    111
    26
    31
See reviews for
373
355
30
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dulverton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The rooms at this hotel are not what you'd normally expect. They are more like a city centre apartment with a brand new (ours appeared to have never been used) kitchen area with a dishwasher, washer/dryer, oven, hob, microwave etc etc. As we were away for a total of 3 weeks, it was nice to have a few days with these facilities. They are only routinely kitted out with a few items of crockery, cutlery and glassware but a full cooking set of pots and pans etc is available on request for no extra cost.

The rooms are also very large with lovely "wet rooms", separate bedroom and lounge area in addition to the kitchen. Everything was very modern, clean and "city styled".

Although a big, city hotel, all of the lobby staff were excellent and remembered us each day. The concierge was excellent, booking us tickets, arranging cars etc. The hotel has a shuttle every 2 hours which has no designated route but will take you anywhere you request within a 5km radius. Outside of the shuttle times, the hotel has a small fleet of cars (lovely, new Jaguar XF's when we were there) which will take you around the city for a small fee (less than a basic taxi charge) and you can just arrange for them to collect you too.

It is only a short walk from the waterfront, we personally only did this in daylight but we felt perfectly safe when we did.

We did have a few, minor criticisms though. The standard of room cleaning, turn down etc varied day to day, it was never awful, just some days much better than others. We had breakfast included at the 1800 degrees in-hotel restaurant. Whilst the evening meals we paid for were all excellent, breakfast seemed very variable dependant on the chef, I ordered a breakfast burrito 2 days and one day, it was literally a quarter of the size of the day before. Finally, the hotel has been fairly recently renovated and the corridors on each floor are now more like floating walk-ways which are open between all levels. This means that any noise carried from floor to floor much more readily than in a conventional build. One night were kept awake by children screaming and running around on a completely different floor, we couldn't even identify where the noise was coming from.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for your comments and feedback. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Please rest assured that your constructive comments will receive the highest attention. Especially those relating to the breakfast burrito and the housekeeping standards, as this is certainly not the standard we are hoping to achieve and wish to be remembered for.

I am confused about your comment regarding the recent renovation and that the corridors are now more like floating walk ways which caused a noise issue? This floor lay out has not been renovated and has always been the design and layout since we opened. The recent renovations we had recently were to the Sky Bar. I will however certainly investigate your comments regarding noise levels and ensure our security & guest services team monitor this very closely.

Kindest Regards
Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Cape Royale Luxury Hotel for 5 nights in Cape Town. Upon arrival we were very impressed by the service/lobby/welcome. The staff was very friendly and acommodating. The hotel cars which you can hire to take you around town for a nominal fee are brand new Jaguar XFs, which was very nice when we went out for romantic dinners. At first the room seemed fine. It really was a great value under their buy 4 nights get 1 free promotion. Our biggest issue with this hotel was the noise. Not that anyone was being particularly loud, but the hallways are marble tile and are suspended walkways so every floor is open from the 1st floor to the top. Every footstep, door closing, elevator ding, person talking 4 floors away, echoes throughout the hotel. We had trouble falling asleep any time before 11 and we woke up every morning before our wakeup call due to the noise. Don't even think about trying to take an afternoon nap. The other big issue we had is that we had booked a room with a king size bed. We were on our honeymoon so of course we wanted to sleep in the same bed together. However, instead of a king mattress it was two twins. Not two twins under king sheets, literally two twin beds, made up separately and pushed together. Any time we wanted to get snuggly, we would fall into the hole and the mattresses would be pushed apart. Lastly, there is no area to get ready with both a mirror and a wall outlet (for blow drying, hair styling etc) I had to stretch the cord into the hallway to a mirror and pull up a chair from the kitchen table. While the hotel lobby was impeccable, and the room was acceptable, it certainly did not come across as 'luxury.' If you value a good night's sleep, we suggest you search elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

I am disheartened to read your review. Noise complaints like you have identified are certainly not the norm. We have had a complaint on occasion about the noise from ZAR but his has been addressed immediately with noise control systems in place. Rest assured your comments have received the highest attention, I wish this had been mentioned during our stay in order to investigate and we could have changed your room.

Should you be returning to Cape Town, or consider staying at Cape Royale, please feel free to contact me directly on terri.jabaar@caperoyale.co.za and I will ensure a quiet room is allocated.

Kindest Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Began our two week vacation in Africa at the Cape Royale Hotel. Very warm greeting after many hours of travel was perfect. The staff are very helpful to every detail. The location in the heart of the city and very near the waterfront make it a great location. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Nice rooftop pool and bar area with panoramic view of the city and Table Mountain. Hotel restaurant is very good with excellent service. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

What an excellent review you have given us, thank you very much. I am pleased that you holiday started off on such a great note and I hope the rest f your holiday was just as excellent.

Once again many thanks and safe travels :-)

Royal Regards
Terri Jabaar,
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

From your introduction as "lord" and "lady" with the gong upon arrival, to the ocean views with drinks at sunset, you'll enjoy this hotel. The staff is warm and attentive, the restaurant food delicious and the concierge very helpful. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and especially that you enjoyed the Royal Touch....our lord and lady :-) etc.
Thank you for your comments about the staff, the service, food and our concierge team.

Kindest Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

So here I am I'm lying in bed in a Cape Royale suite, under a light, warm silk duvet, after a marvellously hot bath, with the curtains open, watching the large moon peep between the clouds over the stadium and planning what I will have for breakfast downstairs tomorrow. My towel was warm from the heated towel rail and my gown and slippers were already laid out.

Cape Royale is excellent value. The suites are spacious and extremely well-equipped. High quality kitchen appliances, even an iPod dock and two TV's with a wide range of stations.

For me, one of the best features is "proper Wi-Fi", with an actual router in the suite, not some half-hearted cellular connection that never seems to work properly in other hotels and apartments.

Now it is nearly 1am and I need my beauty sleep, but let me just say that I will never stay in another Cape Town hotel as long as Cape Royale maintains this standard.

Till next time ...

Lady Penelope of Eastford

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Lady Penelope,

What a stunning review. Thank you kindly.
This review you have written reads like that from a fairy tale :-) Beautiful and so luxurious.
I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon....for the next chapter of your Royal Stays :-)

Kindest Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Finished a three week vacation in Africa and stayed at the Cape Royale in Cape Town. A great ending to a great trip. Service is excellent, personalized and their when you need it. Fannie and the concierge staff have all the right suggestions, connections and fantastic communication and follow through. Housekeeping staff were excellent as well. Highly recommend the location as well near the V&A Waterfront and Green Point Stadium. Can't be beat. Highly recommend as the Cape Royale has the whole package.

Room Tip: Book a Robben Island tour early as they sell out days in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for this Excellent review of our hotel. Special thanks for your comments regarding Fanie our Guest Services Manager, aswell our Concierge and our housekeeping teams. I will ensure to share your feedback.

I hope the rest of your vacation in South Africa was just as excellent as your time at Cape Royale. Safe travels.

Kindest Regards
Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8051, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Green Point, just a 10-minute walk from Cape Town Stadium and the V&A Waterfront. It offers bright rooms with free capped Wi-Fi, a rooftop pool and gym. Cape Royale Luxury Hotel features spacious suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen, large living and entertainment areas. All rooms have a flat-screen satellite TV, a CD and DVD Player. Guests of the luxury Cape Royale have a choice between 5 dining options including a pool bar offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain, as well as a modern gym featuring state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment. Cape Royale's concierge can offer suggestions on local activities and can arrange a complimentary shuttle service that can transport guests within a 5 km radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Splendia, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.