We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT LOCATION AND SERVICE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Royale Luxury Hotel to your Saves list
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8051, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT LOCATION AND SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Cape Royale is an excellent hotel at an excellent location in Cape Town.it is within a walkable distance from the V&A wharf (more or less 8 blocks distance) and we enjoyed the hotel very much. We were upgraded to a front view apartment with 3 bedrooms (our daughters loved it) and kitchen + washing/drying machine which came in very handy.
I suggest you bring your own plug adaptor or buy one at V&A wharf as the hotel seemed short on them...

Room Tip: Even though it faces an important avenue, it is not noisy after 10pm. of course front apartments hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Royal Guests,

What an excellent review. Thank you kindly. It is great to receive such positive feedback especially that your whole family had such an enjoyable stay. We pride ourselves in the highest service levels.

Thanks for your comments regarding international adaptor plugs, please be assured I have triple check stock to ensure we have sufficent plugs available for all our guests.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    193
    102
    22
    25
See reviews for
335
322
29
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Great location, clean, friendly staff and enough space in each suite to have a party. First class accommodations and when in Cape Town, we will stay there again. The morning brunch is fantastic with a great selection of fresh fruits, meats and made to order breakfast items.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Royal Guest,

'Home away from home' - that is great to hear. I am very pleased that you felt so comfortable and relaxed during your stay with us and that we helped you feel like you where at home.

We hope to wecome you back, one day soon :-).

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for one night, on 10 Nov; it was my first stay here; this is not a hotel; this is a home away from home, run by a TEAM; everyone was most welcoming and friendly, and we loved the fact that the gong and song and hand clapping announced our arrival. Smooth check in and valet parking. Unfortunately shortly after we arrived, we were involved in a car accident with another car, about 50 metres from the hotel; however, the hotel staff quickly came to assist us at the scene of the accident and escorted us back to the hotel, gave us refreshments, called the police and the car rental company, and dealt with the unpleasant bits. My 77 year old mother and 10 year old niece were particulary shaken, but the hotel and restaurant staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and treated us in true Cape Royale style. Fully equipped kitchen, efficient room service. Within easy walking distance to coffee bars, restaurants and shops. We were not here long enough to make use of the spa, sky bar, swimming pool or other facilities, so cannot comment, however the 360 degree view from the sky bar is amazing. Hopefully, we' ll be back soon, to visit the TEAM.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Lady Laura,

Thank you for your kind review and comments. These are greatly appreciated. I am so pleased that no-one was injured during the accident and that your mother and niece where assisted to by our team and we managed to help calm the situation.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Cape Royale, hopefully in the not too distant future. Until then, may we wish you a fabulous festive season and all the very best for the New Year.

Royal Regards

Terri Mallett
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent,
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Yes you do get a gong to announce your arrival, which was really good fun.
All the staff were so welcoming without being in your face they all seemed to be really proud of their hotel.
There was a problem upon arriving, not their fault and totally made up for it. Really looked after my children as well.
Hopefully will get to stay there one day again.
Thomas and all the staff are a real treasure cannot rate them highly enough. Thank you for a wonderful time. Lord and Lady Kennett signing off.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Lord and Lady Kennett,

Thank you, thank you, thank you :-) What can I say, but we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Cape Royale. It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us and hurry back soon.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar, Thomas & the team at Cape Royale
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Upon arriving at the Cape Royale I quickly learned there is no method, process or signage for how you should arrive by car. The parking garage gate was very awkward and stressful to find parking once you got in. Upon entering the hotel, the doorman ask my name, began to announce me in a roaring baritone voice (mispronouncing my name, which made it somewhat humorous) and then proceeded to hit a small arrival gong on a nearby table sending all the hotel staff to jump to their feet.

At first I thought this might be a reality television show where I was the an unknowing guest of a practical joke. Being from another country your never quite sure how dry the humor may be, but when the hotel desk began to hand over the ostrich feather with a ball point pen wedged in it to sign the hotel register, I began to realized this was standard procedure.

The room lacked a desk, and since I was on business sorely missed. The Internet bandwidth was a mess most of the time I was there, and never really worked. After days of the staff telling me to patch into the WiFi in the room next to me, which belonged to a permanent residence of the hotel-apartment, I decided there might be a large Internet bandwidth issue. The hotel IT person said it was because of South Africa infrastructure issues, citing the cable had to go under the ocean from Europe; another humorous moment. But I pointed out it worked in other parts of the city he could offer no explanation. The business center has been removed from the second floor and relocated to the hotel lobby, where most days you find children of the hotel guest playing and fiddling with the key boards, while you wait for their parents to show up.

The hotel room bathroom has some serious design flaws, lacking a proper shower pan for drainage. Therefore the shower tends to drain onto the bedroom floor which is poorly made engineered laminate flooring. The room closet was a flaking laminate Ikea closet system that was buckling under its weight.

The roof Sky Deck was closed most of the time I was there for renovations and lacked signage for any information on when it was opening. That was a disappointment, and a feature I was looking forward to.

The hotel staff and management did take all my concerns under advisement. I do feel however, the hotel suffers from ownership that has not address proper, functioning maintenance issues and for that reason believe the hotel will not age in grace.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Lord James,

Thank you kindly for your very constructive comments. Thank you also for taking the time to detail all of these points you have raised and please be assured I have investigated them all.

Please accept my apologies for the miscommunication regarding the Valet Parking. All our guest vehicles are valet parked and should be parked at the front of the hotle by the guest and then our drivers would take over. This should be a seamless service.

My apologies also for the internet issues that your experienced and the lack of business desk in your suite. This should have been made available to you and the internet issues resolved prior to check in. Occassionally we have issues with International PCs connecting to the wifi, but we are able to adjust settings and resolve this.

Please be assured that the Sky Bar is up and running 100% and was closed for essentail maintenance work.

Please feel free to contact me directly should you plan on returning to Cape Town. I can assure you your comments have received the utmost attention and you will note an improvement.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Stunning views from roof top terrace. Sat and had cocktails and watched sun set. Very bizarre there was no cocktail menu but when they came they were delicious ( we did wonder where the alcohol was though). No tonic water either?!!!! But lovely location and not too expensive.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Lady Sarah,

Thank you for you lovely review. I will ensure to share all your comments with the team and especially our Sky Bar team. Rest assured that a cocktail menu is in operation as is ALL availability of stock. We closed for a short period to revamp the SkyBar and attend to some essential maintenance work. All issues that where impacted by the revamp have been addressed and rectified.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

From the moment we arrived until our departure 4 days later, we felt we were at a luxurious place and treated as special guests, although it seems everyone is treated this way.

On our arrival we were announced as Lord Nick and Lady Carly to a gong and a round of applause. A nice touch, which was repeated for every guest.

We were lucky to be upgraded to a King family room which was huge, it was like a large apartment complete with 2 ensuits, kitchen, washing machine (very handy!) and a fridge freezer. The room was clean and generally a very nice place to be.

Breakfast was a real treat, excellent cooked selection, well cooked - eggs benedict in particular. Fresh orange juice and nice lattes.

The staff were all very welcoming, professional and ultra smart. Particular mention to Blessing and Seddick.

They run a free shuttle bus to a 5km radius, and free pick up on phone call - a much appreciated service, which we found to be very reliable

An amazing place to stay and base for Cape Town

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8051, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Green Point, just a 10-minute walk from Cape Town Stadium and the V&A Waterfront. It offers bright rooms with free capped Wi-Fi, a rooftop pool and gym. Cape Royale Luxury Hotel features spacious suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen, large living and entertainment areas. All rooms have a flat-screen satellite TV, a CD and DVD Player. Guests of the luxury Cape Royale have a choice between 5 dining options including The Banting Kitchen that offers an exceptional menu and a fresh alternative to modern day dining. There is also a pool bar offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain, as well as a modern gym featuring state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment. Cape Royale's concierge can offer suggestions on local activities and can arrange a complimentary shuttle service that can transport guests within a 5 km radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.