We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and Stylish with charm and charisma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Royale Luxury Hotel to your Saves list
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8051, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 104 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rustenburg, South Africa
1 review
“Modern and Stylish with charm and charisma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A modern and stylish hotel, with an old-style hotel charm and charisma, you are made to feel welcome by a Doorman in traditional top hat and tails. Striking the gong and announcing your arrival at the hotel as “Lord and Lady” with a round of applause, the Management and staff welcome you to their hotel.
We had a brief one night stay that was luxurious and relaxed; we stayed in a beautifully chosen 3 bedroomed suite that could be your home away from home, with the vast space and all the modern conveniences, one night was just not enough.
We dined in the 1800° restaurant and were treated to one of the restaurants delicious signature steaks and scrumptious desserts.
Our brief stay was most enjoyable and we would definitely return.
Thank you to the Management and Staff for making our stay special and enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Lady Sandra-Leigh,

A charming review you have given us. Thank you so very much.

I really hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to 'spoil' you once again at Cape Royale.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    222
    112
    26
    31
See reviews for
374
356
30
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After confirming via email we requested a quiet room and we got probably the worst room in the hotel on the busy road side. We found the beds and pillows to be uncomfortable and the kitchenette seriously understocked. They did bring us bits and pieces when asked but for example when we asked for a bottle opener, the butler asked if he could open our bottle and keep the opener as it was their last one. The sky deck and bar was shut, instead they opened the roof villas which had pools, but once this was discovered by the rest of the hotel there was not enough chairs and umbrells to go around so certain days it was not possible to be up there. We booked a business suite as we had some work to do but the hotels internet connection was poor. The room wi-fi was sketchy and slow at best and for 2-3 days we had no access, even the lobby business centre was unavailable. I will say that at all times they tried to resolve matters such as transfering us to a better room in the second week of our stay, but generally the attention to detail for this level of hotel was not at the level you would expect (such as chipped wine glasses, poor housekeeping and faulty lighting). The gym was compact but useful - again it was poorly kept of towels, water and cups and one day I had to ask them to clean as i had done three days of work outs and the same dirt and rubbish was still there. Perhaps on a short stay you might not notice the problems. On a brighter note the food at the restaurant was excellent, the waiters were lovely and the VIP travel desk was unfailing in their shuttling service. The spa staff were outstanding we rated the massages very highly. When the staff answer the phone they are programmed to end by saying "how can i add value to your day" - i feel they should express this by their attention to detail and not take this concept so literally as to ask you.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountain or facing the side street are quiter and have a better outlook, avoid the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments and for taking to time to write this review. I am extremely sorry to learn that you had such issues as you have noted during your stay. Please be assured that we will carry out a full investigation to understand what caused such shortfalls in service, as it is certainly not the norm.
We have been running at extremely high occupancies for a long time now, our guest satisfaction is currently at 92% and the recent feedback on Trip Advisor has been outstanding. Again my sincere apologies for the shortfalls you have noted and that we need not met you expectations.

On a postive note, thank you for your positive comments regarding our restaurant, VIP Drives & the Spa. I will ensure this feedback is shared with the team.

Should you return to Cape Town in the future, please feel free to contact me directly.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK, essex
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The hotel is set 10 minutes walk back from the V&A waterfront, ok to walk during the day but catch the free hotel shuttle bus or a taxi in the evening. On the same road is some casual restaurants for local eating but be a little careful walking up and down this road at night time.

The hotel is well presented and has an underground car park at 12 ZAR a night but sometimes is full and seems to be shared with residents. I accidentally parked in a wrong bay and someone wrote on my window screen with lipstick, classy.

When we entered the hotel for the first time, the gong was sounded and were were announced as Lord and Lady. This is over the top for us, maybe fun for some but after travelling a reasonable amount myself and staying in plenty of hotels, its a bit too cheesy which goes the same for the quill pens they use when signing in. There is being luxurious and then there is being OTT, if you want to be taken seriously, this needs to be dropped. The hotel reception area is tidy with a couple of PCs that you can access the internet and print for free. Note the hotel has free wireless in the rooms but not in common areas which is frustrating and its not reliable. The bedroom was very spacious, and clean. Stupid things annoy you, such as limited coffee pods for the in room coffee machine, no english breakfast tea even when you ask. No utensils if you want them in the kitchen, unless you ask. The main bed is poor, it is a very small double bed and makes a noise when you move, the double in the second room is two mattresses and note no TV in the second room. Considering you need to be safe in Cape Town, there are no viewing lens in the doors in the hotel rooms, all these things need addressing. The overall room is very large and well equipped, they have done this well, complete with AirCon and doors opening up for some evening sun in to the lounge area. The bathrooms are spacious and nicely equipped and cleaned well every day. We had room service one night, it was ok and everything is served to you by a butler, which is just a normal hotel member of staff. Another bit of OTT.... There is no mini bar, you have to order your drinks, they bring it to your room and put it in your fridge and you pay for everything even if you don't drink it.

The hotel sky lounge bar was shut when we were there, so we used a very tiny bar down stairs, service was excellent but because it was so small, it wasn't used and had no atmosphere. There was a small outside area but it was a little chilly at night time and noisy as it was right next to the main road. The bar staff were good though and remembered how we liked our wine chilled! Caran the bar manager was excellent, she was a big plus for the hotel and is very helpful and kind, she also assisted with local knowledge, someone the hotel should look after. When the sky lounge was opened on our last night, we were told as hotel guests we couldn't use it as it was a private party, nice touch, how to look after your guests!!!!!! Also the hotel roof top pool was also closed so we used the splash pool next to the private villas, this was a joke, you had to ask to gain entrance, there were no towels unless you phoned reception, no facilities to get drinks or food and we were not advised when we booked. When I reached out to Terri the general manager, she was under the impression it was all finished, it wasn't! She passed my email on to someone else who also didn't give that much advice, I felt like we were being brushed off. We used the very small pool on our last day when it opened, you cant swim, its more a splash pool and there are only about 12 sun loungers and 4 double sun loungers. There was astroturf which was very hot on your feet in the sun and you could touch the sun loungers as the cushions also absorbed the heat and were too hot. You could only get drinks and no food is available at the bar.

The gym is small, two treadmills, two bikes, one bench, two fitness balls, anymore than 6 people and its crammed, once gain it felt make shift. It shares the same floor as the Spa which we didn't use, however on your last day, you can ask to use this to freshen up before you leave if you leave late in the day. It has showers and everything you need.

Breakfast is downstairs and is a nice affair, sit inside or outside. Breakfast was good and the omelettes were excellent. Once again the staff were great. Its a full buffet but note it closes at 10.30am.

Overall the staff are excellent, the higher management need to be present to deal with the guests, I feel they hide away! The rooms are nice and the hotel is well kept. If you want a reasonable price hotel for a place to sleep with no real facilities, this is your place. If you are looking for a family friendly hotel, where you want to spend sometime, skip this hotel and there are other hotels better suited.

This hotel needs focus and attention to get it to a serious 4 or 5 star rating.

Room Tip: Ask not to face the road as its noisy. A high floor is better, also get one that doesnt back on to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Mr Drage,

Thank you for your comments. I am disappointed to learn that we did not meet all your expectations on your recent stay in Cape Town.

When you contacted me, I advised you I was on annual leave overseas, therefore I could not assist personally, but arranged for our Rooms Division Manager to assist with your concern regarding the Sky Bar closure. The Sky Bar was scheduled to have re-opened by the time you arrived but unfortunately due to unforeseen circumstances there was a delay in re-opening and we really could not have avoided this. My apologies for this inconvenience to you.
The Sky Bar has since re-opened and we have received excellent feedback from guests, residents and recent groups we have had in house. I really do apologise that you did not get to experience the Sky Bar fully.

Mr Drage, thank you for your constructive comments and please rest assured we will conduct a full investigation into all the comments you have noted. I am sure you will have noted, based on previous comments on Trip Advisor and our Guest Satisfaction score currently at 92%, this is certainly not the norm.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Mr Drage, please do contact me directly if
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom suite which was immense, luxurious, and very comfortable. We did have some trouble figuring out how to use the washer/dryer as the staff member who came up to instruct us had a very heavy accent. Nonetheless, it was great to have this available in the suite. Breakfasts, included in our package, were delicious, with a great deal of variety. The wait staff in the restaurant were very attentive as were the doormen and the reception staff. Be sure to ask reception to book your cablecar to Table Mountain before you go so as to avoid the lineups at the site.

The hotel is located in an area which is a little sketchy at night, however. We took advantage of the free shuttle but there were problems with this - we were never picked up as requested one evening and ended up having to take a cab back; another time we had to call several times before being picked up. The drivers explained they had been swamped. In conversation with another family, we discovered they had experienced the same difficulties. If the hotel offers this service, they should make sure they have enough staff/vehicles to meet the demand.

Several travellers have mentioned the gong on arrival and being addressed as Lord or Lady. We found this amusing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Lady Martha :-),

Thank you for this lovely review and for your very valuable comments. I am pleased to note you had an enjoyable stay and please be assured that your comments regarding the transfers are greatly appreciated. This feedback has assisted us in reviewing the availability of vehicles in the evenings and we will certain put measures in place to avoid a repeat.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

It is difficult to put into words how wonderful our hotel experience was! From the delicious food to the 2 bedroom perfect 5 star apartment not even to mention the very friendly staff!!! The list can go on and on. Thank you for a weekend I will never forget!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you, thank you, thank you,
Your feedfback is so greatly appreciated and I am pleased to learn that you had a fantabulous weekend with us!

I really hope we have the privilage of welcoming you back soon.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar & The team at Cape Royale
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winteringham
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our tour of South Africa and had a wonderful experience, the location is very convenient for V & A with a free hourly shuttle to and from the Waterfront, they also arranged for transport to District 6 museum FOC, all the staff we encountered were willing to go the extra mile to make our stay memorable. The breakfast choice was superb with excellent fresh fruit, pastries, platters along with traditional hot breakfast. Rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean with ours having a tremendous view of Table Mountain. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Lord Steve,

Thank you for this review. Our guest experience is focused on going the extra mile and making that special little bit more effort for all our guests. We value every guest, every comment, good or bad and our mission is to be the very best at every opportunity. I am so pleased that we achieved this for you, especially at the end of your tour.

I hope you got back home safely.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had total comfort , luxurious care beautiful food ,and wonderful personal attention given by all the staff, We loved having the 2 bedroomed spacious elegent apartment. We truly had a marvellous time and were made to feel VIPs.
The conceirge Sedich Atcheck could not have been more helpful in every way and gave great advice re tours , shopping, etc,
I have already recommended this hotel to family and friends due to visit Cape Town.

The hotel was ideally situated for visiting the V+A waterfront , so convenient for the many interesting tours etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Lady Anna....you VIP you :-)

VIP indeed, for all our guests...
Thank you for the comment, it is greatly appreciated and now Sedick is smiling even more, (if thats even possible!!).
Your comments are warnly received and are published on all our 'Champion' team noticeboards.

Please ask you friends to contact us when they are visiting.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar, Sedick and the team at Cape Royale
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8051, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Green Point, just a 10-minute walk from Cape Town Stadium and the V&A Waterfront. It offers bright rooms with free capped Wi-Fi, a rooftop pool and gym. Cape Royale Luxury Hotel features spacious suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen, large living and entertainment areas. All rooms have a flat-screen satellite TV, a CD and DVD Player. Guests of the luxury Cape Royale have a choice between 5 dining options including a pool bar offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain, as well as a modern gym featuring state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment. Cape Royale's concierge can offer suggestions on local activities and can arrange a complimentary shuttle service that can transport guests within a 5 km radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Hotel.de, Splendia, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.