We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Diem Lodge

Save Saved
You added Cape Diem Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cape Diem Lodge
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   11 Vesperdene | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 148 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Perfect Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

We chose this lodge, after considering some of the larger hotels in Cape Town and must say, that I'm so pleased we did.

This is a beautiful well run guest house and the pictures you seen on the website really do reflect how lovely it is.

The owner Daniel and manager Brigitte are very helpful for recommending places to eat and drink, as well as organising tours. Lovely people.

There is parking available in a garage at the hotel, which can accommodate several cars. However, for visiting the V & A, you really do not need a car. It's about a 10 minute walk down a safe road. Breakfast is nice and freshly cooked to order. Pool area is lovely after a busy day sightseeing.

The lodge is non smoking, so given that my husband and I do both smoke, I was pleased that we had a room, overlooking the pool, with a table and chairs right outside our terrace door. Nice to be able to sit down and have a cigarette, without trekking too far.

Our room was a standard room and although not huge, was perfect for what we needed. The bed was situated upstairs in the 'loft'. However, the roof was quite low, so if you are tall, I would make sure you email ahead to make sure you are not given this room. We are both around 5ft 7", so it wasn't a problem for us. Bed super comfortable with flatscreen tv in room. Nice touch being left little bars of chocolate every day by Brigitte and Housekeeping staff.

There is a security guard present at the hotel overnight, so we always felt safe.

There is a nice bar/restaurant 2 minutes walk from the hotel calle Manos, for food and drinks at night, if you don't fancy venturing too far.

The lodge is up a bit of a hill, which can be a bit tiring to walk up in the heat of the day. Taxis are cheap though, so it won't cost you much if you're feeling to lazy to walk. That said - it was a nice location and very quiet. Very near to the Greenpoint Stadium, if you are staying here for a concert.

All in all, next time we come back to this hotel, we'll be looking no further than this lodge. Much nicer and more personal than a large chain of hotels, in our opinion.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    14
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
83
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

This is a stunning property with no unnecessary whims. Whilst there are no meals except breakfast around Greenpoint there are dozens of opportunities within 5-10 mins by car. A fab pool, competent staff and a small personalised set-up. A fab way to end or begin Africa

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

OK this is not a big hotel right but it is superb. It has great rooms its own pool and is well placed for the whole of Cape Town. Only problem the local barking dogs but hey that's life it could be noisy guests at a big hotel

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

Traveled the Western Cape with my family. The Cape Diem Lodge was the right place to be. Such a wonderful position close to everything, the stadium, the Waterfront, the new Cape Quarter and and and. My family and me enjoyed the lovely rooms and the beaurtiful pool area most

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

We stayed just one night at this lovely boutique hotel in Greenpoint before we boarded our cruise ship. We flew in from the north of South Africa after doing a Game drive and the owner of the hotel organized for us to have a car meet us at the airport which was a great idea.

The hotel is within walking distance of the V & A waterfront complex where there are so many interesting shops and places of interest.

Our room was at the front of the house and very private. We had a king size bed which was so comfortable, a bath and a lovely bathroom. The bedroom was extremely spacious and bright.

We ate dinner at one of the restaurants just around the corner from the Lodge for and add a delicious meal for half the cost of the same meal here in Australia.

The breakfast next morning which was included was excellent. Eggs were cooked to order and there was a large choice of various foods to eat. A toaster was provided so one could toast the bread to their liking.

There was also free wireless in our room which is a bonus if you are away from home.

It was a short but very comfortable stay at this lovely Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

Just returned from a great trip and stayed at Cape Diem Lodge if you are looking for comfort warmth and freindliness along with all modern amenities this is the place.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

We had a lovely three days in Cape Diem Lodge. We took turns exploring the area or the Cape and lounging by the pool with a book and a good cup of coffee. Daniel had some good sightseeing tips and knows the area really well. The house is beautifully restored and the rooms modern, but still cozy!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Diem Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Diem Lodge

Address: 11 Vesperdene | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Diem Lodge 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don’t expect the ordinary…”better sleeping, better relaxing, better eating – better Cape Diem LODGE!” In our brand new and stylish Cape Diem LODGE you’ll find victorian charm, mixed with an award winning european interior design and all of that in the heart of vibrant Cape Town. Let us free you from the normal hotel stress. Our fresh, host and easy team wants to treat you like friends and as such, you will be sure to come. The house represents one of the first Farm Houses in Greenpoint, dating back to early 1875, equipped with the latest of modern interior, set in a beautifully landscaped garden with a sparkling pool and a Teak wood sundeck, where you’ll enjoy your rich english breakfast in the morning. It is gently attached to the lower slopes of Signal Hill, overlooking the Bay, Blouwberg Strand, Robben Island and the VA Waterfront and only minutes away from the cities major attractions.Our idea to “relaunche” and converte this victorian jewel from early 1900, in one of Cape Towns most thought after positions, into a luxurious meeting point for friends from around the world, came with a blink of an eye. The complete restoration in 2007/2008 was taking us several month and carried out with the greatest care to details. Influences of old and new, local and global, come together in playful harmony. Our motto: contemporary design in historical surroundings!In the heart of the house, you’ll be able to relax in our cosy and elegant lounge. Enjoy a book and a glas of exquisit south african wine or lay back in front of our open fire place during the winter.Our perfectly appointed rooms are offered in Classic or Superior. The interior is inspired by the new generation of young south african designers. Light and characterised by innumerable details, as well as kingsized beds, innovative bathrooms, state of the art self controled cooling & heating system, LCD Flatscreen TV’s & DVD’s and a fully loaded minibar including south african wines and champagne. Our complimentary wireless Lan internet connection does not only cater our friends on business, but may be enjoyed by everyone. Furthermore, all of our guest rooms are equipped with a CD sound experience, an Nespresso Coffee station, self dial telephones, digital safe, hair dryer, bathrobes + slippers, luxury bath ameneties, shower & bath and so much more… Why not trying out our pillow menu? Challenge us – what more can we get you?We also would like to offer you a personal, secure and hassle free pick-up in a luxury SUV from or to the Airport to the Cape Diem LODGE at a total of only R 450,- for 2 guests/per way. We only ask you for an early reservation and your exact flight details – leave the rest to us!We wish you already today the best possible trip to Cape Town and a very pleasant stay at your Cape Diem Lodge.Warm regards from Cape Town,Your Cape Diem LODGE Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Cape Diem Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Diem Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Diem Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.