We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Diem Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Diem Lodge to your Saves list
Cape Diem Lodge
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   11 Vesperdene | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 149 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed at the Cape Diem Lodge for two nights and found it a lovely, quiet hotel in a very good location. 15 minutes walk got you to the Waterfront and an equally simple walk took you into the city centre. Parking was very easy opposite the hotel and although just off the main road there was very little noise. The interior of the hotel was well appointed and had a welcoming & homely atmosphere. The rooms were equally lovely with plenty of space and everything you'd need.
Breakfast was more than adequate with a good selection of self serve options plus a choice of something cooked if required. The staff were attentive, friendly and chatty and made my stay very enjoyable. The garden and pool were kept immaculate which was a lovely outlook when having breakfast.
I would stay here again without hesitation :)

Room Tip: One or maybe two of the rooms overlook the garden and patio where breakfast is served. If you plan o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    17
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
14
106
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
in MA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have mixed feelings because while it is a very modern guest house in a decent area, I wasn't totally comfortable there. It is a converted house which is wonderful, but I didn't feel I had much privacy as sounds carried easily.

I had a good experience where I accidentally left something behind in my room and Daniel made sure it got delivered to me as soon as humanly possibly at one of my next stops. however, I had a bad experience as well.

The manager was to give me a ride to the airport for an 8 AM flight on the day I left. I mentioned several times both the night before and the morning of my departure to the manager and staff members that I had this flight as I was concerned about the manager not even arriving at work until between 7-7:15 AM and I was worried that I wouldn't have enough time. I even mentioned that here in the USA it is standard policy to be at the airport an hour before a domestic flight. Everyone said not to worry and that I would have plenty of time.

My worst fear was realized as we didn't even leave the guest house until 7:15 AM. I got to the airport to find they had closed the gate and I was too late to take my flight. After paying a change ticket fee, they found me a seat on a flight an hour and a half later. Fortunately the rest of my birthday worked out okay, but I was very upset because I had done my best to avoid missing my flight and still did so.

If I ever stay here again, I would make outside arrangements to ensure I get to the airport on time. The breakfast was nice with a great range of offerngs The option of bathtub or shower was nice also.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBalbach, Manager at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your review !

We apologize sincerely with regards to the missed flight .

We offer transfers to and from the airport and always make sure that our guests are picked up and dropped off timeously.

There was a big misunderstanding with your flight and we are truly sorry for you to have missed your flight on your birthday.

Should you come back to Cape Town and to Cape Diem Lodge, we will be 200% sure that you receive on-time, complementary transfers on us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This guest house is very well located because on the one hand it's in a quiet street and on the other hand close to the Waterfront and the City Center.
The staff is extraordinarily friendly and helpful in giving advise or recommendations.
The interior of the Lodge is very classy and you can definitely see that Daniel (owner) put a lot of effort in creating this house into a cosy and homey place!
I would definitely come back to this wonderful Lodge and recommend it without limitation!

Room Tip: Let them reserve a table for you at "Beluga restaurant" which is in walking distance. Grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Very modern and tidy rooms, bathroom and bedroom connected as one, DVD player with lots of movies to choose from!
Excellent service.
The pool is nice. The location is very good, close to restaurants, pubs, the lighthouse and the V&A waterfront. Small and quiet street with no disturbances. Close to the Green Point Park.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed at cape diem lodge and we have had another great visit. The location of the lodge is excellent with green point & the waterfront both within walking distance.
The staff were really friendly and were very accommodating with any requests and were always on hand to answer any questions we had. The pool area is also lovely with lots of space to relax and enjoy the sunshine.
If we did have a couple of criticisms since our last visit they are the lack of fresh fruit at breakfast and we thought the towels in the bathrooms could do with being replaced. These are very minor criticisms but only made to support the lodge.
Finally one tip would be to request a room at the back of the lodge as the two front rooms can be very noisey.
Overall another pleasant stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBalbach, Manager at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review!

We normally always have a variety of fresh fruit ,at least four different ones but maybe that day it was not replenished quick enough.

We have also looked into the towel scenario and we have now replenished them with new, soft and fluffy towels.

We would really like to see you again in the future !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Unfortunately we may be slightly biased as this is the type of property we would not normally stay in. We were staying in the Radisson Blu for 5 nights but could not get the extra night we needed so we chose Cape Diem for our last night before moving on for the rest of our holiday. We prefer to stay in hotels rather than guest houses. We only stayed the one night and it was very clean and friendly with very helpful staff. The owner has put his stamp on the property in terms of style and panache but it requires some work on the basic structure. The rumbling sliding glass door that crudely closes either the shower or the toilet afforded no real privacy. The bedroom and bathroom were basically open plan. The breakfast was nice although lacking a variety of fresh fruit. The staff were happy to provide you with a substantial breakfast if required. I am sure the property was advertised as having parking facilities. We arrived early afternoon and were lucky to get the only secure space off road. I believe the road outside is restricted parking. If you like Guest Houses then you will probably like this one. Apologies but we prefer modern hotels. I know people who absolutely do not like hotels so they may like Cape Diem. The write-ups from previous guests made us choose this one for our one night stay. They seemed to be very pleased with Cape Diem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Cape Diem Lodge was our first experience of Cape Town accommodation. We couldn't believe how lucky we were to have chosen it. The owner Daniel has achieved a very stylish, attractive property and he and is staff couldn't do enough to make our stay perfect (without being intrusive). We would definitely stay again and highly recommended it. Breakfast on the verandah overlooking the pool was special. The location is in Green Point, very close to the V&A Waterfront, in a quiet street. If you are considering this accommodation, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBalbach, Manager at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Diem Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Diem Lodge

Address: 11 Vesperdene | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Diem Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don’t expect the ordinary…”better sleeping, better relaxing, better eating – better Cape Diem LODGE!” In our brand new and stylish Cape Diem LODGE you’ll find victorian charm, mixed with an award winning european interior design and all of that in the heart of vibrant Cape Town. Let us free you from the normal hotel stress. Our fresh, host and easy team wants to treat you like friends and as such, you will be sure to come. The house represents one of the first Farm Houses in Greenpoint, dating back to early 1875, equipped with the latest of modern interior, set in a beautifully landscaped garden with a sparkling pool and a Teak wood sundeck, where you’ll enjoy your rich english breakfast in the morning. It is gently attached to the lower slopes of Signal Hill, overlooking the Bay, Blouwberg Strand, Robben Island and the VA Waterfront and only minutes away from the cities major attractions.Our idea to “relaunche” and converte this victorian jewel from early 1900, in one of Cape Towns most thought after positions, into a luxurious meeting point for friends from around the world, came with a blink of an eye. The complete restoration in 2007/2008 was taking us several month and carried out with the greatest care to details. Influences of old and new, local and global, come together in playful harmony. Our motto: contemporary design in historical surroundings!In the heart of the house, you’ll be able to relax in our cosy and elegant lounge. Enjoy a book and a glas of exquisit south african wine or lay back in front of our open fire place during the winter.Our perfectly appointed rooms are offered in Classic or Superior. The interior is inspired by the new generation of young south african designers. Light and characterised by innumerable details, as well as kingsized beds, innovative bathrooms, state of the art self controled cooling & heating system, LCD Flatscreen TV’s & DVD’s and a fully loaded minibar including south african wines and champagne. Our complimentary wireless Lan internet connection does not only cater our friends on business, but may be enjoyed by everyone. Furthermore, all of our guest rooms are equipped with a CD sound experience, an Nespresso Coffee station, self dial telephones, digital safe, hair dryer, bathrobes + slippers, luxury bath ameneties, shower & bath and so much more… Why not trying out our pillow menu? Challenge us – what more can we get you?We also would like to offer you a personal, secure and hassle free pick-up in a luxury SUV from or to the Airport to the Cape Diem LODGE at a total of only R 450,- for 2 guests/per way. We only ask you for an early reservation and your exact flight details – leave the rest to us!We wish you already today the best possible trip to Cape Town and a very pleasant stay at your Cape Diem Lodge.Warm regards from Cape Town,Your Cape Diem LODGE Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Cape Diem Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Diem Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Diem Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.