We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bickley Terraces

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bickley Terraces to your Saves list
Bickley Terraces
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   23 Bickley Road, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 149 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Malmesbury, South Africa
1 review
“Very dissappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

After hours spending on the web searching for a nice place to stay while in the area for two nights, we came upon Bickley Terraces. Beautiful pictures of what it supposedly looks like and we decided that's the place for us. After hitting the "book now" button the site told us there were only one room left and we sure made our booking right there and then. When we arrived however, it was nothing that we expected or what the website made the place out to be. Shabby building and room which were very dirty and the bathroom mouldy. No tv or even a kettle to make some coffee in your room. No aircon, and we are in mid summer!!, just a fan? We had to get up several times during the night to get the power box to work again, so that the fan doesn't stop. Power kept on tripping. Breakfast was terrible. Grated cheese were dry and oily from standing too long outside. Fruit weren't fresh. Overall it was a very bad experience, especially for the amount of money paid for two nights stay. We definately could have done better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luschka M, Manager at Bickley Terraces, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay at Bickley. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the very disappointing stay you experienced,however , thank you for highlighting the issues that we need to focus on immediately.

Bickley consists of Bickley Terraces, our four star graded establishment and Bickley Annex, our ungraded budget rooms . These rooms have no television, safe or air conditioning. We have tried to differentiate these establishments on our website and apologize for the confusion it has caused. The fact that these are budget rooms is most certainly not an excuse for them to be dirty.

Once again my apologies for breakfast, we pride ourselves in providing the freshest ingredients, we will definitely follow up and ensure that this NEVER occurs again.

We hope that we can welcome you back to Bickley in the near future as we would like an opportunity to show what Bickley truly has to offer.

Kind Regards
Bickley Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
3
21
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We love Bickley Terraces and all the staff! We came to Cape Town to get married, we arrived a wedding party of 16 people which included the grandparents and a child. There are a variety of room types, we all stayed in the standard rooms for a week. Compared to London, these rooms are large, clean and air conditioned - real value for money.

The location of the guest house was also perfect! Only a few minutes walking distance to the nearest shops, restaurants and beach. The guest house offers a shuttle service to and from the airport as well as transport and tours of the city. We felt completely safe all the time. The buffet breakfast is excellent, they also do a nice omelette of your choice!

Above all, the friendly and helpful staff made our stay all the more enjoyable and memorable. The management really went out of their way to make our wedding day special moving us into penthouse suite with champagne and flowers. So unexpected, a real surprise - thank you so much.

Thank you Bickley Terraces for an amazing and unforgettable stay! We are coming back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luschka M, Manager at Bickley Terraces, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the beautiful review, at Bickley we strive for excellence!

We are pleased that you had enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kind Regards
Bickley Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Spent 4 nights here as base for Cape Town exploration. Was a bit daunted when arrived on a very quiet Sunday afternoon. Room was shabby even though one of the better standard i.e. a more expensive one, with several things not working. Staff however were friendly and tried hard. The breakfasts were good, location OKish, if a little intimidating, as could walk if so minded to Waterfront and more locally to promenade with ocean views. We stayed somewhere else in Sea Point on return to Cape Town before flight back to UK.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luschka M, Manager at Bickley Terraces, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback, we would like to apologize on behalf of the team for your stay.

Please be advised that since your stay the Standard Double rooms has been renovated.

Thank you for complimenting our staff who tries to always be friendly and accommodating.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Bickley Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Overall alright, breakfasts a little off... Especially the cold breakfasts, linen was a little unclean and the room smelled of smoke, although it was a non smoking room, however, it was good value for money, and all my problems with the establishment were quickly rectified.
Centrally located and all the staff working there were friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luschka M, Manager at Bickley Terraces, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are pleased that we were able to rectify all your problems and thank you for bringing it to our attention at the time of your stay, offering us the opportunity to rectify it immediately.

Kind Regards
Bickley Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Can't say anything about the main wing but the room we got in the annex was in very poor condition. We stayed in so many nice places during our stay in South Africa so this one is without a doubt our least favorite. The room was small, not finished (shelves hadn't been put up so there were holes in the wall), poor quality to start off and now worse with age. The door to the shower needed to be lifted closed and really looked like it would break at any minute. But hey, if you are after a cheap night the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast looked decent, I wasn't feeling well and they were very kind and made me some oatmeal. The people in the "reception" (some kind of shed outside the building) were less helpful though, they didn't seem very interested in giving tourist advice. The pool was tiny and didn't seem all too clean, no one swam, but it was nice to chill by the water and surf a bit (free wifi).
Location was so-so, quite a few restaurants around but very narrow roads if you come by car. Not far to drive to Waterfront.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luschka M, Manager at Bickley Terraces, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.

Bickley Annex is our ungraded budget rooms which consists of bed and en-suite bathroom for the budget conscious traveler. These rooms are very minimalistic but clean and comfortable. Thank you for bringing the maintenance issues to our attention, please be advised that this has been attended to.

The shed mentioned is our security hut , where our 24hr security is housed. Under no circumstances is this our office where we have numerous brochures and knowledgeable staff which would gladly offer you any assistance with your travel arrangements and tourist information. We apologize for this confusion.

Thank you for bringing the pool to our attention, we will keep a closer eye on this.

We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Bickley Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Bickley Terraces was quite nice! The HOSTS were a bit overwrought, but firendly and helpful . Our room was nice a acceptable clean (but not perfect, especially the bathroom. we heard that other standard or budeget rooms are not so nice, but our luxury room was nice. The staff was great, the breakfast also, There was enough parking place and the securitiy was OK. They have cameras everywhere, but just one guy who controlls it. We can recommand Bickley Terraces!

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luschka M, Manager at Bickley Terraces, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to give us a review and your feedback. Thank you for your recommendation!

Bickley consists of Bickley Terraces, our 4 star graded establishment and Bickley Annex , our ungraded budget rooms for the budget conscious traveler.

Kind Regards
Bickley Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton-le-Willows
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Have read other people's reviews, it seems we had a bad experience. We booked a room in Bicley Terraces as a last minute thing and were disappointed. We stayed in an annex room which was very bare, decorated in white and felt cold. Our bedding was dirty and we had to ask for it to be changed. The rest of the annex rooms were occupied by a sports team which where very noisy at night, but with no phone in the room, we would have had to walk past all the people we wanted to complain about, in order to make a complaint at reception. Upon check out, we were served by a member of staff who was only wearing his pijamas!!!!
Having said all this, when we explaind how unsatisfactory our stay had been, we got a discounted bill, so we were pleased that our issues were addressed.
The higlight of the stay was the brillaint breakfast (inc. in the room fee) and the proximity to Cape Town city centre - making exploring the cape very easy indeed.

Room Tip: I would avoid staying in an annex room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luschka M, Manager at Bickley Terraces, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. This is much appreciated.

Thank you for voicing concerns prior to departure, we are pleased that we were able to address your issues.

We are pleased that you had enjoyed your breakfast.

Kind Regards
Bickley Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bickley Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bickley Terraces

Address: 23 Bickley Road, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Hotel Class:4 star — Bickley Terraces 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Bickley Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bickley Terraces Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bickley Terraces, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.