We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegetarian treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aubergine

Aubergine
39 Barnet Street, Cape Town Central, South Africa
+27 - 021 465 4909
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Isle of Wight, UK
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Vegetarian treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Our last night in South Africa at the end of 3 weeks touring and restaurants every night, so we wanted something special.
We booked here for the 5 course tasting menu - one 'ordinary' with matched wine and one vegetarian. This gets a plus point to start as this is rarely offered. Before I get onto the food, the slight disappointment was the service. We were a little early for our table (although it was ready) and were offered to sit at the bar for a drink which we accepted. It then seemed we were forgotten and had to ask to be taken to the table. Things started well but we had far too long a wait between one of our courses and the wine always arrived far in advance of the food. Whilst waiting for the food of course the wine starts to disappear leaving less to enjoy when it appears. It was also obvious that some other tables were experiencing delays. It was a busy Thursday evening and difficult to tell if the problem was in the kitchen or front of house. Probably both as there was a lack of timing coordination and front of house seemed unaware of building issues.
The food.
Both the meaty and non were very good to excellent at each course with special mention for the springbok venison steak. The cheese was served well ie not straight from the fridge and the chocolate fondant perfect. Whilst the vegetarian dishes didn't wow me, they were all tasty, well presented and above all different to the normal veggie offerings. My credit to the chef for putting forward both meat and non menus.
The chef came out to talk to us as we waiting for our taxi which was appreciated and we hope he did well in big cycle event the next day.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    84
    46
    27
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“very creative, excellent adress in cape twon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

during our 3 month stay in CT we were regular guests in the aubergine. a very creative and weekly changing lunch menue card, was one of the reasons. i would rate the restaurant at 15 to 16 points (of 20) gault-millau and its for sure one of the top 3 in CT. very forcomming and friendly service. if you like chocolate, i was very surprised, where the chef got this high quality chocalote from to turn this into some excellent desserts.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle River, New Jersey
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Charming and Tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Aubergine is a charming restaurant with an interesting menu. Our hotel had reserved a table for us, and it was ready when we arrived. The dining area, comprising a total of perhaps 15 tables, is split between the main floor and an upper loggia. The decor is minimalistic yet interesting and chic. The service is professional and friendly. The appetizers, oysters, were tasty and fresh, but the potato ravioli a bit bland. The main courses were delicious; a wonderful pigeon prepared in a red wine sauce and served with a perfectly cooked risotto; and a seared tuna elegantly served with a wild rice egg roll. The waitstaff was very attentive to our needs. Unfortunately, we had no room left for desserts! I guess we'll have to return! A delightful evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Can it be better than this? Hardly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We are really spoilt in South Africa with the abundance of excellent restaurants to choose from. Tonight we chose Aubergine because friends had recommended it to us. And we were not disappointed. German Chef Harald Bresselschmidt does and excellent job and surprised us with every course. The winelist is impressive and sommelier Khuselo Mputa's knowledge and taste equals the length and beauty of his exotic hairdo. Thanks to the both of them and the rest of the excellent Staff for an unforgettable evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not to the expectaion”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Ambience was good. Service was very slow. First too courses got really late to come on the table probably because restaurant was busy. Food was nice but our expectations were a bit higher.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aubergine also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Aubergine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aubergine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.