We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish you could select 10 stars!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Glen Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Glen Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   3 The Glen Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I wish you could select 10 stars!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

While The Glen was visually stunning and centrally located to everything you could imagine both in and around Cape Town, the staff made the experience completely unforgettable. I've never seen such hard work and commitment to excellence at a hotel before or since.

During my stay, I left some over-sized items I purchased during my visit to Cape Town at The Glen for shipping later. The staff not only helped me figure out how best to ship my items back to the US, but they stored my items and took them to the post office personally to ship them for me. I cannot thank Daniel, Abigail, Frederik, Jean Paul, Phillip, and Rudi enough for their help and I will always remember them fondly.

The staff at The Glen go above and beyond to make guests feel welcome and appreciated during and even after their stays. Treat yourself to one of the most special and unique experiences in the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    54
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
252
62
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I want to write this review after long time. I was leaving and working in this hotel. Sadly my own way was to move on... but I didn't forget no one from there. This hotel is constructed with passion for becoming the best service and best hotel in Cape Town. I never meet a person (owner ) more careful about the staff. If they was sick, if they was doing job wrong, if they was happy.....everyone was there to support each others. And this I aprecieted the most of everything. When I was working there I think I was the happiest man, to work in that beautiful environment. Now its almost 1 year I left and all of you are in my mind almost every day. Guys and girls you was giving me what I was missing, I saw my way in life, I saw your real life ( wich is not bad ) is a life simple but full of Happiness and love.

This was a review very personal and deep ( sorry ). But that people from that hotel makes me a better person. I miss you all of you. Mark , Phil , julianna, Freddie , Syia, Abigail , Mamma Clara, Precilis love , Antony, Shipo.....and others and others names.

With love Bogdan ! Xxx

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Glen Boutique Hotel is a combination of international hotel chain excellence and luxury guest house charm. A beautifully set, contemporary and open hotel set in the heart of trendy Sea Point on Cape Town's Atlantic Seaboard, The Glen has so much to offer guests.

I was fortunate enough to stay in the massive Penthouse suite which is a large open plan space, complete with two balconies overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and Table Mountain. Direct elevator access from the basement parking offers supreme privacy for discreet guests and the living area is large, light, airy and welcoming. Beautiful finishes throughout the penthouse, and hotels common areas make for a crisp environment, without taking anything away from its comfort and homely feel.

Staff here are all well-informed, friendly and helpful. Nothing was too big an ask for any of the team, and management and owners make a concerted effort to greet you and ensure everything is to your satisfaction.

A fully equipped spa is also on sight offering a range of therapies and treatments, as well as relaxation spaces and two swimming pools and a jacuzzi. The restaurant on site serves a selection of fresh dishes perfect for sun-filled lunching or romantic candle-lit dinners.

Perfect location combined with a homely feel, warm staff and luxury at every turn make this boutique hotel a special offering nestled in one of the most beautiful cities in the world with breathtaking scenery abound. It was a real treat to witness other guests thoroughly enjoying their time too.

I will be back and highly recommend a stay at The Glen Boutique Hotel!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked the Glen at very short notice for a one night stay in Cape Town and did not know what to expect - what a delightful surprise we had in store.

This establishment ticks all the boxes and has to be one of the best values in Cape Town.

This chic and stylish hotel is located two blocks from the seafront at Seapoint and is very close to the many restaurants in the area. It is also a short taxi ride from the V&A Waterfront.

From arrival to departure, the service and attitude from all the staff was exceptional. The hotel is beautifully furnished with a very nice pool area. We were upgraded to a balcony room which was stylish and included nice touches such as a Bose docker, Nespresso coffee machine and Rain toiletries.

There is free secure parking on site.

The breakfast selection is one of the best we have ever had and included freshly baked breads, pastries, cold cuts, fruit and a freshly cooked hot selection.

During our stay, the hotel had a good mix of guests of all nationalities

We visit Cape Town on a regular basis and would look no further than the Glen for any future accomodation.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A friend of mine stayed here for a week in April 2015, so in that time I had the opportunity to have dinner twice and visit on a few occasions.
What a gem! The staff were fantastic, in particular a young man called Collen (pronounced Colin) who made us feel very welcome and even made the effort to find me a blanket when it got chilly whilst dining al fresco.
I would recommend this lovely establishment to any visitors looking for something special.

Room Tip: avoid room outside, under pool area - noisy from 6am when the staff set up for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed at The Glen from Feb-March 2015. Yes over a month in the same hotel. We were a little worried about staying there for so long as it's easy to tire staying in the same place. BUT WOW no way.

What a gem we loved it. We travel a lot and stay in hotels all over the world, it gets all a bit samey. But the Glen was so different with such a personal touch.

Well where do I begin.........We were getting the best customer service before we even got there. I booked the dates for our holiday which was very promptly confirmed. I had some questions to ask about the hotel so I called them to check about parking ect.

When I called about the parking they asked me about car hire which they sorted out at a very very competitive rate. The car would be waiting for us at the hotel so they arranged the transfer for us also.
We arrived from London on the night flight and the driver was waiting for us even though the flight was two hours late.
We arrived at the hotel we were met and our bags taken , the room was not ready but they offered a place to change and to help ourselves to breakfast while they would have the room ready ASAP.

We were shortly shown to our Deluxe room which was well decorated and spotlessly clean, our bags were already waiting for us.

The room was lovely, a well stocked mini bar, safe, iPhone docking station, nespresso coffee machine. The shower area clean and a fantastic complimentary shower gel/ shampoo (rain range) really nice.

Our stay there was delightful with nothing to much trouble for any of the best well mannered, friendly, customer focused staff I've ever meet in a hotel.

The hotel was well maintained with great facilities, clean pool, great sun beds and sun deck. The spa was spotless with the steam room, sauna and jacuzzi, with plenty of fresh towels.

Every morning you woke up to a fantastic breakfast buffet spread, with a great choice of hot options as well. If you fancied something different again nothing was a problem. At breakfast you would be visited by the senior management team, who were genuinely happy to see you and chat. If you wanted to do something they would book it and sort out all the arrangements for you at cost prices no hidden extras.

Mark the owner and Phil the general manager were great people to meet and they managed a fantastic team.

Fredrik was always a ray of sunshine every morning with a smile and energy that set you up for the day.

Derrik and the food and beverage team were fab, looked after us so much and always used our names great personal touch.

A must when your there is book a Massage with Stien, has to be the best massage we have ever had. He has the most magic hands.

It was the best place we have ever stayed. We were sad to leave and didn't want to.

Great place to stay, great staff, great management, great everything. Can't wait to go back next year.

A must when your in Cape Town a four star hotel with a six star service.

Denny and Michael



Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeSetchell, Manager at Glen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Denny Gallagher,

What a joyous read!!!! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed account of your stay and for acknowledging those who made it for you - your thoughtful review has made our team very very happy. We thoroughly enjoyed having you both stay with us, and if we could review our guests you both would get 6 stars too! :-)

Take care of yourselves and come back soon!

All the best,
Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Hotel is nice and the staff is extremely friendly; except the owner (Mike or Mark, who can be very unpleasant)
They offer a great breakfast with a wide range of options. Lunch I would skip...we twice ordered it while at the Pool and apart from waiting for 30-45 minutes (once just for a cheese platter), it bwas not very tasty...you can eat so much better in Cape Town.
Our room was in the back building on the first floor...it was supposed to be a deluxe room. It was very spacious and nicely decorated. However, you could hear everything from downstairs and the door did not close properly, so we needed to put a towel between door and frame in order to avoid that the doors hits with every breeze of wind against the doorframe. The private terrace was nice and room cleaning very good. Only the strong smell of bleach in the bathroom was disturbing.
The pool area and sunbeds is beautiful, however, as teh hotel makes a business out of selling day passes for te pool area it was quite often that we could not find free sunbeds in the afternoon as the place was filled with day guests. I find this not acceptable if you pay quite some money for this hotel after all.
But again the staff is super-friendly and helpful and always around for you.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeSetchell, Owner at Glen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Madrid_2007,

It is with great sadness that we read this review. We do our utmost to go above and beyond what is expected to please and satisfy our guests. If your issues had been raised at the time, perhaps we could have rectified your concerns sooner. As it happens we received your comments almost 5 months after your stay, and fail to see your personal remarks as constructive - we hope others do to.

Regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Boutique Hotel

Address: 3 The Glen Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sea Point, Cape Town, The Glen Boutique Hotel offers luxurious accommodation in a breathtaking setting. As a non-discriminatory hotel we warmly welcome both straight and gay guests from all over the world. In addition to free WiFi and satellite TV the hotel also offers guests a spa and outdoor pool. The spa includes a spacious steam room, a traditional Swedish sauna and a Jacuzzi. We offer a selection of rooms with different views; some rooms either face the ocean or the mountain, while some open directly onto the pool area. Many of the rooms have their own private balcony. The hotel also offers a luxurious penthouse apartment, which includes restricted elevator access, breathtaking views, a private living and dining room and a double volume bathroom. Guests can enjoy continental or full English breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the pool or at the restaurant, and the a la carte menu provides for round-the-clock informal dining. Fresh juices, teas and coffees are available throughout the day. Easy to find, the Hotel is only 12 miles from Cape Town International Airport with on-site parking as well as an airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Glen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glen Boutique
Glen Boutique Cape Town
Glen Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.