We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Glen Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Glen Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   3 The Glen Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is fantastic. Stylish. Gorgeous. Spotless. Spacious. Delectable. Fun. But what sets this hotel apart from others is the staff. At the last minute we realized there was a mix-up with our car rental. With less than 12 hours before leaving for Port Elizabeth via the Garden Route we found ourselves without a rental car. Without missing a beat, Phillip offered to lend us the hotel's rental car and personally fly to Port Elizabeth in order to drive it back to the hotel for us. I was blown away by his thoughtfulness and generosity. In the end, he found a rental car for us to use through Thrifty. My partner and I loved this hotel but there was one thing that bothered us and that was the smoking in the outdoor areas, especially by the pool. I don't understand why anyone, in this day and age, would want to subject the majority of their guests and staff to something that is hazardous to their health.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    47
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
219
53
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Glen Boutique was an amazing find. There can't be anywhere better to stay in Cape Town. Sumptuous and stylish and everything thought of, and so, so welcoming. The staff cannot do enough to help you.
I will definitely be back...I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is fantastic. We have travelled a lot and stayed in lots of good hotels but I can honestly say that this was the best hotel we have ever stayed in. It is the staff that really make it, they are so friendly and attentive without being too much. They genuinely seem interested in you and go out of their way to help. We arrived to a welcome drink by the lovely outside pool. Our room was beautiful, very large and perfectly decorated. Breakfast was perfect, you could pretty much have whatever you wanted. I love a healthy selection and there were so many fruits and shake options. The location is at sea point which is a nice part of Cape town and the hotel is a 2 min walk from a stop for the hop on hop off bus which I definitely recommend doing, great way to see lots of Cape town. Will definitely come back to stay at this hotel when we return. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel exceeded our expectations in every way. It is an absolute gem. The owner Mark, who sets the tone, is cordial, generous, playful and attentive, so all the staff are as well. You really feel at once as if you are among friends here.

The location of the hotel suited us perfectly, for it is only two minutes' walk to the sea, and only five minutes' walk to the nearest hop-on/hop-off tourist bus stop, which has extensive routes and frequent service -- we used this a lot to get around in Cape Town before we picked up our rental car at the end of the week.

The hotel is perfectly quiet, where traffic is concerned, though perhaps if you are right by the pool you might be disturbed from time to time. (We were ourselves were by the pool and had no problems whatever. We were in fact very grateful simply to step out the door and be right there on the deck by these lovey pools [and that plural is right]).

The restaurant is nice, and not expensive; we had a good meal there one evening. And the breakfasts! (--included in the room price): unbelievable!: fruits, pastries, yoghurts, breads, fresh orange juice, cereals. . .and then you get a cooked breakfast, if you want it. I've never seen anything like it. You really feel like royalty.

There is also a spa with two kinds of saunas, and a jacuzzi, if that's how you spell it, and showers. These facilities are under-utilised, for some reason. Twice I went down to the dry, Scandinavian-style sauna to finish the evening and had the place to myself. I would concur with persons who have said that this hotel, marvelous though it is, is perhaps not well suited to families with kids. The pools are tricky, the lower one being quite deep, and neither of them attended by staff. And the atmosphere is simply very adult. Someone has mentioned that the Glen Boutique is gay friendly. It is also very hetero-friendly. It's just a very warm and inviting place for everyone. I can't recommend it too highly!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the Glen boutique hotel for 1 night and I did not expect the amazing experience I had.

Here are the PROS and CONS

PROS:
- amazing service, they make you feel at ''home'' Philippe is very helpful :)
- great location at Sea point
- the bed was ''glorious'' and the pillows too… I would stay in BED ALL DAY
- the breakfast buffet is '' AMAZING''…. you feel like 'ROYALTY '' in this hotel
- the decor / ambiance is very detail oriented. You even have an ambiance spray for your room
- the price is awesome for the level of service you get

CONS:
- I would not recommend this hotel for families and kids.
-the doors are not ''sound proof'''and therefore could be a bit noisy
- wifi is a bit slow which could be annoying if you check your emails or work from there


WOULD I GO BACK: OH YES PLEASE!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by the nicest and most professional staff I have ever come across! We stayed at The Glen for 5 days in October and I don't think I will ever stay anywhere else. The Manager Phillip was so helpful and attentive throughout our stay and I was impressed that the owner of the hotel was so involved in the day to day operations of the hotel. Everyone knew our names and were there to welcome us back everyday and make sure we had everything we needed. The rooms were clean, comfortable and very stylish and we had our own patio area with outdoor seating. The room had essential oil burners and all personal products were top notch and infused with essential oils which was so lovely. The pool area was clean and inviting, and full service too! I simply can't say enough about this hotel...you have to stay here to see what I mean!. Thank you Phillip and your entire staff for making our trip so memorable, we will never stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theglenhotel, General Manager at Glen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Nadine,

Thank you for your great review and for staying at The Glen Boutique Hotel. We value your feedback and were pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel, especially our service and the Rain products in your room.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards from the whole Glen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Glen Boutique hotel is a very nice city boutique hotel in the upcoming Seapoint area. Just a bit uphill but close enough to walk or take a taxi to waterfront. This gay friendly hotel is situated in several buildings around a very nice small swimming pool and terraces. The interior is very nicely designed and it has a nice bar area in the front. However the lighting can be more romantic and it is very light ( led?) in the evening which does not invite you to go in actually.

Our room was near the Spa entrance below the terrace which was quite noisy in the mornings when you can hear the scratching of the chairs on the terrace. The room however was super! Very large and lush. A beautiful bathroom and sink area separated and a very nice bed. Our room also had the Apple computer and big screen TV and a small private terrace outside.

The spa has a steam room and sauna free of use which is very nice. Also inside at the spa there is a Jacuzzi however not full with water during our stay.
The breakfast is wonderful. A nice selection of different fruits, cheeses, yoghurts, cereals and a a-la-carte menu for all wishes of breakfast. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful and they give lots of suggestions where to go or what to do or how to get there. Wonderful guys and girls with top service. Really special!! They make you feel just at home and very welcome.
This is mainly a gay hotel but also couples come here which is nice. It is a reasonable priced hotel, its clean and well taken care off. A very nice address in Cape Town for gay men! We will surely come back!

Room Tip: The rooms near the spa can be noisy in the morning but the rooms itself are the best and largest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Boutique Hotel

Address: 3 The Glen Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sea Point, Cape Town, The Glen Boutique Hotel offers luxurious accommodation in a breathtaking setting. As a non-discriminatory hotel we warmly welcome both straight and gay guests from all over the world. In addition to free WiFi and satellite TV the hotel also offers guests a spa and outdoor pool. The spa includes a spacious steam room, a traditional Swedish sauna and a Jacuzzi. We offer a selection of rooms with different views; some rooms either face the ocean or the mountain, while some open directly onto the pool area. Many of the rooms have their own private balcony. The hotel also offers a luxurious penthouse apartment, which includes restricted elevator access, breathtaking views, a private living and dining room and a double volume bathroom. Guests can enjoy continental or full English breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the pool or at the restaurant, and the a la carte menu provides for round-the-clock informal dining. Fresh juices, teas and coffees are available throughout the day. Easy to find, the Hotel is only 12 miles from Cape Town International Airport with on-site parking as well as an airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Glen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glen Boutique
Glen Boutique Cape Town
Glen Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.